Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

623 students|Arcadia Unified
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 43 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Baldwin Stocker Elementary School 5

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
My daughter is 1st grader at Baldwin Stocker. This school has an excellent safety system and the teacher, she is very nice!

Baldwin Stocker Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
My daughter's teacher is very passionate in teaching first graders. She always has fun and creative ways to teach the students math and language arts. The students are challenged to be better writers by practicing writing various topics every week. She inspired us to care for the environment through her love in animals and gardening. The class learned how to manage money at such a young age through "class bucks" system.


Baldwin Stocker Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
I personally thank to Mrs. Curone-Ronney, the 1st grade teacher. She is not only a good academic teacher, but also an excellent behavoire teacher. My daughter improved her academic and also learn good manner since she enrolled in her class. So lucky to have her!!!

Baldwin Stocker Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Curone-Ronney is an super good teacher. My daughter is so lucky to have her!!!

Baldwin Stocker Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
My daughter shared with me since the 1st day of school that "Mom I love this school because it 's clean and everybody is so nice!!!


Baldwin Stocker Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
They state that the Character Counts program is very important to them, however in practice they fail to hold their students up to that standard by not addressing bullying.

Baldwin Stocker Elementary School 2

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
It is difficult to determine whether students do well academically mainly because of the school, since so many students at this school attend private afterschool programs where they receive tutoring and support. Having worked in schools myself, the work students are doing in the classroom is not much different than in other schools, and in my experience neither is the teacher support. We were very disappointed with how our child’s teacher handled poor peer relationships, despite our seeking her support throughout the school year. She actually stated that it matters who you know in the district. The Principal is not very approachable or proactive. The best part of the school is the PTA, because the yearly programming is pretty good. We are glad our child no longer attends this school and are very happy with the new school.

Baldwin Stocker Elementary School 4

Posted August 21, 2011
- a parent
While the school was above average, I have a few things to say about the GATE program. The STAR test results put at least around 70% of the kids in the class at "Advanced" or "Proficient" level, but if you screen the kids based on GATE students, there are hardly one or two. At this score, you would expect more GATE students. My daughter studied at this school up to third grade, and the teacher never gave her a GATE recommendation, or any school literature that says the parent can recommend their children for GATE. When we moved to an equally good school district, she was referred to GATE program and was selected. Same thing happened with another friend of hers who moved- she is a GATE student now. I don't know if teachers want to stop of the burden of dealing with the GATE curriculum or cluster programs, or they simply aren't motivated, Baldwin Stocker school guards it's GATE program like a secret mission. I wish they opened up information and let the kids take the test, and let the standards decide their potential. Other good schools have at least 10-15% GATE students in every grade, where as this school lags behind.


Baldwin Stocker Elementary School 5

Posted November 23, 2010
- a community member
i used to go to baldwin stocker and i loved it! :D the teachers are really nice and fun, and make learning awesome!!! thanks to my terrific 4th-5th grade teacher, who i cannot name but will say that she has a husband and three kids (she's still my favorite teacher!!!), i'm aspiring to go to harvard, get a double major in law and literature, and become a lawyer/author! kids at baldwin stocker are also REALLY nice towards everyone, especially new kids and kids who struggle a lot. last year, baldwin stocker won the California Distinguised School Award and the superintendant visited baldwin stocker!!! It's A.P.I. is also the 3rd highest IN CALIFORNIA and the highest in arcadia! kids who go to this great school will surely blossom into an intelligent, understanding new generation!

Baldwin Stocker Elementary School 5

Posted August 31, 2010
- a parent
this is one of the best school in California . My son likes this school a lot.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Baldwin Stocker Elementary School
422 West Lemon Avenue, Arcadia, CA  91007-6902
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. (626) 821-8351
Last modified Baldwin Stocker Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top