Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Twin Lakes Christian School

Private | K-8 | 240 students

Our school is best known for offering an excellent educational experience.

 

Living in Aptos

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $499,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,980.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 9, 2013

Our son went to TLCS for a number of years before they had a junior high. Our daughter has been at the school since kindergarten and will be part of the first 8th grade graduation class. We couldn't be more pleased with their education over the years. Far superior to other Santa Cruz County alternatives - which we also researched via site visits. Highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

This school is amazing! We absolutely love the community here. Our kids have been challenged by the teachers and loved by them as well. The principal is available and approachable. We could not be happier. The smaller middle school has been a tremendous blessing as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

I rarely ever take the time to comment on websites such as these. Heck, I don't even comment much on Yelp. However, after my son finished his tenure as a student at Twin Lakes Christian School, he was heartbroken that he had to leave. Let's face it, many private schools have their fair share of problems. In fact, my family suffered from many bad experiences prior to arriving at TLCS. Once there, we immediately could sense that something was different about this school. The teachers are incredible. Not only jovial, caring leaders, but also great educators who lovingly challenge each student to exceed their own expectations. The campus is peaceful and safe. Never once was I concerned for my child's safety. And don't even get me started about the food. My boy hated it when I tried to pack him a lunch! Not even Nostradamus could have predicted that my kid would have loved hot lunch so much! These are just a few of the reasons why TLCS was our home for many years & if you send your child here I promise you won't regret it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2012

This school is not accredited. By anyone. Teachers regularly resign. Academic standards are not rigorous.


Posted February 4, 2011

My daughter has had such a wonderful experience of her Elementary School years because of Twin Lakes Christian School. She began in Kindergarten and is now in the 6th grade. What I appreciate most about Twin Lakes is that my daughter is not being introduced to the vulgarities of public school (drugs, language, sex) and is staying innocent just a little bit longer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2010

Our son started at Twin Lakes this year as a fifth-grader. He felt at home immediately. The fifth grade teacher is wonderful. Our son came from a very challenging private school and was still challenged academically at Twin Lakes. We are looking forward to sixth grade, when every student has his/her own laptop computer. Also, the art classes are great, as are singing and some drama. Lastly, the principal is very organized, motivated and always available to parents and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

Twin lakes is a great school with awesom staff. The teaches are very smart and really nice.I recommend this school truly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2009

Our daughter loves Twin Lakes Christian School, and so do we! Every teacher we've ever had has been wonderful. The level of education our daughter is receiving is better than she would receive at the nearby public schools, plus she still has the extras like PE, art, music, an on-campus library, recess, hot lunches, and chapel. We love the small class sizes and the closeness of the parental community. This is Principal Imel's first year at TLCS and she's already made some great changes. Most of all, we love sending our daughter to a Christ-centered school. It's okay to pray at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2008

TLCS is a great school! The new principal (2008) is wonderful and the teaching staff is great too. I am very happy with the entire school as well as all of the parent involvement. The new principal is a wonderful addition and her leadership is very positive. I'm looking forward to many great years with my children at TLCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2007

I have very mixed feelings about this school. My child has always been ahead of her class, but was definitely academically challenged at TLCS and was never bored. Also, the love of all the teachers and staff is astounding. I can honestly say EVERYONE at this school cares about EVERY child and they make an effort to know each of them personally. The principal...I have to agree I'm not completely satisfied.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2007

We left the public system to come to TLCS and have been dissappointed by the new principal and his lack of follow through enforcing rules. Our children like their teachers but I am worried this principal will not be able to keep the school going due to his lack of leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

We were expecting high academic standards and strict discipline. The new principal has failed to keep the school up to par and things are going down hill.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2007

This is a suitable school if a child is a slow to average learner. We have found that the academics are much more advanced in the public schools in Aptos than this private school. It all depends what one is looking for: religion or an education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2006

TLCS is an excellent school!! If sending your children to a Christ-centered environment with high academic standards is your goal, then this is the place for you. The class sizes are small with instructional aides,excellent full-time PE teacher, art teacher (the TLCS children repeatedly take 1st prize at the county fair!), music teacher and librarian...these are rare in the public schools.In addition, despite some of the negative comments I read about the new principal, I totally disagree. The 2005-2006 year was his first year as acting principal.He was given a lot of responsiblity very quickly. He has a heart for the Lord and is devoted to doing the right thing. He also has an excellent teaching background and was a beloved teacher for many years. TLCS is a wholesome and safe environment with high moral standards.They learn many wonderful lessons in chapel and in class about God, relationships and good choices. Recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2006

School caters to lower grades. Upper grades are very stagnating as they offer nothing new and challenging for the older students. Small, sheltered, 'cliquey' , usually 18-25 students in each grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2006

School has gone downhill since principal of many years retired. Current principal is hiring or keeping newer teachers who have had little or no experience at their assigned grade levels. It is evident that Christian teachers must be difficult to find.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2006

We love this school. We have since moved away, but my kids miss their teachers and friends there and talk about Twin Lakes often. Academics were very good. In my daughters kinder class all of the children were reading by the end of the year. Learning was effortless and fun (singing,crafts games). The standards were pretty high, but they worked with childern at their level. Each class had a very qualified full time TA, that was like having an additional teacher in the room at all times. There was a very high level of parent involvement in the classrooms and around the school. The PTA even serves free coffee to parents one morning a week! I think it's a great school. Good luck!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

In my opinion, fifth grade is really 'in the mud' this year. The newly hired teacher is unqualified and disorganized. Low morale this year, sorry to say. Parents are trying to keep their head above water and hope that their children do not suffer from this lost year. Perhaps, a parental survey should be handed out so parents can give their opinions privately. Wish we had a better neighborhood school to attend. New principal seems too easy going for the job. No experience there, but at least he seems dedicated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2005

My 4 daughters have attended Twin Lakes, currently I have been there for 13-years, and counting - We all absolutely love it. The Principal wonderful and so is the staff. Wouldn't go anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2005

This school has a fabulous staff. There is a high level of parent involvement. However, there are also quite a bit of snobby parents who try to outdo eachother by volunteering, etc. Fortunately, the principal is intelligent enough to know what is going on and treats everyone as an equal. (No brownie points!) They have 'chapel' every two weeks which is so good for the children. Beautiful, clean facilities. Everything seems well planned out. Twin Lakes Christian School is your best choice in this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 26%
Hispanic 5% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 4% 11%
Black 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Music teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Art teacher(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Girls on the run
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Meg Imel
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Girls on the run
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
245
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
255
Students typically come from these schools
preschool
public and private

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$6000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
local public and private high schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2701 Cabrillo College Drive
Aptos, CA 95003
Website: Click here
Phone: (831) 465-3301

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT