Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

623 students|Arcadia Unified
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Baldwin Stocker Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
They state that the Character Counts program is very important to them, however in practice they fail to hold their students up to that standard by not addressing bullying.

Baldwin Stocker Elementary School 2

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
It is difficult to determine whether students do well academically mainly because of the school, since so many students at this school attend private afterschool programs where they receive tutoring and support. Having worked in schools myself, the work students are doing in the classroom is not much different than in other schools, and in my experience neither is the teacher support. We were very disappointed with how our child’s teacher handled poor peer relationships, despite our seeking her support throughout the school year. She actually stated that it matters who you know in the district. The Principal is not very approachable or proactive. The best part of the school is the PTA, because the yearly programming is pretty good. We are glad our child no longer attends this school and are very happy with the new school.


Baldwin Stocker Elementary School 4

Posted August 21, 2011
- a parent
While the school was above average, I have a few things to say about the GATE program. The STAR test results put at least around 70% of the kids in the class at "Advanced" or "Proficient" level, but if you screen the kids based on GATE students, there are hardly one or two. At this score, you would expect more GATE students. My daughter studied at this school up to third grade, and the teacher never gave her a GATE recommendation, or any school literature that says the parent can recommend their children for GATE. When we moved to an equally good school district, she was referred to GATE program and was selected. Same thing happened with another friend of hers who moved- she is a GATE student now. I don't know if teachers want to stop of the burden of dealing with the GATE curriculum or cluster programs, or they simply aren't motivated, Baldwin Stocker school guards it's GATE program like a secret mission. I wish they opened up information and let the kids take the test, and let the standards decide their potential. Other good schools have at least 10-15% GATE students in every grade, where as this school lags behind.

Baldwin Stocker Elementary School 5

Posted November 23, 2010
- a community member
i used to go to baldwin stocker and i loved it! :D the teachers are really nice and fun, and make learning awesome!!! thanks to my terrific 4th-5th grade teacher, who i cannot name but will say that she has a husband and three kids (she's still my favorite teacher!!!), i'm aspiring to go to harvard, get a double major in law and literature, and become a lawyer/author! kids at baldwin stocker are also REALLY nice towards everyone, especially new kids and kids who struggle a lot. last year, baldwin stocker won the California Distinguised School Award and the superintendant visited baldwin stocker!!! It's A.P.I. is also the 3rd highest IN CALIFORNIA and the highest in arcadia! kids who go to this great school will surely blossom into an intelligent, understanding new generation!

Baldwin Stocker Elementary School 5

Posted August 31, 2010
- a parent
this is one of the best school in California . My son likes this school a lot.


Baldwin Stocker Elementary School 5

Posted May 21, 2010
- a parent
The teachers and the staff are top notch. My child loves going to school at Baldwin Stocker. We are amazed by his education and his concern and compassion for his own community and fellow classmates.

Baldwin Stocker Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 17, 2008
- a parent
Baldwin Stocker is a very good school. The teachers are good. New principal Ms. Hillman is very good. Great school!

Baldwin Stocker Elementary School 3

Posted September 08, 2004
- a parent
This school has teachers who have been teaching for decades, which can be good and bad, as they have experience but they are definitely set in their ways and not too open to innovative techniques and progressive practices. This school is good for cookie-cutter kids, they will fit right in as long as they follow everyone else. Otherwise, if you have a child with her own mind, be prepared for headaches. Teachers have many cliques and kids follow.


Baldwin Stocker Elementary School 4

Posted January 23, 2004
- a parent
I think Baldwin Stocker has some very special and excellent teachers that kids are excited about to learn from.I think they strongly need to improve on their HOT lunch program for the amount the school distric is charging.We had a new principal come in at the end of summer and I still have not seen anything spectacular yet to judge him.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Baldwin Stocker Elementary School
422 West Lemon Avenue, Arcadia, CA  91007-6902
(626) 821-8351
Last modified Baldwin Stocker Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Baldwin Stocker Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top