Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Arcadia Children's Educational Center

Private | K

 
 

Living in Arcadia

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $764,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,660.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2011

Good school. My son started when he was 3 1/2 and ended when he was 5 1/2. He was a little behind in his motor skills, and he had limited English skills. As a bilingual family, we did not focus on English at home when he started here. This school spends a lot of time focusing on academics. If you want your kids to excel academically, this is the place. They spend a lot of time reviewing the basics English & Math skills. The teachers are caring & do try to spend time with the kids. We do recommend Ms. Joannie for Kindergarten, she is very attentive and caring. They have a very large playground. Their only negative is they don't focus on sports or creative time as much, but their academics are good so if that is your focus, this is the place. Also, if you have kids that are either behind or are new to the US and are not native English speakers, I think they do a good job in bringing the kid up to speed so they can be ready for Grades 1 and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2011

I wish there is a negative star rating ; the ONE star was for the dedicated teachers who are underpaid. My child had been attending the school for 3 years. It started off well; he had loving teachers and caring director. Then things started to get worse. Teachers were leaving (HIGH turnover rate) and those who stayed were unhappy and not motivated. My child changed teacher TWICE within the first half of his school year. The only thing I like about the school now is the big open playground. I went there once during lunch time and MY LORD, they were having the SAME exact lunch from the day before!!! Lately, my child has been doing the same worksheets over and over again, which according to the new director, they were reviewing (apparently for 3 months straight) so much about their very academic approach and what made me SO ANGRY was seeing a staff who was supervising the children in the evening with her eyes on the cell phone INSIDE the office. And she once allowed a child (boy) to use the men s room BY HIMSELF during a fieldtrip and walked away from the restroom until a parent volunteer went and checked on him. I m glad I found other option for my child. PARENTS, BEWARE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

Not worth the time or money. Very poor supervision from "qualified" staff. Would not recommend at all. Poor academic program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2010

Arcadia Children's Educational Center is the Best, my son is attending in preschool. we are happy that he has improved his speaking ability within one year. They teach kids not only maths, but also literature and speaking, my son love his teacher. Their teachers are excellent, and get formal BS and MS training. My son loves to go to school every day. When our family have unexpected difficulties, Principle Mrs. Simon gave us full support to help us out. She blessed us with warm-hearted generosity, and she told us that we should not get our son involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

My 4 year-old son has been attending this school for more than a year. The principal, Mrs. Simon, and the teachers are all very caring and dedicated. My son is the over-active kind who had trouble paying attention and following when he started there. As a result, he was lacking behind in his academic skills like counting and handwriting. Mrs. Simon and the teachers went above and beyond to spend one-on-one time every day with my son to help him catch up. My son has shown a lot of improvement and he is very excited to go to school and see his teachers. I cannot say enough about the dedication and the commitment of the school and the teachers to the well-being and education of the children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

My son attended this preschool from 2005-2007, and my daughter attended from 2007-2009. This school, beginning with its director, always took our childern's safety and education very seriously as it does with every student. Both of our children enjoyed their experiences at the school and we never had any problems. Academic standards are high, and a loving and nurturing environment is provided. Our daughter had some special needs and the school went out of its way to help nurture her and help her grow which we appreciated. Throughout the four years our kids were there, we were always kept informed as to our children's progress. I highly recommend Arcadia Children's Educational Center with no reservations whatsoever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

My 4 year old son attended this school and was hurt badly on the back of his head that required 6 stitches. This school is unbelievably irresponsible. They have inadequate supervision when the kids are playing at the playground. I would not recommend this school. Management and communication are poor. Most importantly, this school does not provide the basics of secure, loving and nurturing environment for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

My daughter went there for three years. I really like the area of the school location - quiet residential area. But I think the quality of teaching and school in general is deteriorating due to owner's resistance to pay teachers well. Thus teachers turnover rate is really high and it's hard to keep teachers happy and motivated. You will not see teachers staying there more than a year or two. I don't see as many students enrolled as when my daughter went there, unless she improves the salary of teachers, it's going to keep going downhill. It's sad because I really liked the curriculum they have... I have a toddler and at this point I will have to look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2008

What a great school. My daughter loves it! The Director and owner are always at the school and they have great programs. Lots if fresh fruit and milk for lunch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

My son has gone to ACEC for three years. The playgrounds are huge and the hot lunch is great. Most teachers have degrees and they teach a combination academic study and social development. My son was well prepared to enter first grade after leaving kindergarten here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2006

ACEC is a very academic school. I would highly recommend it for Pre-K and K.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2005

Great facility with fun playing areas and clean classrooms. The teacher and staff takes extra care to ensure my child is not too cold in wintertime (less illness). Academic teaching is comparable to other private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Asian 100%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Black 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Hispanic 0%
Two or more races 0%
White 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9845 East Lemon Avenue
Arcadia, CA 91007
Phone: (626) 445-7103

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lily's Learning Center
Temple City, CA





Ark Christian Academy
San Gabriel, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT