Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Coastal Grove Charter School 5

Posted May 15, 2016
- a parent
Coastal Grove offers a Waldorf inspired experience for our children. They follow a curriculum that allows for experiences in nature, with an emphasis on creativity and teamwork as well as academic instruction. Spanish, music and handwork are all taught. This school is not right for every child, as it is very academically challenging with a lot of freedom for originality and expression. The children that thrive in this type of environment will be prepared for college upon graduating 8th grade. I love our school!

Coastal Grove Charter School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 15, 2016
- a parent
Jenny Rushby at Coastal Grove Charter School is an amazing teacher. She is sweet but stern and manages her class like a trooper. Her tireless energy with our children inspires me every time I observe her in the classroom. I am grateful for all that she does everyday to help our kids excel.


Coastal Grove Charter School 2

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
This school does not include any of the cultural diversity that waldorf embraces. They may read a book with some brown people in it but that is the extent of their practice. All the staff is white with the exception of the cafeteria lady - which is not stereotypical at all right? And don't forget the white Spanish teacher who can't pronounce Spanish words accurately, what a stellar representation of cultural competence! While I don't know about the grow families, your kids will be surrounded by other kids who aren't parented with any bounderies, so you can look forward to that. I also agree with the previous post about Bettina. My youngest daughter is in a class that is nearly ALL boys, most of whom are continually disruptive- thanks administration what a fabulous idea! And don't forget as the principal Bettina is responsible for hiring her completely homogenous staff. It's really a shame. If you want a bunch of hippies, preaching diversity without actually practicing it, you'll love this school. Otherwise keep looking.

Coastal Grove Charter School 3

Posted September 17, 2014
- a parent
Feels like the Waldorf Dogma actually hurts more than helps at this school. Instead of creating a gateway to a more natural life, the "natural principle" is like a set of blinders over the teachers eyes, and a small picket shrub that defines a boundary that the families would like to stay within. Also, like previous reviews mentioned, this school should be called "Coastal Growers" If you aren't part of the grow scene then good luck fitting in. As if you wanted to.

Coastal Grove Charter School 1

Posted June 20, 2014
- a parent
Coastal Grove is nowhere near the quality of a true Waldorf educational experience. Bettina, the school director, a self professed 'fun sponge,' has a poor demeanor, frightens the children, and seems only concerned with the money coming into her school. The classrooms are a study in over stimulation (which is ok in the school's eyes since the stimulation doesn't come from a tv screen), chaos, and inconsistency. The school tries to do too much, consequently, it does nothing well. The specialty teachers are all right, but in the end they just add to the chaos. The resource program is there in name only. If you have a child that has any special needs at all, you had better be prepared to fight tooth and nail for them. There are lots of grow families there, to each their own, I guess. It does add a seediness to the culture of the school.


Coastal Grove Charter School 2

Posted May 08, 2014
- a parent
Coastal Grove presents a mediocre interpretation of Waldorf methods. It is the only Waldorf choice in Humboldt County so you get what you get I guess. My kids (and I have 3 so I have a good sample pool) previously attended another Waldorf methods Charter School before moving here that was much truer to the Waldorf methods. At Coastal Grove the rooms aren't painted to reflect the Waldorf colors, they don't have the high level art supplies typically used in Waldorf (seriously where's the beeswax???) and the teachers do not stay with their classes as they age up. You'll have 1 teacher for K, another for 1st-3rd, another for 4th & 5th and then another for 6th-8th. Fine if that's what you want, but Coastal Grove is definitely a watered down expression of Waldorf methods. And don't forget all the grow families here...there's a lot! Be mindful who your kids are hanging with. On the bright side my kids like their teachers and they have many of the same songs and stories, but the richness and depth of Waldorf is lost at this school. More is the pity, Waldorf is an amazing, all encompassing, and magical educational experience when done correctly.

Coastal Grove Charter School 5

Posted January 22, 2013
- a parent
Coastal Grove is probably one of the best schools in the nation. The school is heavily focused on the well being and nurturance of the child as well as academic rigor through Waldorf Methodology The students are learning to use their full brain potential through the gentle and academically balanced programs. The handwork, music, movement, PE, and Spanish classes are a huge bonus. Not only do the students get exposure to all these extra-curricular classes several times a week all year- their teachers get a break and are assisted by the extra staff who teach the classes. Bettina is an outstanding, thorough and caring director. After having my children at a very public, outdated school with a horrible principal/superintendent here in Northern Humboldt I am so relieved to know they are being well taken care of by Bettina and her outstanding staff. Ms. Katie Smith-Caggiano is absolutely amazing. She is so kind, stern and academically thorough. Thank you to this incredible school. Everyone in the world would be so lucky to grow up with an education like this.

Coastal Grove Charter School 5

Posted October 09, 2010
- a parent
We love our school! It's a public charter school integrating Waldorf methods...very special in every way!


Coastal Grove Charter School
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
We have a wonderful program that includes specialties like handwork, Spanish and violin. Our children do lots of beautiful artwork while learning the essentials. We also have a wonderful (nearly) organic snack and lunch program, all cooked fresh each day on site.

Coastal Grove Charter School
no rating

Posted October 31, 2008
- a parent
Terrific school for a caring, artistic and whole child education!!!

Nearby schools

Coastal Grove Charter School
1897 S Street, Arcata, CA  95521-5474
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (707) 825-8804
Last modified Coastal Grove Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top