Advertisement
Advertisement

Holy Rosary School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Antioch

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $142,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,370.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 13, 2014

I do believe that this school is great academically, but there is much room for improvement to make this a school kids would want to go to. A few teachers yell at their students and make them participate in punishments that are only meant for one troublemaker. I believe that the way morals are being taught should not be enforced with yelling which appears to be often. Favoritism is rampant among students and teachers through all grades. Teachers treat children differently from one another and let things slide for some and not for others. Overall, I am uncertain if teachers and students behave as I hold them up to be. And I hope children at Holy Rosary have a better impression of their class, teachers, and peers in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2014

Yes the school has a new principal who has had to deal with an inherited a huge deficit from that so called "great principal" you speak of. I think we are on our way to becoming an awesome faith filled 21st century catholic school. The new principal from day one has been honest and transparent about the schools situation. Something that never happened before.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2014

This school used to be one of the best schools but now when the principle retired and they got a new one it went down hill. They have a young principle that doesn't know anything about being a principle. They also are supposed to be an anti bully school there are bullies there that have been there for years and the school principle and office have been informed but nothing has been done. The one thing that this is good about is technology it is very impressive. If you have a child that is above average or below average I do not recommend this school for them at all.


Posted August 29, 2013

Today really made me understand the other cheek when a school does not lower themselves to there students level sometimes to help understand them more. I have learned that this school does not have the highest potential for there students, they believe they are better than everyone else and do not step up for the kids. The kids are not perfect but if they do not have someone try and understand them and help them thru the rough times we have no hope especially in a religious school. Who is suppose to give everyone a first, second and third chance especially if they did no wrong. Be careful who you trust with your child if they feel there is anything wrong with your child especially when they are going thru and emotion time they will throw you to the curb.


Posted August 27, 2013

This is the Best school for your children! I am a proud parent of two boys who attend Holy Rosary School. There is no better school in the area to get your child prepared for De La Salle or Carondelet High school. More than academics your children will be educated with the best spiritual principles for life. Every child is treated like family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2011

I have 2 children at this school and thus far I have noticed that there is a lot of parent involvement. For instance in the 2nd grade there are 2 parents for 2 hours or more on Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays,and on Thursdays 2 parent helping for 1 hour. Also, there is a teacher's aide in each class. There are 2 classes for each grade. It is nice to know that your child will know most of the kids in her or his class the following year especially in the earlier grades. It is nice to be in a school where all the parents are fully committed to their child's upbringing. There is also CYO for all different type of sports, school choir, affordable guitar lessons, and after school homework help too. The principal is very level headed and calm.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2011

There are many private schools in the Bay Area producing great students that have mastered the art of testing for exams. Indeed, these students will benefit by scoring high on exams later in life, but will they have the foundation that a Catholic education provides to the whole child? Academic excellence must have an equal importance to the spiritual, intellectual, social, and physical development of each unique child. Holy Rosary School bases their education upon the teachings of Jesus Christ - teachings which foster respect, responsibility, justice, gratitude, and peacefulness. We are very fortunate to have our son and daughter at HRS. We all share a common bond in the teachings of Jesus Christ and the Holy Bible. The principal (Mrs. Susana Lapeyrade-Drummond) coupled with our Pastor (Father Roberto Corral) and school/church staff create a very unique, safe and loving experience for the students and parents as one Catholic family. When our children are disciplined or rewarded by staff, it is earned. God bless, Best of the Bay: http://bestofthebaytv.com/view/1241 Holy Rosary School: http://www.holyrosarycatholicschool.org/hrs/hrsindex.html The Sloan Family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2010

My child has been attending Holy Rosary School since Pre-K. Throughout the years I have become unhappy with many facets that have yet to be addressed. Agreeably with other comments, the school as a whole has very strong clicks amongst parents, as well as, the staff. Favoritism is also prominent in almost every situation, whether it's seeing the same students year after year in the yearbook, to the same students that get selected over other students for certain events, etc. I am at this school day-in and day-out and occasionally volunteer in classroom activities. I see and hear things enough to say that I am highly disappointed at the overall outcome of this school's environment. The academic programs are GOOD but the integrity of the ADMINISTRATION staff HAS YET to surface.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2010

I continue to be disappointed with the teaching staff and Principle. Favoritism and lack of Christian values are very present daily! I have never experienced a Teacher yelling and disciplining children as i do at Holy Rosary. Problem childeren need to be addressed not all should suffer consequences. Major click leaving other children left out and gossip among Teachers...I don't get it! I question returning next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2009

I feel this school as lost alot of the meaning that should be there. The School has such a large click among the staff and their childern that attend the school .that the rest of the childern suffer. The Principal really needs to get a grip there. Families are leaving at a rapid rate.Look at the real Picture. we are not making trouble.Just stating FACTS.Our childern Matter as well.Not returning next year..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2008

Holy Rosary School is an educational masterpiece. The children learn at above grade level standards than the traditional public schools in AUSD. I person commented about too many distractions in the classroom at Holy Rosary. I bet they are eating their words now if they went into many of the public schools in Antioch. The teaching staff is wonderful and very dedicated to education, life skills, and religious education. We love it at Holy Rosary and highly recommend it to those serious about a quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2008

I agree with some parents that favoritism is strong at Holy Rosary School. My son was bullied twice and they did not do a fair call about it. We felt discriminated. Academically, I think they need to improve because we found a big difference in the curriculum when we transferred school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2007

My experience at Holy Rosary School is that it is an excellent environment for academics, religion, and life skills. Each classroom has a master teacher supported by certified teacher aids. The staff are dedicated individuals who have passion for teaching. I have been pleased with the teacher communication and partnership. In addition, my child has the kind of friendships that will be with her for a long time. The overall experience at HRS is invaluable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

We left the school after too many disappointments. There seemed to be no discipline with very disruptive children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2006

We have two children enrolled at this school and could not imagine them being anywhere else. It is a faith filled community that embraces everyone and their needs. During a time of family hardship and the birth of our forth son, the support we received was undescribable. Would highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 30, 2006

The teachers in the medium level grades are very good; however, the Junior High teachers leave much to be desired in their abilities to instruct, guide, influence, and motivate. The school claims to be a loving, Christian environment; however, favoritism is rampant throughout the school--modeled mostly by the administration that is running the school and copied by the children. The principal is very competent but needs better support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2005

Holy Rosary School has a very good Math program . The math program for students in grades 4-8 has a maximum student teacher ratio of 20 /1. The levalized groups places your child in a group that is supportive of your child's learning style. The teachers are also helpful, often times tutoring students after school when ever needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2005

Great school! my daughter has learned a lot. The academic principals they apply have worked well and I am very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2004

I have really been dissapointed at the class size. No matter how great the teacher, 30-36 kids is just way too much. Also, academics doesn't seem to be the top priority at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2004

I have really not been pleased with the class size. No matter how great the teacher is, 30-36 kids is just way too much to have in a class. I also feel academics aren't any better than that of a public school education, I am really regretting my decision to put my child in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 39%
Hispanic 24%
Asian 18%
Two or more races 11%
Black 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Oakland
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

25 East 15th Street
Antioch, CA 94509
Phone: (925) 757-1270

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT