Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Las Lomitas Elementary School 5

Posted March 02, 2013
- a parent
Recalling my own past experiences with your typical public school, this is a phenomenal school with great teachers and amazing resources. Given the current paucity of state-provided educational funding, this is in large part due to the heavy involvement (and generosity) of the Las Lomitas community. I am very happy that my children attend this school and grateful that they will receive a first-rate education.

Las Lomitas Elementary School 1

Posted February 05, 2011
- a parent
Factory for test takers and followers. Overated but probably above average compared to other public schools in CA, which are not that impressive.


Las Lomitas Elementary School 2

Posted January 30, 2011
- a parent
Pulling my kids out of this school. Testing taking skills and doing crafts all day are not the only things they will need to succeed in HS, college, or life. Too many students per classroom, esp. at the K-2 grades where they need more attention.

Las Lomitas Elementary School 5

Posted June 09, 2010
- a parent
Highest marks. Las Lomitas school is a remarkable place for children to grow and learn. When my daughter was a little behind in reading in First Grade she was immediately placed in an extraordinary reading program. By the end of the semester she was reading at the top of her grade level. She also loved the teachers who, I agree, are truly remarkable educators.

Las Lomitas Elementary School 5

Posted October 12, 2009
- a parent
We were initially worried that the school's great test scores might be the result of an overemphasis on rote memorization, homework and test taking. But we are finding the homework to be totally manageable and the classrooms are full of creativity, fun and real thinking. The teachers have been fantastic -- 3 of 4 have been 10/10. They have gotten to know our kids well and help them learn a ton while still making it really fun and building on their natural love of learning. The PTA does a great job with extracurriculars and great events and field trips. The administration keeps things running efficiently like a well oiled machine. The AM vs PM shifts are great for smaller group instruction. All schools should do that. Bus service is a great bonus. Kids are loving Las Lomitas. Us too.


Las Lomitas Elementary School 5

Posted June 17, 2009
- a parent
Las Lomitas Elementary is excellent. Great kids/students, awesome teachers, super faculty & staff, and parents/volunteers all work together very well.

Las Lomitas Elementary School 5

Posted November 23, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Las Lomitas Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 20, 2008
- a parent
I read the April 30th post and wanted to provide a slightly different point of view. I have two children in the school, and this is our fourth year in attendance. I have found the homework to be very manageable, across the six different teachers we have had, and not much different than what my friends are experiencing in other public schools in Menlo Park and Palo Alto.


Las Lomitas Elementary School 3

Posted April 30, 2008
- a parent
Las Lomitas is fine as long as you can keep up the party line. The school requires a great deal of home work be done even in K-1 and the teachers shift a large amount of the burden onto the parents. You will hear that 'you are the child's first and best teacher' so often that it becomes disturbing. Our youngster became so stressed about making mistakes that the pediatrician became worried. We did not share the enthusiasm for the school that pervades the area. If you get concerned about how your child is treated then please take comfort in knowing you are not alone.

Las Lomitas Elementary School 5

Posted May 03, 2007
- a parent
Las Lomitas has an excellent faculty, excellent students, excellent extracurricular programs, and parents who are committed to their child's success.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Las Lomitas Elementary School
299 Alameda De Las Pulgas, Atherton, CA  94027
(650) 854-5900
Last modified Las Lomitas Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-3. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Las Lomitas Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top