Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Rio Hondo Preparatory School

Private | 6-12 | 163 students

We are best known for championship teamwork.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 11, 2011

RHP is an outstanding school for those interested in academics, team work and moral/ethics. It is not just a school - extra curricular activities like athletics, school and class trips build character. My two children really enjoy school - and yes, they are very busy. I would much prefer my children stay active and involved as opposed to sitting in front of the xbox blowing up zombies all day. As a parent, I appreciate the support I receive from the school - the faculty, coaching and support staffs go above and beyond the call of duty to instill in my children morals and directions which I hope they will keep as they enter adulthood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2011

Rio is a great school that helps students achieve success in many different areas. There are many different opportunities in helping the child excel in many different areas, not just academics. Today many universities look at extracurricular activities as very important. Rio offers many different opportunities for this. They also uniquely offer a month long tour in the US or to Europe. My boys have attended these and they are amazing opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2011

Rio Hondo Prep is a school where I feel my child is getting a very well-rounded education. He is engaged in a challenging academic curriculum with teachers that are not only preparing him for his future academically, but also socially and morally. I really appreciate what the staff - teachers, leaders, coaches at RHP are doing for my son. My son is busy and so am I, but I feel that the time is well-spent in preparing him for success in life and so am willing to make sacrifices of time in order to see that happen. My son is also willing to make these sacrifices because he loves the program, and so it works well for our family. Actually, I don't really see any of the busyness as a sacrifice, more as an investment in my child's future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2011

Rio Hondo Prep has been a great school for our 2 boys. They are offered advanced math classes to challenge them based on their abilities. The excellent teachers have creatively motivated them to read. They have had the opportunity to go on educational trips that we would have been unable to do on our own. They love being part of the sports teams where they are taught skills, perserverance and teamwork. The family atmosphere provides nurturing and encouragement. As working parents we appreciate all the RHP staff who do so much to help our children learn and develop. We are seeing our sons grow in knowledge and character.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2011

We love it! My children are surrounded in a postive atmosphere that says we care and if you try you will succeed. We use to force our son to do his homework every night, but once he attended RHP he just did it and extra! He certainly learned his subjects but more importantly he has learned to fulfill responsibilities and that his own hard work are the key to success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2011

We love the safe, wholesome feeling of Rio where everyone belongs and plays an important part. We receive weekly grade reports via email and know our children are the best hands. Our daughter both played in a CIF championship game and passed multiple AP exams. Her teachers all gave her so much extra help when she needed it. I now know what it means "to Kare".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2007

A great school with high academic standards, a plethora of extracurricular activities and solid student discipline. Despite competing against schools much larger the Kares always field great teams at the Jr. High, JV and Varsity levels. If your child is looking for a complete high school experience you couldn't make a better choice.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 2, 2007

This school will completely take over your child's life and a good portion of your own. If your child is an individual don't send them to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2006

I was part of RHP's Sports League, Kare Youth League from kindergarten untill 7th grade. I was also in The programs Elementary school, Pearl Prep. Rio Hondo/Pearl Is a great school if all you look at are the academics. I got the best education money could buy, and there were never any real discipline problems. However I would not recommend this program for anyone. Through out Elementary school I would get on a bus at 6am and my parents would pick me up sometime after 6pm and there were always hours of homework. I had absolutely no free time, and thats how RHP likes it. They want you 24/7 and it only gets worse as you get older. They don't encourage parental involvement and try to override parents descisions.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 27, 2006

This program is not for every child. They don't tell you what it is they want from you and your child, so you don't know how to meet their expectations. After 3 years of trying to read their minds, I give up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2006

I am a parent of a child who is leaving RHP. If you don't have time to spend with your child, then this is the program for you because they have activities scheduled for weekends, weekdays, summer, x-mas, spring break. But if you enjoy spending time with your child, this program will not allow you any time to do so. Some activities they schedule are so worthless, like going to the mall. They decide what your child can and cannot do even out of school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2006

Rio Hondo Prep has been a blessing for our family. They provide a great family atmosphere for there students while providing a solid curriculum for all grade levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2006

My son graduated 2 years ago & my daughter is a senior this year. It is one of a kind. It combines academics, sports, travel and community services. It is the best investment I ever made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2005

Solid academic program with ample AP and college on-line courses available. Amazing extracurricular, summer and community involvement programs. Middle school and high school educational trips, and summer tours totally unique. Emphasis on sports helps create competitive environment with something for nearly all types of students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2004

Great school with an excellent after-school program. The relationships between the student and the faculty are outstanding (all the faculty members are graduates of RHP). The whole school and its related people are like a one big family.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 36% 26%
Hispanic 34% 52%
Black 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Pearl Preparatory School
Kare Youth League Program
Local schools
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 30% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 70% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation UCLA
CSU Fullerton
Cal Poly Pomona
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Italian
German
Chinese (Mandarin)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Drill team
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • Summer college prep programs
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Leslie Orsburn
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • Schedule a campus visit
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • CEC
Fax number
  • (626) 442-1113

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Honors track
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • Summer college prep programs
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School owned buses for trips
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • Drill team
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Kare Boosters
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • • All students take a college prep curriculum certified by the University of California. Graduation requirements match UC/CSU entrance requirements. All graduates are college bound. • RHP Students have been accepted to UCLA, UC Berkeley and all other UC campuses, USC, Claremont Colleges, Northwestern, Penn St., Smith, Columbia and others. • All students participate in interscholastic athletics and the arts. Students also participate in month-long summer tours of the United States and Europe.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Pearl Preparatory School
Kare Youth League Program
Local schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$6000 - $9000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
UCLA
CSU Fullerton
Cal Poly Pomona
College preparation / awareness offered
College presentations or information sessions
College prep programs/courses during the year
Community college courses
Summer college prep programs
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 30%
4 year college - 70%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5150 Farna Avenue - P.O. Box 662080
Arcadia, CA 91066
Website: Click here
Phone: (626) 444-9531

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT