Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Arcadia Christian School

Private | K-8 | 178 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Arcadia

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $725,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,590.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 29, 2011

good school! lots and lots of good memories! im 26 now and went there from 1st-8th grade! still have some of my best friends i keep in touch with still too!


Posted May 20, 2009

Very good school my daughter attended 7tha nad 8th grade and she was accepted at La Salle and Alverno High Schools in Pasadena .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2008

We love Arcadia Christian School! This our 5th year at ACS and the more we get to know the Administrative staff and the Faculty, the more we like the school. It is run by staff who really live what they beilieve, and my children have done well there under thier care. Thier SAT II scores are consistently high and they enjoy thier learning experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

Academically not as strong as other area schools including other Christian schools. Junior high is particularly weak especially in math. I have been involved with the school for 12 years. Spanish is offered some years. It is always a very weak program. Computer instruction is also weak. ACS is a non-denominational school, however certain teachers are heavy handed in promoting their particular spiritual viewpoint, or denomination. The PTA was abolished by the principal some years ago. Parent involvement has suffered since that time. Parents have little say in what goes on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2007

I have 2 children at Arcadia Christian School and thought that I would have to give up some academic standards in order to gain a secure, loving, nurturing environment. Boy was I wrong! The academics are great and the curriculum is reviewed annually by a full-time curriculum person who is outstanding! God is honored, academics standards are upheld, the teachers are extremely loving, kind, caring, and excellent in teaching. It really is wonderful school and has been growing for over 60 years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2006

Arcadia Christian School is an excellent school. You child will not only grow academically, but also spiritually. They also make sure that their curriculum is within state standards. The kids are very polite and they offer different after school activities for the kids. The leadership staff is also excellent as well as the teachers. In addition the school is accredited by the state as well as the Christian School International. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2006

Arcadia Christian is has a good Kindergarten curriculum. The Kindergarten teachers are very experienced in teaching and have been educators in the school for a great number of years. The student/teacher ratio is 17/1. More field trips could be added to this grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2005

My son attended the preschool and had a good experience. He made friends and bonded especially with his Pre-K teacher. It is a safe environment, where children are loved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2005

Christian-centered school. High teacher turnover and younger less-skilled teachers a problem. Not as academically challenging as other area schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2003

My oldest daughter just graduated from this school and was accepted by three different high schools! She is currnetly enrolled in Bishop Amat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2003

Arcadia Christian School, is a terrific school! My daughter enjoys going there very much.All the teacher's are nice, ut strict, polite, but friendly. It's a really great school!I recommend it to those who are searching for a good christian school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 28% 11%
Hispanic 21% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 6%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Mary Letterman
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1900 South Santa Anita Avenue
Arcadia, CA 91006
Website: Click here
Phone: (626) 574-8229

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Serendipity School
Monrovia, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT