Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

3,665 students|Arcadia Unified
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
117 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 121 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Arcadia High School 1

Posted September 03, 2015
- a parent
The Arcadia Educational Foundation is always asking for money to save the teachers. But school has money to hire four assistant principals. The district has money to hire three assistant superintendents. The best one yet is that they have money to hire a public relations person. Where is their priority? They have enough money, just not the discipline to allocate appropriately. Maybe it is time to vote in a new set of board members who will truly look after the students and not the bloated administration.

Arcadia High School 5

Posted January 28, 2015
- a parent
The school needs to find a way of controlling the number of students coming in from neighboring cities. It has reached a level where it has become unmanageable. Parents really need to bring this to the school's attention.


Arcadia High School 1

Posted January 26, 2015
- a parent
The school is overcrowded mostly because there are a lot of people from Monrovia and Duarte attending. The administration is managing by crisis. What a mess.

Arcadia High School 4

Posted January 24, 2015
- a student
Not sure how this school was like 6-24 years ago, but I keep faith our school is improving over the years. Our administrative and counseling aren't after all bad this year! We're getting to improvements from 1 counselor or each different groups/weak counseling team into 2 counselors in each different group, and from a weak and arrogant administrative into really nice and sympathetic people! As far as we're improving (especially teachers improve), our administrative can still investigate on more "bad teachers" that need to actually be fired or downgraded to substitutes (to try to sound nicer) and bringing in better/more capable teachers. They as well can add more supervisors/securities to our campus and locker rooms, plus improving some of our "old" facilities. As far as our Counseling team has increased and improved, we can still add in more counselors (like 1 or 2 more) so they have less names to learn and have more time to assist students with their needs... Otherwise, overall, Arcadia High School is one capable school, if we continue more thorough investigations and if more reforms can be made, but I'm still glad to be an Arcadia High School Apache! ;-)

Arcadia High School 5

Posted July 28, 2014
- a parent
Great teachers, hardworking students, modern campus in a nice community. If the student is willing work hard, he or she will be rewarded with a great education.


Arcadia High School 4

Posted May 23, 2014
- a student
I'm a student of the Class of 2014 so I'm literally going to graduate very soon from this school. I was never competitive -- I'm a procrastinator in fact and I haven't joined many clubs or extracurricular activities compared to the others of my year, but I really think it's a great school. Sure some teachers don't teach (or know how to), but the many teachers that do know how to teach and teach extraordinarily amazingly make it up. Plus, the many activities a person can do here brings everyone together -- I literally made friends with people upon first meeting here. The student body's not only overall friendly and united, but more diverse than what one would expect from a somewhat Asian-dominated place. We're rivals, but that doesn't stop us all from reaching out and being friends. There's no bullying here. There's a lot of resources here, too, and though I never been to the counselors before, they do have a lot of pamphlets and career information in the Career Center. Don't forget that the Arcadia Public Library which has an enormous source of information is just across the street, available to anyone who needs it. The giant Arcadia Park and Golf Course is too. Great environment.

Arcadia High School 3

Posted February 24, 2014
- a parent
AHS offers many quality clubs, classes and sports opportunities for students. As others have said AHS offers both excellent teachers and some exceptionally poor ones. The counselors have improved. However, as others have also mentioned, the administration, starting with Principal Forsee, is a major weak point. They are arrogant, unfriendly, and you have to wonder how many of them are out for either students, teachers, or parents. Sometimes, it feels like an us against them environment. After interacting with them recently, I've given serious thought to taking my kids out and putting them into a private school.

Arcadia High School 2

Posted October 26, 2013
- a community member
Graduated from this school last year, going to a good college out of state- but that was out of my own personal efforts. The school itself has it's share of great and horrible teachers, some really push students to do their best, some don't care at all. Hi level competition can be a good thing, pushes some students to excel in academics, sports, and clubs, but also causes other students to become depressed or give up on trying. The administration is horrible, administrators claim credit for the achievements of students and remove staff who don't fit their narrow-minded perspective of high school(look up coach Jim Obrien)


Arcadia High School 3

Posted August 25, 2013
- a community member
Great teachers, great learning environment, but extremely competitive due to the overwhelming number of students.

Arcadia High School 1

Posted August 03, 2013
- a parent
The school has many stuck-up students and teachers that don't care about their students' progress.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Arcadia High School
180 Campus Drive, Arcadia, CA  91007-6958
(626) 821-1711
Last modified Arcadia High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Arcadia High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 121 reviews. Top