Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public
Arcata, CA
Students enrolled: 475

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pacific Union Elementary School 3

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
As much as I find PU charming, I find it terrifyingly lacking in technology! Many of my child's teachers tend to shy away from learning new skills. When are they going to join the modern age? Art and gardening is lovely, but there also needs to be up-to-date computing skills taught as well!

Pacific Union Elementary School 2

Posted March 21, 2014
- a parent
"No child left behind," is not currently a well upheld standard here. This school focuses on academic competitiveness and does little to help students that need extra support. No child's cry for help should go unanswered, even if those cries are silent. It is a teacher's duty to be that child's voice; the child who's obviously struggling and can't ask for help. Gift to the children a fighting chance, instead of turning a blind eye.


Pacific Union Elementary School 5

Posted October 25, 2012
- a parent
The staff at this school (principals, superintendent, most teachers) go above and beyond for the kids. They are strict but compassionate, and give a lot of individualized attention. For a larger public school is genuinely amazing. I keep my daughter in smaller charter schools for years thinking that would be the best possible environment, and learned that I was wrong, and wished she had been at this school from the beginning! She was struggling with academics, attitude, and other teenage problems and this school has completely turned her around most importantly with compassion and still allowing her to be herself. They have happily dedicated their lives to helping children and families and are practical and caring enough to succeed at it.

Pacific Union Elementary School 5

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Pacific Union Elementary School 1

Posted January 09, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Pacific Union Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Great school with great teachers!!!

Pacific Union Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2008
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Pacific Union Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Pacific Union Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Pacific Union Elementary School 4

Posted July 14, 2008
- a parent
We have been to several schools in several states. This is by far my favorite. Great overall staff and family participation.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pacific Union Elementary School
3001 Janes Road, Arcata, CA  95521
(707) 822-4619
Last modified Pacific Union Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pacific Union Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top