Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Arleta, CA
Students enrolled: 830
Before care: No
 

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sharp Avenue Elementary School 2

Posted August 17, 2012
- a community member
All I remember about this school is when I was in 1st or 2nd grade and Mr. Goldberg pinched my cheek and dragged me into the next class to show the teacher and the whole class that I had cut a few strands of my own hair with scissors they just passed out to us. It was 45 years ago and to this day if I ever saw Mr. Goldberg I would punch him in the head, multiple times. Other than that and the fact that it was full of wild kids it was OK.

Sharp Avenue Elementary School 3

Posted August 16, 2012
- a parent
My daughter just started kindergarten, not sure if I like this school. I will give it a try.


Sharp Avenue Elementary School 2

Posted November 28, 2011
- a parent
Ditto on the office staff. When I walk in the the office I have to address the staff, trying to make eye contact and get there attention is a task. My child attended a couple of years ago. I hope they have made changes since my daughter has left. The office staff is an idicator of the atmoshere for the entire school, its all about first impressions. My advise, how about setting an example for the kids.

Sharp Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted April 28, 2011
- a community member
I agree with the comment regarding the office staff! They are rude and they're only nice when they want! The offfice needs a change of staff and principal as well!

Sharp Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted June 24, 2010
- a parent
Office staff is horrible, they are not freindly, they are rude, seemed bothered by parents asking them any kind of questions. I attended Sharp Avenue Elementary in the 80's from k-6 and it is very upsetting to see how the people who make the first impression on parents and or visitors are bad mannered and rude. I remember how caring and loving the Office staff was to everyone when I attended there. SO SAD SAD SAD. Hope you Ladies are replaced SOON.


Sharp Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted October 17, 2009
- a parent
The School is academically good. They do what they can with what is giving to them by the district. It is parents who don't participate, or help out at home to help their children improve their learning. There is 1 teacher for 24 students. They can only teach them so much. Besides, the district keeps adding more things for children to learn per grade. Making it tougher on the staff. Less teachers, more curriculum. So parents need to step it up and help at home. With reading, math, English. So the school is quite well run by the principal and teachers.

Sharp Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted October 09, 2009
- a community member
not a good school. too many students. some teachers are great, though.

Sharp Avenue Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted June 29, 2009
- a parent
Sharp is a great school . Parents are always welcome at Sharp .All three of my kids attended Sharp .


Sharp Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted May 03, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Sharp Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted April 01, 2008
- a parent
This school is the worst, I rather pay for prviate school then to deal with this public day care.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sharp Avenue Elementary School
13800 Pierce Street, Arleta, CA  91331
(818) 896-9573
Last modified Sharp Avenue Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sharp Avenue Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top