Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Barnhart School

Private | K-8 | 224 students

Balanced Education, Academic Challenge, Community, Diversity, Arts & Athletics
 
 

 
 

Living in Arcadia

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $764,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,660.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

51 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 19, 2014

So there is this one parent that is not been at Barnhart for over 2 years and continues to republish the same review over and over. As a parent who has had children at Barnhart for over 5 years I can tell you that they have flourished in this amazing small school. The balance between academics and building the whole child is the best I have seen. Everyday math and writers' workshop are impressive comprehensive programs that balance academics with creating a thinking child. Its a great place to build kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2014

Barnhart is the perfect balance of academics, social learning, and creativity. My children are thriving and happy at this school. The teachers are well trained and patient. The administration is open and very responsive.The parent community is involved and dedicated to the overall success of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2014

Barnhart is a great school, with a wonderful, caring community. My son is in first grade and has learned so much in the last two years. I love how integrated all of the learning is, and that creativity and critical thinking is involved every day. Writer's Workshopmis amazing - he has written so many amazing stories already. The teachers ar wonderful and the staff is caring and supportive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2013

Barnhart is a special school, in that it is small and can really focus on each child....classroom sizes are small---around 18-20 kids a class! my kids of really flourished there...they are confident and academically solid. most of all they are just happy amazing kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2013

We enrolled our son at Barnhart years ago as a Kindergartner, then our daughter 2 years later. We loved the school; the families, the students, the teachers and the staff... until after the 2011-2012 school year. The wonderful Head of School, Joe Harper, was fired, along with many other incredible administrative staff like Carol Reiter, the librarian Mrs. Yao and many others who made Barnhart what it was. In their place, enter Ethan Williamson, a man brought in to "transform" the school... and "transform" he did... he co-authored a 5-year "strategic plan" to market Barnhart and enforced a "communications policy" which prohibited any speech of which he didn't approve. Violation carries the punishment of "separation from the community." And Barnhart Board thinks this will help improve enrollment?! No thanks. We spoke up against Williamson's attempts to enforce a draconian policy for caring for our diabetic daughter who had been a member of the Barnhart community for years. The result? Immediate expulsion! No, I am not kidding. Williamson didn't like our "tone, tenor or word choice" and threw our innocent kids out of the school. Needless to say, we do not recommend Barnhart School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2013

My daughter has attended Barnhart for 4 years now. I live the curriculum. Barnhart is a family oriented school that focuses in the whole child and not just math and reading. The environment is very nurturing. The staff is friendly and caring. I love the values program they teach in chapel. My daughter is very happy at Barnhart and I am do proud I made the right choice for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2013

Barnhart used to be a great school. Amazing families, teachers, staff and administration. The families are still amazing, but unfortunately after the 2011-2012 school year the board purged the school of nearly ever member of the faculty and staff who made the school what it was. They brought in a new Head of School, Ethan Williamson, who thinks he is the new sheriff in town. He imposed a new "communications policy" which prohibits virtually any dissent and demands that parents not communicate about the school unless he approves. The whole thing is Orwellian. The result is a place in no way reflective of the values or togetherness that made us choose it for our kids years ago. Williamson has fostered a PR machine that is dedicated to bolstering enrollment and, once you are there, expect to be milked for every dollar they can extract. We are no longer at Barnhart, and we would recommend you not be either. Most of the positive reviews you see were posted at the behest of the school to improve their public perception. Don't buy it. Check out many of the amazing schools a stone's throw away from Barnhart and you will be pleasantly surprised.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Barnhart has been such a positive experience for my son. Transferring in from public school at the elementary level could have been very difficult, but my son's teacher made the transition a very smooth one. We came here for the academics, but have come away with so much more. Between the dedicated art room, a veteran music and drama teacher who is a stellar educator, to the excellent Virtues program, we are extremely pleased with our choice of Barnhart. This private school is much less expensive than other area schools, and offers a very well rounded program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2013

This is my daughter's 2nd year at Barnhart. We transferred to the school after moving across the country and finding the public school down the street wasn't the right fit. High points for this school: Barnhart's parent involvement, sense of community, value-based learning, and academic focus. Teachers are talented, committed and caring. Smaller classes allow for consistent contact with her teacher and has allowed me to help with homework struggles to provide consistency between home and school. There is P.E. every day; a huge help in allowing kids to be focused and ready in the classroom. The school uses Everyday Math curriculum, which has been an interesting and beneficial change for my daughter. Writer's workshop is fantastic! The homework level is significant in content, but not overwhelming in quantity. Teachers are flexible, so that if a child has questions or wants to explore a different angle, there is time to do so. Children get loads of presentation time in front of peers beginning in Kindergarten, so by the time they leave 8th grade they are confident presenters and comfortably curious learners. This school is an amazing value at a reasonable tuition rate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2012

We are the parents of two children currently attending Barnhart, both of which are in their formulative years. Barnhart is a wonderful school with a new, insightful Head of School, a warm, caring Administration, and EXCELLENT Teachers. The school offers a Values program that is based on it's core values of Intelligence, Integrity and Involvement...qualities that instill confidence, discipline and leadership to the children. Barnhart has a remarkable support base in the families that attend the school, and we are so grateful to be a part of this warm, caring community. Our children often attend the aftercare Bobcats program which is well supervised by a caring Staff. It is very comforting to know they are in such good hands all day!!! Overall, we are so pleased we made the choice to place our children at Barnhart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2012

