Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ocean View Elementary School 5

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
Ocean View classes are small and the teachers are wonderful. Being a parent of an Ocean Biew student gives you a sense of community. Every single staff member is friendly and there to help and above all they truly care about the kids and seeing them not only succeed but be ahead of the educational expectation. I wouldn't want my kids anywhere else!

Ocean View Elementary School 1

Posted February 09, 2015
- a parent
This school district pays the least compared to San Luis Obispo & Santa Maria. Therefore: it tends to attract less qualified teachers. The parent involvement is strong. The management leaves a lot to be desired. While the principal is running around snapping photos to post on FaceBook a lot of important issues are left undone.


Ocean View Elementary School 5

Posted June 17, 2014
- a parent
Best school on the Central Coast because of the high staff and parent involvement. Wouldn't go anywhere else.

Ocean View Elementary School 5

Posted June 14, 2014
- a parent
Ocean View is a wonderful school with great teachers, a great principal, great kids and great parents. It is unfortunate negative people say things on here when they don't know what they are talking about. To the negative nellies...take YOUR bullying somewhere else.

Ocean View Elementary School 1

Posted May 30, 2014
- a parent
2 lock downs due to a student in the past month and the school refuses to answer any questions about it. Very dissatisfied with the response of the principal. This school also has major bullying problems that begin with the principal. Bad attitudes spread fast especially when they're coming from the top.


Ocean View Elementary School 5

Posted August 10, 2013
- a parent
Oceanview is the best! The teachers are dedicated and involved. The PTA works hard to enrich the students education. The students are very lucky to have such a wonderful school.

Ocean View Elementary School 5

Posted February 10, 2013
- a parent
We moved into the district at the end of the school year last year. I have always been very involved in my children's school. I found Ocean View to be very welcoming and very open to parent involvement! I appreciate that the PTA at Ocean View is supportive of the students and staff.

Ocean View Elementary School 3

Posted October 23, 2012
- a parent
The Teachers are good and seem to care about the children. The PTA is however very clicky and pretty much allowed to do what they want regardless of whether the offend other parents in the process. At this point, I am very unsatisfied with this school and will be seeking an inter-district transfer for my child next year. This is my child's second year at Ocean View and the first year was great; however, one year of dealing with this new PTA is enough.... looking very forward to next year at a new school


Ocean View Elementary School 1

Posted August 19, 2012
- a community member
First off there are some really great teachers here! The problem is this school is probably the nicest elementary school in the area. What I mean by this is that most of the "upper class" students come here. Which when I attended I noticed that they were snobby and if you did not look a certain way you would either be laughed at or ignored. This is coming from an average A-B student, middle class (I never attended a private school) and a former "chubby" girl. Another thing is the curriculum; which I found was not very good. I have since lived in Pennsylvania. I found that when I moved to Pa that I was unprepared and I was behind everyone else (Same when I later moved to Georgia). Granted I caught up but I feel I could have done better had I went to a school with a stronger curriculum.

Ocean View Elementary School 5

Posted January 11, 2007
- a parent
Coming from a private school in LA, our expectations were high and we've really enjoyed seeing our daughter thrive at Oceanview. The principal sets a great standard and the staff we've worked with have been nurturing, kind and inspiring. Thank you!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ocean View Elementary School
1208 Linda Drive, Arroyo Grande, CA  93420-2466
(805) 474-3730
Last modified Ocean View Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ocean View Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top