Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Arcadia Montessori School

Private | K-1 | 21 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Arcadia

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $725,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,590.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 1, 2014

Arcadia Montessori is a great school. My son stared school at the age of two all the way to age five. He now attends public school. Academically my son is doing very well. He came into public school knowing so much. This Montessori school help his transition. The teachers at Arcadia Montessori are wonderful. The daycare staff is great. My son had so much fun at the after school program. The director is very friendly and welcoming. Best school ever. Thank you sincerely a very happy parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2013

This school is far and away the best school we found. After auditing many preschools for our son, we discovered this gem. The director and the instructors are all warm and personable, and truly care about the students. The curriculum is not rote memorization and television - the students actually learn in this environment. The lessons are ingeniously designed to stimulate the child intellectually - logic, reasoning, physics in addition to the "three R's". The environment is structured, and the children learn respect and courtesy which we have seen carry over into daily life. Our 3yr. old son loves to read, is fascinated by space and science in general, and his favorite play activity at home is "making projects" - not video games or TV. I couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2013

This is an amazing school and I would highly recommend it. The staff and teachers are very responsible, caring, and work individually with each child to promote independence. The school is well run and the director works very hard to connect the student, family and school. After three years there, my child was very prepared when she entered kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2013

AMS.is a great school. A real jewel in Arcadia. I had my both my daughter and son attending from 2 1/2 years old to kindergarten. All teachers were very engaged in their learning and prepared them exceptionally well for elementary school. The Montessori method is very effective in preparing independent students. The staff is very considerate and the principal extremely competent. I strongly recommend this school. My kids have very fond memories of their time there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2013

The school looks idyllic, but if your kid is not willing to be a stepford kid it won't be a good fit. At least this was the case with the 3yo teacher who criticized my parenting on day 2. The only vibe I got from her was that she was extremely stressed and unhappy. The administration made excuses for the lack of compassion, but I don't know why they would have such a person working with children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2012

Top ratings for this school and its administration--I am sure my son learned more here than he would have elsewhere. The warm nurturing environment coupled with top notch teaching, ancillary staff and facilities all were synergistic in maximizing the educational experience. When he transferred to public school, he was far ahead of his contemporaries. Kudos to this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2012

I am very impressed with all aspects of the school. The teachers are skilled educators and also very nurturing. The director is extremely knowledgeable on all aspects of the educational system. I feel completely comfortable leaving my daughter at school each morning, while knowing she is in the care of professional and competent people. Without hesitation I recommend Arcadia Montessori School. This truly is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2012

My children were well prepared for their new school. Both are at the top of his and her class. Excellent kindergarten program builds a strong foundation and instills love of learning. The teachers are nurturing and caring and take great care of the kids in all regards. I recommend this school without hesitation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2011

Wow, I completely disagree with the negative review. This parent does not understand the Montessori method. Arcadia Montessori is an excellent school. The principal and teachers are amazing. This is a very well run school. I am a parent of 3 children that have attended this school for over 8 years. I, along with all of the parents that I have met, couldn't be happier with the school. My children have learned a lot academically as well as socially. and are taken care of very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2011

This is an excellent school. The staff is caring, responsible and great with children. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2011

Though principal and teachers exactly like a military system for kids.... They are very good first 2 weeks then they show themselves .....time out is the most important way for their education.....when i saw my 3 years old son behind of the window i felt so sad all of the kids look sad and board ...my son too.....its horrible system .....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2010

My child is very happy at this school. She is thriving because of her caring and professional teachers. I would recommend this school without hesitation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2010

Excellent School. My kid feels love and care in here. Teachers are caring and involving. We love this school and really appreciate their teachers and the director put effort to build a good connection among student, parents and school. Highly Recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2009

Excellent school! Safe environment, kind, loving teachers. My child has learned a lot and enjoys going to school! I can leave everyday, go to work, and know my child is well taken care of and is learning a lot and is happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2008

My child learnt a lot in this school! Kids are taught well,challenged to the right extent and good decipline is maintained .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

This is a great school. My daughter spent 3 wonderful years at this school. The teachers were extremely professional and created a nurturing environment. Most importantly, my little girl always had a smile going to and from school and was constantly challenged to do better and learn new things. Highly recommend without any reservations
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

Wow, the nparent posting on Sept.5th, 2008 does not reflect my experiences at Arcadia Montessori School...The principal, Ms Roberts is caring and very involoved. My child is age appropriate in his writing and reading skills. I do spend time at home reinforcing what he loearns at school. May I suggest that parent may want to do the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2008

Biggest waste of money. I feel that my child not only lost a year there but also fell behind due to a lack of curriculum. She would have been chalenged more in a free public school. Please do your homework prior to wasting you money there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
American Indian/Alaska Native 20% 1%
White 17% 26%
Hispanic 10% 52%
Black 3% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Cheryl Roberts
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1406 South Santa Anita Avenue
Arcadia, CA 91006
Phone: (626) 447-3513

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Serendipity School
Monrovia, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT