Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Muir (John) Elementary School 5

Posted January 13, 2014
- a parent
My kids just started at this school. It is great. My son was below grade level now he is above grade level. Teachers are dedicated and the staff is very friendly.

Muir (John) Elementary School 4

Posted December 19, 2013
- a parent
I have 2 children at this school and they both love it. All of the teachers have been wonderful and my kids are excelling. The principal is very friendly and seems to be doing a great job with the kids and school. The reason I can't give 5 stars is because the office staff/assistants are extremely rude. I've also seen them treating other parents this way, not just myself. They are very snippy and condescending. It makes me wonder how they treat the children. Luckily my kids haven't had any run-ins with them and I hope they never do based on how I've been treated. Besides them, this school is wonderful. The atmosphere is very welcoming and family oriented.


Muir (John) Elementary School 3

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Overall I feel the school is better than most. My son has been there for three years and although he has had some issues with troublesome kids he likes his teachers and enjoys going. There are a lot of kids that are up to no good there though and the office staff is incredibly rude.

Muir (John) Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2013
- a parent
My child currently attends this school and we could not be happier (so far). My child is in the kinderarten in Mrs. Fontaine's class & she has been a WONDERFUL teacher! Intitally, she had to challange my daughter to cooperate and participate. She made us aware of this and also nformed us of her stradegy in working with her. Over time my daughter adjusted, loves her teacher and the friends she has made at this school. This teacher always keeps the parents in the loop as to how your child is doing (good or bad). She takes the time to answer any questions you have in person or through email. I am hoping our experience with all the other teachers are this great as she has set the bar high! As for the school campus it is kept nice and clean as it should be. The office administration does a good job as well, in my opinion. The staff is friendly and attends to your questions or needs as soon as they are available. Last but not least, the API scores are ok but could improve. In my opinion, parents should try to recongnize their child's weaknesses & work w/them on those areas as well as challenge their academic strengths when possible.

Muir (John) Elementary School 2

Posted March 22, 2013
- a parent
This school is a hit or miss with the teachers, no consistancy with the education and attention our children get. The office faculty is terrible, for over three years I have dealt with the two ladies that run the front desk of the school and they are very rude. This is not a personal issue either, I have witnessed many parents being treated as if they are nothing by the office staff. Due to the variety of people in this area the childrens behaviors vary greatly. You can have some very respectful children and some that are terrible role models. I hear young children swearing at eachother daily and my child comes home weekly telling me who has hit him today and what bad language was presented to him. Regardless if the school disciplines the children with a detention (time out) the bad apples continue with a negative behavior having a great impact on the positive and well behaved students around them. I want my child out of here asap!


Muir (John) Elementary School 4

Posted February 05, 2013
- a parent
Fantastic school. However that was under the old principal. A new prinicpal is starting so we will see.

Muir (John) Elementary School 1

Posted October 27, 2012
- a community member
Just moved in to the area and went to pick up enrollment forms. The office staff was rude and very condescending. Even continued their conversation for a few minutes instead of acknowledging I was even present. Based on this I will not be sending my child here.

Muir (John) Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 14, 2010
- a parent
The teachers are really dedicated to the school. The only thing I wish for is that more parents get involved not just here but in California as a whole. Teachers can't do it alone.


Muir (John) Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
I support my local elementary school. The school does a great job of champing its students!.

Muir (John) Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted June 10, 2009
- a parent
I love our school and so do do my kids. The teachers are intelligent and the staff are great. My kids have learned so much this year.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Muir (John) Elementary School
615 Greystone Drive, Antioch, CA  94509
(925) 779-7450
Last modified Muir (John) Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Muir (John) Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top