Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Antioch, CA

4 stars
Based on 31 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


33 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Holy Rosary 1

Posted June 11, 2014
- a parent
The principal is unqualified and lacks strong leadership skills. She only taught for a few years before taking on the position. She does not possess the experience and expertise needed to run a school. There are far better Catholic schools out there under the leadership of a much more knowledgeable and accomplished principal.

Holy Rosary 2

Posted April 13, 2014
- a parent
I do believe that this school is great academically, but there is much room for improvement to make this a school kids would want to go to. A few teachers yell at their students and make them participate in punishments that are only meant for one troublemaker. I believe that the way morals are being taught should not be enforced with yelling which appears to be often. Favoritism is rampant among students and teachers through all grades. Teachers treat children differently from one another and let things slide for some and not for others. Overall, I am uncertain if teachers and students behave as I hold them up to be. And I hope children at Holy Rosary have a better impression of their class, teachers, and peers in the future.


Holy Rosary 4

Posted February 07, 2014
- a parent
Yes the school has a new principal who has had to deal with an inherited a huge deficit from that so called "great principal" you speak of. I think we are on our way to becoming an awesome faith filled 21st century catholic school. The new principal from day one has been honest and transparent about the schools situation. Something that never happened before.

Holy Rosary 1

Posted January 11, 2014
- a community member
This school used to be one of the best schools but now when the principle retired and they got a new one it went down hill. They have a young principle that doesn't know anything about being a principle. They also are supposed to be an anti bully school there are bullies there that have been there for years and the school principle and office have been informed but nothing has been done. The one thing that this is good about is technology it is very impressive. If you have a child that is above average or below average I do not recommend this school for them at all.

Holy Rosary 1

Posted August 29, 2013
- a community member
Today really made me understand the other cheek when a school does not lower themselves to there students level sometimes to help understand them more. I have learned that this school does not have the highest potential for there students, they believe they are better than everyone else and do not step up for the kids. The kids are not perfect but if they do not have someone try and understand them and help them thru the rough times we have no hope especially in a religious school. Who is suppose to give everyone a first, second and third chance especially if they did no wrong. Be careful who you trust with your child if they feel there is anything wrong with your child especially when they are going thru and emotion time they will throw you to the curb.


Holy Rosary 5

Posted August 27, 2013
- a parent
This is the Best school for your children! I am a proud parent of two boys who attend Holy Rosary School. There is no better school in the area to get your child prepared for De La Salle or Carondelet High school. More than academics your children will be educated with the best spiritual principles for life. Every child is treated like family.

Holy Rosary 5

Posted April 22, 2011
- a parent
I have 2 children at this school and thus far I have noticed that there is a lot of parent involvement. For instance in the 2nd grade there are 2 parents for 2 hours or more on Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays,and on Thursdays 2 parent helping for 1 hour. Also, there is a teacher's aide in each class. There are 2 classes for each grade. It is nice to know that your child will know most of the kids in her or his class the following year especially in the earlier grades. It is nice to be in a school where all the parents are fully committed to their child's upbringing. There is also CYO for all different type of sports, school choir, affordable guitar lessons, and after school homework help too. The principal is very level headed and calm.

Holy Rosary 5

Posted April 01, 2011
- a parent
There are many private schools in the Bay Area producing great students that have mastered the art of testing for exams. Indeed, these students will benefit by scoring high on exams later in life, but will they have the foundation that a Catholic education provides to the whole child? Academic excellence must have an equal importance to the spiritual, intellectual, social, and physical development of each unique child. Holy Rosary School bases their education upon the teachings of Jesus Christ - teachings which foster respect, responsibility, justice, gratitude, and peacefulness. We are very fortunate to have our son and daughter at HRS. We all share a common bond in the teachings of Jesus Christ and the Holy Bible. The principal (Mrs. Susana Lapeyrade-Drummond) coupled with our Pastor (Father Roberto Corral) and school/church staff create a very unique, safe and loving experience for the students and parents as one Catholic family. When our children are disciplined or rewarded by staff, it is earned. God bless, Best of the Bay: http://bestofthebaytv.com/view/1241 Holy Rosary School: http://www.holyrosarycatholicschool.org/hrs/hrsindex.html The Sloan Family


Holy Rosary 2

Posted November 07, 2010
- a parent
My child has been attending Holy Rosary School since Pre-K. Throughout the years I have become unhappy with many facets that have yet to be addressed. Agreeably with other comments, the school as a whole has very strong clicks amongst parents, as well as, the staff. Favoritism is also prominent in almost every situation, whether it's seeing the same students year after year in the yearbook, to the same students that get selected over other students for certain events, etc. I am at this school day-in and day-out and occasionally volunteer in classroom activities. I see and hear things enough to say that I am highly disappointed at the overall outcome of this school's environment. The academic programs are GOOD but the integrity of the ADMINISTRATION staff HAS YET to surface.

Holy Rosary 0
no rating

Posted March 12, 2010
- a parent
I continue to be disappointed with the teaching staff and Principle. Favoritism and lack of Christian values are very present daily! I have never experienced a Teacher yelling and disciplining children as i do at Holy Rosary. Problem childeren need to be addressed not all should suffer consequences. Major click leaving other children left out and gossip among Teachers...I don't get it! I question returning next year.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holy Rosary
25 East 15th Street, Antioch, CA  94509
(925) 757-1270
Last modified Holy Rosary is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Holy Rosary Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top