Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Antioch Charter Academy 1

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
We came to this school with great expectations but since the first week it has been a nightmare. Teachers run the school like their own club. Children eat on the floor outside the classrooms under the burning sun while the teachers are inside at the tables with the A/C. The Office Manager yells at all Parents and Kids as she pleases calling kids names and loosing her cool all the time. Since there is no Principal there is no control over what the teacher do. Oh BTW, if you complain, they will pick on your kids "Forever". Someone must report this school and what the Teachers do to School district as I am doing. Next year my kid is out!

Antioch Charter Academy
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
I have to write fifteen words and my answer is No. I do not want to thank anybody from the Staff. This School should be investigated by the Health Department and School district. Teacher for instance hide the fact that there is a "Lice Epidemic" among the Kids from parents.


Antioch Charter Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
As I said before this School its been run as a Club. Teachers do whatever they want and treat the students badly.

Antioch Charter Academy
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
I strongly believe that my Kid has gone backwards in academics. Next year he will be not be coming here.

Antioch Charter Academy
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
Bringing my kid to this School was a big mistake. These Teachers only focus on the kids that they like or belong to the Parents who knows them.


Antioch Charter Academy
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
They disrespect the students all the time. Teachers in this school act like this is their Club.

Antioch Charter Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
Teachers will bully the kids if their Parents stand up for them. Teachers change the rules as they go to their own advantage.

Antioch Charter Academy 5

Posted May 21, 2012
- a parent
It is our first year in this school. At first it was a big change for us coming from another school but now as we are getting involved more and more, we are understanding what ACA is all about. So far, we look forward for the next school year. Note: There's a reason why there's a wait list on this school's enrollment. If you are currently enrolled here and a parent, please get involved instead of complaining. Our kids need our support in and out of school.


Antioch Charter Academy 1

Posted May 17, 2012
- a parent
The May 2, 1012 parent review is a true statement. The teachers expect the students and parents to follow the "Montesorri" standards/policies, but they themselves don't adhere to it. "Double Standard" methods. There is a divide between teachers and parents which is very evident and sad.

Antioch Charter Academy 5

Posted May 08, 2012
- a parent
CREATIVE, WELL ROUNDED, RESPONSIBLE, DISCIPLINED, INNOVATIVE & SELF AWARENESS = KEY TO SUCCESS! I love everything about this school. I wish this school was around when I was growing up as there might have been a lot of students that were saved from dropping out of class or students lacking creativity, self awareness and initiative when in comes to facing the real world....yes the REAL WORLD. As a parent, I appreciate the teacher's innovative ways in introducing old and new ideas to young inquiring minds. With such innovative ways comes responsibility, which means teachers needs to explain to their students the VALUE OF BEING CREATIVE, RESOLVE OF BEING DISCIPLINED and WEALTH OF HAVING RESPONSIBILITY. If you as a parent, do not value such characteristics, then this school is not for you. Parents are encourage to volunteer, parents are also encourage to ask questions about their child's progress and often are free and accommodating to talk to. Yes, this school is different in many ways and yes, this was clearly emphasized at the very beginning when you are extended the opportunity to join the Antioch Charter Academy family, so clearly, you have the choice. More power to ACA!!!!!!

Nearby schools

Antioch Charter Academy
3325 Hacienda Way, Antioch, CA  94509-5407
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (925) 755-7311
Last modified Antioch Charter Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top