Our son is a third grader at Barnhart School. We initially chose Barnhart for a variety of reasons, including the value offered, since Barnhart's programs are clearly as good as if not better than many other independent and parochial schools in the area, and because the community was so warm and down-to-earth. But the choice has turned out even better than we expected!! We are so proud and pleased with all the positive experiences we've had, and we are excited about the direction Barnhart is headed. He has made lifelong friends from among the diverse students in his class, and many parents have become our friends. Our son's teaches have been excellent, the class sizes are small (16 per teacher), the academic programs dive deeply into the subject matter and stimulate critical thinking, and the values program teaches and honors children for developing a good moral character. We believe our son is benefiting tremendously from his education and we are so happy to be a part of the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2012

A Great Community School with the bonus of a Fantastic Academic Program As we searched for schools years back, Barnhart stood out amongst the rest because of the tightknit community. We were immediately embraced as part of the Barnhart family made up of fantastic teachers, faculty and parents. Of all the schools, Barnhart felt the most balanced of all programs where academics are stressed but the personal character of each child is also focused on. We re now at our 4th year at Barnhart and continue to be impressed. Our Writer s Workshop and Everyday Math programs are key strengths of our academics. Also, the Music and Arts programs are outstanding. We also have one of the best afterschool care programs that offers additional activities such as Chess Club, Mandarin and Robotics. We will continue to be a part of the community for years to come as we have another daughter starting Kindergarten in another few years, and we couldn t be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2012

This is our 9th year at Barnhart and we continue to be pleased with the school. Our 2 boys have completely different learning styles and both have thrived at Barnhart. The one that has learning challenges has been treated with respect and has been supported through his difficult years. He now loves school and his teachers, and is doing well. Our other student is given more challenging work when needed and encouraged to work ahead. The community of families is amazing and supports the staff and teachers whole heartedly. The teachers are absolutely amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2012

Barnhart is a lovely school and a great value for the money. Best of all, my kid is happy, challenged and thriving at Barnhart. My child was new at Barnhart this year and the other students were incredibly kind and welcoming. It's been such a positive experience thus far. The teachers are involved and care about the children. The only drawback is a lack of a gym (there is a field and basketball courts). Overall, we are really happy with Barnhart and we'd choose it again! Lastly, the school just hired a new Headmaster and we look forward to his arrival in the Fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2011

I have 2 children at Barnhart, 5 years apart. In the past 8 years, I have experienced a school that was willing to thoughtfully grow, learn and take the sometimes challenging road of implementing best practices and updated curriculum to support our childrens learning goals. Teachers implemented new curriculum with enthusiam and confidence...and the children are showing academic gains because of this. The academic staff is truly invested in each child academic achievement; approaching each child with multimodal learning opportunities, adding supports when needed, and maintaining communication with engaged parents. They do this while also encouraging, demonstrating and guiding the children to be good people who know how to work well together. I am even more certain today that we made the right decision 9 years ago to send our children to Barnhart. I would certainly choose this school all over again!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2011

Barnhart is a phenomenal school. Our daughter just graduated from this school and is going to her top choice of high schools next year. She has succeeded at Barnhart because of the exemplary teachers, staff and administrators. I know that we could have paid double for a similar private school in the area and she would have gotten the same education and she would be going to the same high school next year. I feel like I got a great value for the money I spent and my daughter was supported emotionally and academically throughout the years. Cant say enough good stuff about Barnhart. We look forward to seeing the school succeed with its new leadership next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2011

Barnhart is simply fantastic. The new head of school is wonderful, completely involved and knows the kids. The teachers are good at educating the all of the kids, not just the highly academic ones. They have breakouts for math and reading starting at 4th grade. Plus they have a phenomenal sports program. Best of all the kids get into some of the best high schools in the area. I love this school, and with a new administration it is even better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

Barnhart is a wonderful school! The education is exemplary and I can say this with certainty now. As my family is having to relocate out of state, my son was required to take a placement test at his new potential school. He scored way above average (national and local) in math, reading, comprehension and writing. It is truly a testament to the great work they do at Barnhart that he has been able to take what he's learned and apply it out there with ease. We greatly value not only the education but the community that they surround their families with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2011

As a long time parent at Barnhart I have seen the old and the new leadership and I must say that the academics and extracurricular activities have improved greatly over the years. Barnhart has fantastic academics focusing on Writers Workshop and a new phenominal math program. Barnhart offers Art, Computers,Music, Spainish and Physical Education. It is a reasonably priced independent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2011

Full of cliques, no extracurricular activity, average academics, bad teacher quality, incredibly small campus... you should rather send your kid to a public school than THIS. The Director runs the show...............
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 38% 26%
Two or more races 35% 3%
Black 6% 6%
Hispanic 6% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Italian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • CAIS Accreditation (2012)
  • WASC Accreditation (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:55 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Ethan Williamson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • www.barnhartschool.org
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (626) 574-3316

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • High School Counseling
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Run Fall Festival & Movie Nights
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
St. Marks Elementary School
Hastings Ranch Nursery School
Our School

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$10000 - $13000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Merit Scholarships (San Gabriel Valley Scholars Program)

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
La Salle High School
Flintridge Preparatory School
Loyola High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

240 West Colorado Boulevard
Arcadia, CA 91007
Website: Click here
Phone: (626) 566-2300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Bethany Christian School
Sierra Madre, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT