Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
49 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 56 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Vanguard Preparatory School 5

Posted July 15, 2015
- a parent
I think this is one of the best schools in Apple valley and my kids love it. We've had some great teachers. Only one that I was not happy with and not happy with the proctors on how they or this teacher handle bullying. They tend to punish the one being bullied instead of the kid actually causing the trouble. Overall it is a great school though.

Vanguard Preparatory School 3

Posted January 06, 2015
- a community member
most teachers are great. they just need to work on bullying and talk to students about not joking around with depression or suicide. they should address not bullying because of sexual orientation or gender identity


Vanguard Preparatory School 4

Posted August 14, 2014
- a parent
Very well informed of all school activities, really like how the school interacts with each child. Classrooms with 25 children make it easier for one on one teaching instead of leaving questions unanswered and classrooms over crowed. I am thankful schools like this still exist..

Vanguard Preparatory School 1

Posted May 29, 2014
- a teacher
I have talked to parent about this school so many opinions good and bad school, how can it be excellent school when when test scores are low and all other reviews are negative, principal rude and staff is lazy I think they need to reevaluate there staff and curriculum maybe one day it can live up to its name for now I do not recommend this school try another preparatory school...

Vanguard Preparatory School 1

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
Vanguard does not handle children with mental disadvantages very well.. my daughter was bullied by a disgusting children and was suspended for no reason. I called the principle to fix this situation and he harshly yelled at me and hung up the phone. I do not recommend this school


Vanguard Preparatory School 4

Posted July 01, 2012
- a community member
i love this school so much. i improved in my grades alot i went from c'[s d's and b's from a's and b's my teacher mrs.boyd is a great teacher she helped me a lot when i needed the help. there are some mean people though who spread rumors and lie about me. other than that i love this school :)

Vanguard Preparatory School 5

Posted October 21, 2010
- a parent
Vangaurd is an excellent school and my family feels very blessed that we have been allowed to enroll my son there. The teachers are very good and the school policies are very good as well. The organization shown on a daily basis far exceeds other schools in the district. We look forward to going through my son's eighth grade year.

Vanguard Preparatory School 5

Posted September 17, 2010
- a parent
Excellent school, attentive the to children and promotes parent involvement, no "daycare" setting like some schools tend to promote.


Vanguard Preparatory School 5

Posted January 20, 2010
- a parent
This schools is the best in the high desert. It is well organized, the staff is sooo kind and respectful not only to the parents but most importantly to the students. I recommend this school 100%.

Vanguard Preparatory School 5

Posted October 22, 2009
- a community member
I am a former student from vanguard preparatory and me in high school looking back at the 4 yrs i spent there...It was allll worth it... My 5th grade teacher mrs.Bankson was the best teacher i have had or would probabaly ever have i havent had a teacher that believed in my as much as she did..=] My middle school yrs i played basketball, volleyball,and track... I loved it alot the p.E teachers are great..And the sports progaram is awesome as well.. Mr.Mobley is one of the most caring, compassionate, forgiving, and most hard working principal that i think i would ever have.!!! =] I love this school with all my heart and i wish the best for the addminstration, students, parents and teachers...=] Go falcons!!!

Nearby schools

Vanguard Preparatory School
12951 Mesquite Road, Apple Valley, CA  92308-5433
(760) 961-1066
Last modified Vanguard Preparatory School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top