Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Muir (John) Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 664 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 13, 2014

My kids just started at this school. It is great. My son was below grade level now he is above grade level. Teachers are dedicated and the staff is very friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2013

I have 2 children at this school and they both love it. All of the teachers have been wonderful and my kids are excelling. The principal is very friendly and seems to be doing a great job with the kids and school. The reason I can't give 5 stars is because the office staff/assistants are extremely rude. I've also seen them treating other parents this way, not just myself. They are very snippy and condescending. It makes me wonder how they treat the children. Luckily my kids haven't had any run-ins with them and I hope they never do based on how I've been treated. Besides them, this school is wonderful. The atmosphere is very welcoming and family oriented.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Overall I feel the school is better than most. My son has been there for three years and although he has had some issues with troublesome kids he likes his teachers and enjoys going. There are a lot of kids that are up to no good there though and the office staff is incredibly rude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2013

My child currently attends this school and we could not be happier (so far). My child is in the kinderarten in Mrs. Fontaine's class & she has been a WONDERFUL teacher! Intitally, she had to challange my daughter to cooperate and participate. She made us aware of this and also nformed us of her stradegy in working with her. Over time my daughter adjusted, loves her teacher and the friends she has made at this school. This teacher always keeps the parents in the loop as to how your child is doing (good or bad). She takes the time to answer any questions you have in person or through email. I am hoping our experience with all the other teachers are this great as she has set the bar high! As for the school campus it is kept nice and clean as it should be. The office administration does a good job as well, in my opinion. The staff is friendly and attends to your questions or needs as soon as they are available. Last but not least, the API scores are ok but could improve. In my opinion, parents should try to recongnize their child's weaknesses & work w/them on those areas as well as challenge their academic strengths when possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2013

This school is a hit or miss with the teachers, no consistancy with the education and attention our children get. The office faculty is terrible, for over three years I have dealt with the two ladies that run the front desk of the school and they are very rude. This is not a personal issue either, I have witnessed many parents being treated as if they are nothing by the office staff. Due to the variety of people in this area the childrens behaviors vary greatly. You can have some very respectful children and some that are terrible role models. I hear young children swearing at eachother daily and my child comes home weekly telling me who has hit him today and what bad language was presented to him. Regardless if the school disciplines the children with a detention (time out) the bad apples continue with a negative behavior having a great impact on the positive and well behaved students around them. I want my child out of here asap!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

Fantastic school. However that was under the old principal. A new prinicpal is starting so we will see.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2012

Just moved in to the area and went to pick up enrollment forms. The office staff was rude and very condescending. Even continued their conversation for a few minutes instead of acknowledging I was even present. Based on this I will not be sending my child here.


Posted May 14, 2010

The teachers are really dedicated to the school. The only thing I wish for is that more parents get involved not just here but in California as a whole. Teachers can't do it alone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I support my local elementary school. The school does a great job of champing its students!.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

I love our school and so do do my kids. The teachers are intelligent and the staff are great. My kids have learned so much this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

The assigned teacher for my childs class has not been in and a long string of substitutes have been filling in. My son is WAY behind due to this, he needs consistancy, this is not it. The school says they can't hire a new teacher and they can't keep a substitute for more than 21 days - both very poorly thought out rules, kids need consistency.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

My son just transferred from the Hayward School district. My child is bored this school. The teacher tested him and he is scoring above grade level. She even tested him on a subject she haven't even started teaching her class and he scored above grade level. My child use to love school and now doesn't want to go because it is so boring. Antioch school district need to bring their lessons up to par. I don't know what to do?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

Excellent School but we need more Parent participation to help our kids sucessed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2007

Great school, better than some private schools.Uniforms would be good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2006

Although scores this year are not #1 in Antioch, John Muir has been on the right track. The staff is committed to providing the children with a quality education. Greater parental involvement is needed for some students to restore John Muir to its former number one position in Antioch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2005

John Muir is an excellent school. Everything about it is top notch. My children feel safe. There is a large amount of parent involvement. The academics are superior!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2005

John Muir has been a very good school for our two children. Both our 5th grader and 2nd grader have been there since kindergarten and have benefited from the level of experience the teachers bring. The principal is one of the best we've encountered and encourages family involvement in almost everything from fund raisers, to helping out in classrooms, to just supporting your kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2005

This will be the 3rd year that both my children have been at John Muir. Prior to that, they attended a private school in Concord, that was rated highly for academics. I was worried that my children would be more advanced for their grade level. Boy was I wrong. John Muir was right at the same academic level as the 'Private School', which prided itself on being more advanced than public schools. The transition was a smooth one. The teachers are wonderful. All of the teachers my children have had, they have just adored....and so have I. My children have learned so much and they enjoy going to school. The atmosphere is wonderful, they have many friends - even my shy one. Lots of eager parent participation and administrative staff is tops. Enrolling my kids at John Muir was the best decision I ever made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2005

Great School, wonderful Kindergarten teacher Mrs. Tong. They do a lot of art, singing and they even do cooking on Friday's. There is a lot of parent involvement from what I see.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2004

Due to budget cuts, the carpeted classrooms are vacuumed once per month. Teachers are not allowed to vacuum becuase of unionized cleaning contractor. I believe this causes a health and safety issue for the children and staff. Separate topic: My third grader is being provided spelling words she learned in first grade in an East Coast School...why are CA schools so far behind?
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

808

Change from
2012 to 2013

+8

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

808

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+8

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students70%
Females68%
Males71%
African American58%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learner74%
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate79%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state50%

Math

All Students65%
Females62%
Males69%
African American52%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner58%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students42%
Females44%
Males39%
African American39%
Asian36%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino32%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability42%
English learner25%
Fluent-English proficient and English only44%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate41%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)29%
Parent education - college graduate52%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state51%

Math

All Students61%
Females59%
Males62%
African American51%
Asian73%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability62%
English learner56%
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate63%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)38%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students69%
Females71%
Males67%
African American52%
Asian69%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate76%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state56%

Math

All Students76%
Females77%
Males75%
African American59%
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate68%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students59%
Females69%
Males50%
African American47%
Asian82%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability60%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented86%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate30%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate62%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state68%

Math

All Students63%
Females63%
Males64%
African American37%
Asian73%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learner54%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state63%

Science

All Students44%
Females48%
Males41%
African American23%
Asian36%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino39%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability45%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only48%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented81%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate22%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)38%
Parent education - college graduate62%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 32%
Black 26%
White 21%
Two or more races 8%
Asian 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/AN/A
English language learners 14%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Joyce Gibson
Fax number
  • (925) 753-0837

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Individually guided instruction

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

615 Greystone Drive
Antioch, CA 94509
Phone: (925) 779-7450

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Tobinworld Ii
Antioch, CA


Tobinworld Ii
Antioch, CA


Hilltop Christian
Antioch, CA




Paideia Academy
Antioch, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT