Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Pearl Preparatory School

Private | K-5 | 105 students

Our school is best known for our hands-on approach to education.
 
 

 

Living in Arcadia

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $300,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,270.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 14, 2013

Pear Preparatory is a wonderful school! The students have the opportunity to go on a field trip each month. They even have the opportinuty to go on longer Science Camp Field Trips; upto 3 days for the older grades! They have a wonderful Arts programs as well and the performances are magnificent. Pearl Preparatory has small classroom sizes which allows each student to have the attention from their teachers that they need in order to be successful. They also have a very convenient and excellently run morning and after school Day Care program. At the after school program, the students are given a quiet atmosphere in order to complete their homework. All of the staff at Pearl Preparatory are highly experienced to work with children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

As a former student and current teacher at Pearl Prep, I have been afforded a unique opportunity to see the positive impact this school has had on many children, including myself. The staff is just as dedicated to providing an exceptional learning experience now as they were when I attended. Small class sizes allow every student to receive the support they need in order to be successful both in and out of the classroom. At Pearl, learning goes beyond the text book and encourages students to think independently as they participate in many engaging activities. I highly recommend this school to parents who are looking to build a strong foundation to help their child excel as they continue along their educational journey.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 6, 2013

Pearl Prep is A+ from top to bottom. The complete staff from principal to teachers to office staff are a great group who are down to earth hardworking and obviously have a passion for teaching and molding children. Having come from a public school the small class sizes give my children the opportunity to have a tremendously unique classroom experience. My children are constantly encouraged to step out of the box and embark on adventures of music, art, and field trips that without Pearl Prep would be unseen to them. Pearl Prep is giving my chilren tools that will for sure help ithem in their future. But it's the love of learning and the daily smiles across their faces that tell my wife and I that biggest impact may be in TODAY.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2012

I trust the staff at Pearl! They are absolutely the best! I feel my children were challenged and nurtured here at the same time. It's such a well rounded curriculum with so much extra stuff! - - - field trips, drama, choir, band, honors classes! If you are planning to put your child in a private school, the tuition at Pearl is very reasonable. If you aren't sure about it.... just go for a tour! I'm so happy that we found Pearl!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

I have had 5 children in Pearl Prep. My children are all very different in respect to behavior and academics. This wonderful school was able to challenge them all and my husband and I are very happy with the results. One of my children was seriously ill and the school bent over backwards to help out. What was a very hard time ended up being a very special and memorable time. Both my boys and girls enjoyed the classwork and PE programs. Also, to have a school associated with the Kare Youth League is totally awesome. It's a win win situation. My children are 16 years to 26 years old. Two have graduated from college, one is pursuing a College degree and one is a Senior set to attend Cal Fullerton in September and the youngest is a A student in High School. If you want happy, well-rounded children, Pearl Prep is the place to send your child. It is worth working multiple jobs to do it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

Thank you Pearl for giving my four children such a great start! All of them had a great experience and were both encouraged and well educated. My eldest has graduated from UCLA and will attend Columbia as she continues her education. My other daughter is a President's Scholar and because of her experence at Pearl, desires to become an elementary school teacher. My son has just started at Cal State Fullerton and is doing very well and my youngest son is a Junior at Rio Hondo Prep and is involved in a number of AP classes. Pearl certainly had a lot to do with their success, both in education and the young people they have become.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

Pearl Prep has been wonderful for our family! We wanted a school that would provide a great educational foundation as well as traditional values and I found it! My child is excited about going to school, and loves her teachers and classmates. The entire staff is wonderful - they really care about the kids. It is such a positive enviroment, and there is a sense of community that wouldn't be possible at a larger school. The curriculum at Pearl is excellent; they have extra opportunities and incentives for kids who are above grade level and need to be challenged. Pearl has given my child a great start on her reading and math skills. I am extremely happy with the entire Pearl Prep experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

I have had 3 children attend Pearl and the youngest will be graduating from 5th grade this year. Their experiences at the school have been fantastic. They have had small classes where they get encouragement and instruction that puts them above grade level. They take field trips that reenforce what they were learning and do high interest hands on activities to back up the paper and pencil work. They receive training on computers so that my Middle School and High School boys are easily able to keep up with the technology demands of upper grades and are honor students. The teachers at Pearl are kind, creative and make elementary school a place my kids want to be. I will miss all the musical programs and experiences my daughter has had when she graduates in June. But I am thankful for the great foundation all my children have received at Pearl and my husband, and I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2012

My daughter is a transfer student to Pearl Prep. She was in a private school for first grade and then for the first half of second grade I homeschooled her. We decided to put her at Pearl Prep on a recommendation from a friend plus the fact that she missed being in school. I can't say enough about Pearl Prep. The principal, teachers, staff and children are all wonderful. Everything from before/after day care to administering medications is very well organized and made easy for parents. They have excellent field trips and an excellerated math program that is individualized. My second grade daughter loves her teacher and new friends. It is amazing to see that my daughter actually looks forward to going to school! Small class sizes and caring teachers make this an environment I recommend to all parents seeeking a school that is safe, educational and fun!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2006

If you are looking for a great elementary sschool, this is it! My son is a 4th grader this year. We love this school. Everyone is wonderful from the office staff, principal, teachers, and after-school staff. It is too bad that my son has only 1 more year left...yes, it is only a K-5 school. Teachers are approachable and easy to talk to and very supportive. It is a nurturing and caring environment. Ms. Prest, the 4th grade teacher, is wonderful. She makes learning fun and keeps lessons interesting. You really feel valued and appreciated at this school. Now if only I can find a middle school that is this good!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2006

My child attends this school and the teacher/child ratio is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2005

While programs are strong, execution still needs work. Stay involved and make sure that you are getting the best for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

My daughter loves going to school everyday, that's saying something about this school, I love the teachers and the children everyone is so wonderful at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 41% 52%
White 34% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 13% 11%
Two or more races 13% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Tutor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
PE instructor(s)
Music teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Dance teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Chinese (Mandarin)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
  • Before school: starts at 6:45 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Loraine Moore
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Fax number
  • (626) 444-7737

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Just as a pearl is created from a simple grain of sand in the right environment, Pearl works cooperatively with the home to create a stimulating and wholesome atmosphere that fosters personal as well as academic development in children. Offering low student to teacher ratios, Pearl challenges each child individually to reach his or her ultimate potential with a solid academic curriculum that instills the study skills needed for success in higher education. Children grow and learn more than just during the six hours of a school day, and teachers at Pearl are concerned about the growth of the child outside of the classroom as well. Pearl places a strong emphasis on character development throughout all aspects of the child's life including respect, self-discipline and basic moral and ethical values. Pearl is a non-denominational school founded on basic Judeo-Christian principles. The teachers and staff at Pearl uphold high moral standards to insure proper role models for students.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
100
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
110

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$5000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Rio Hondo Prep
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1307 E. Longden Ave.
Arcadia, CA 91731
Website: Click here
Phone: (626) 442-7737

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT