Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Arroyo Pacific Academy

Private | 9-12 | 108 students

We are best known for personal approach to education.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Arcadia

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $764,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,660.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 15, 2014

I highly recommend Arroyo Pacific Academy! My youngest daughter spent 4 successful years there & graduated recently. She had always struggled academically, but flourished at Arroyo, due to their smaller classroom sizes & the individual attention she received from her teachers. I loved how the teachers helped the students stay organized & focused, & kept the students accountable & responsible for their school work. As a result, my daughter mastered subjects she could never grasp before! Her grades went from C s and D s to B s and a few A s, (which was quite an accomplishment). I spent a lot of time volunteering, so I could see how things were run. I was impressed with the teachers & just about everything overall! We felt so lucky to have found such a special school. I liked that whether your teen was on the Ivy League path or on the remedial studies path, all received the best curriculum suited for them. My daughter loved her high school years & had many positive experiences. She made many lasting friendships & especially enjoyed the international students. She still corresponds with many & hopes to visit them soon, (in their native country)!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2014

I had the worst experience with this school. The teachers are not teaching. They give you worksheets in the class. The majority of the students here are international students. You always can see people fighting, smoking...
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2013

I am currently a senior at Arroyo Pacific Academy and I have been a student there since I was a freshman. This school changed my life in so many amazing ways and it has given me a love for learning that I will never lose. I wish every high school could be like mine but that's what makes APA so amazing, my late assignments never go unnoticed and they always get done promptly. During my middle and elementary years I was consistent C/D student and an underachiever but now I'm in two AP classes and got to calculus. I couldn't feel more accepted and have never been happier than I am at Arroyo Pacific Academy. The teachers and administration are welcoming and accommodating and quite honestly inspiring. NowI want to be a teacher at a school like or at APA. This school is life changing in every positive way.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 27, 2012

My two sons both graduated from APA. One of them went on to a large UC campus and the other to a small private liberal arts college. They are both doing well academically and are very responsible,caring young adults. The small classes, strong academics and amazing faculty at Arroyo Pacific all contributed to making them them the fine young men that they are today. Even though it has been more than 6 years since the younger graduated from APA, our entire family feels a strong connection to APA. It provided my children with the environment and type of education that I wish I had received.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2012

I am currently a student at arroyo pacific academy and i can confidently say it is one of the best out there. AP provides direct and personal teaching which helps students understand and learn the material- as opposed to spacing out to a tedious lecture. Its a great school for everyone regardless of learning disabilities or past troubles. They have great academics and the student body generally receives good grades, add that and a strong loving staff as well as a close kind community wraps it up into one big casserole of awesome. I recommend AP to everyone!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 14, 2010

Our son enrolled at AP in 8th grade, moved away for a year, and then returned to AP because we found that no other place offered the kind of personal attention that AP did. Mr. Clarke is an extraordinary educator and a wonderful human being. He has assembled a core of teachers who genuinely care for the students and treat them with respect and dignity. They helped our son build confidence, skills, and acquire knowledge. We recommend the school highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

I am crrently a parent of a child who attends the school. This has been the best place for my son. He is happy and loves going to school everyday. Phil Clark only accepts high qulity teaching, respect the child needs. Mr. Maust, Mr. flag, Mrs. O, Mr. Johnson, and Ms. Bandares are some of my sons favorate Teachers. I recommend this school to all it is worth the evey penney.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2008

As a student at Arroyo Pacific Academy I can confidently say there is no better school out there. For students who have trouble learning or just trouble in general, AP is definitely one to address and fix the situation. The way the school is set up gives a family-like environment. The faculty at AP actually care about the students
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 24, 2006

This school has been great as a transition school for my daughter who suffers from ADHD, they work with her to ensure she is receiving a quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2006

What we read on the website sounded promising, but there was not the follow-through that we hoped for. Maybe some of the teachers were not fully in agreement with the school's philosophy, but it was pretty easy for our kid to fall through the cracks. She got away with a lot more than she should have, given the teacher-student ratio. This was two years ago; the weaknesses may have been addressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 38% 26%
Hispanic 5% 52%
Black 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Philip Clarke
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (626) 294-0677

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Tennis
  • rugby
Girls sports
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
Summer college prep programs
College prep programs/courses during the year
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

41 Santa Clara Street
Arcadia, CA 91007
Website: Click here
Phone: (626) 294-0661

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT