Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

680 students|Arcadia Unified
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Highland Oaks Elementary School 1

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
The principal has done everything to ruin this school. She started by destroying the once revered music program. She has blamed everyone but herself for this. The principal is incompetent and arrogant. She should be replaced.

Highland Oaks Elementary School 1

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
I am extremely disappointed in the teachers and faculty this school, they don't care much about teaching and super lazy, except very few young teachers, my kid didn't bring home one single test in a whole year, those overpaid unqualified teachers should be fired!!!


Highland Oaks Elementary School 2

Posted December 23, 2014
- a parent
There are some teachers who are very good. The sad thing is that the administration keeps getting in the way of everything that is good.

Highland Oaks Elementary School 5

Posted October 17, 2014
- a parent
Good active principal. Renewed emphasis on academia being the first and foremost in priority. Unfortunately a great deal of resources have been expended on satisfying students with special needs, because of a highly vocal and irrational minority. That has to change for the overall well being of the school

Highland Oaks Elementary School 4

Posted December 21, 2012
- a parent
Good school, with caring teachers. Good programs and support for students. Would like to see a stronger leadership.


Highland Oaks Elementary School 5

Posted January 27, 2012
- a parent
Large majority of teachers go above and beyond thus the strong API scores.Music program,after school sports and active ,strong Principal.7 year involvement with Highland Oaks with 3 children.Better than local private schools because of superior resources and specific reading ,math and science programs

Highland Oaks Elementary School 1

Posted January 26, 2012
- a parent
I live in the neighborhood. I visited the school. I decided to homeschool. If you are looking beyond an average education, then don't rely on the basis of Highland Oaks' high API scores. At their open house try to look pass the snazzy technological classroom equipment (computers, "magic" white board, etc), then you will see that what the school produces: worldly ego centric kids. I observed several classrooms during the open house, the ceramic pieces were freekisly identical. Teachers and parents were in a chorus about how much their kids were able to read or write. However meanwhile you had disrespectful children walking over their parents. The teahers were the queen B. No thank you. I want my children to respect their elders namely their parents. I don't want them to be ego centric.

Highland Oaks Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2011
- a parent
We'e been associated with HO since 2003 with our 2 sons, with fantastic results. Of the 12 teachers, 9 were phenomenal, 2 were OK. I've had email correspondence with them on different issues, again with positive results. Children who transfer in from private schools or other districts are almost always behind in their academics & skills. I have never experienced teachers too involved with politics. Parents & politics happens everywhere. Very active parent volunteers are one thing that makes this school great.


Highland Oaks Elementary School 5

Posted April 13, 2011
- a parent
WOW! I am shocked at reading some of these reviews! To say that only medical doctors are called Dr. is just not a fact! My child went through H.O. and is currently at Foothills. It is because of the many wonderful teachers at H.O. that she is an honor student. (I take very little credit) I have 2 kids in the school now and I have yet to run into a bad teacher. When my child got one one of the so called "BAD" teachers I was horrified because I had heard some of the gossip about her. Naturally, I was concerned but and she was WONDERFUL the entire year. She ended up being one of my child's favorite teachers! Some of the parents in the school gossip way too much about each other and the staff and I have seen kids get sucked into the drama of it all! When I hear a student telling a teacher "I heard (insert personal info here)" you can bet that they overheard their parents gossiping about that teacher. Shameful! Teachers are doing their job and most at H.O. are great at it! The entire staff has to follow district guidelines, NOT the parents so if you have a problem with the way they teach, go to the district and complain or consider private. Teachers need our support!

Highland Oaks Elementary School 1

Posted February 18, 2011
- a parent
Given this school is in AUSD, I am extremely disappointed in the teachers and faculty. The teacher's at this school are more interested in having parents make copies for them than anything else. The principal will only address concerns only if you donate money to AEF and the school! It has been a truly heartbreaking experience for my child. It is too the point where I would rather pay money to a private school than torture my child any more at this school. Teacher discusses religion during class, checks email and tells the students that they shouldn't be successful because they will just get fired from their jobs anyway! The principal knows all about this and just shrugs it all away, saying teachers will be teachers. Given all the layoff notices in the district, I hope they decide to encourage these horrible teachers to retire!

Nearby schools

Highland Oaks Elementary School
10 Virginia Drive, Arcadia, CA  91006-1899
(626) 821-8354
Last modified Highland Oaks Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top