Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Aileen Colburn Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 05, 2009
- a parent
I feel that Mr. Gonzalez, along with the entire staff at Aileen Colburn, go above and beyond the call of duty when it comes to forming relationships with students and parents. Mr. Gonzalez spends every morning and afternoon shaking hands with parents, getting to know each one on a more personal basis. That is not something you easily find at any other school.

Aileen Colburn Elementary School 4

Posted July 31, 2008
- a parent
Since the new principal came to this school alot has improved. He is very involved with the students and parents. Also he has implemented new rules that help the school run smoother.


Aileen Colburn Elementary School 2

Posted April 21, 2007
- a parent
I think that this school needs to start focusing on the students needs!It is sad to see the CST and API scores so low in comparison to the other schools!The students are being cheated out of having a good education and advancing towards a better future!

Aileen Colburn Elementary School 4

Posted January 12, 2006
- a parent
I love my son's teacher. She is very competent. I am disappointed in the way the office handles activities and events. I rarely have enough notice of upcoming events. I don't see the principal around or hear much about him. I haven't heard much news about other teachers. The children all seem active and behaved. I don't know much about any extracurricular activities. But I think the academic program is sufficient. My son enjoys his teacher and his class. I think that is good.

Aileen Colburn Elementary School 4

Posted August 09, 2005
- a parent
Very good school. A principal that cares and dedicated teachers and an excellent office staff.


Aileen Colburn Elementary School 5

Posted April 19, 2005
- a parent
This school did not have a very good reputation before but now with the principal that is there now, this is a great school. My kids are doing better than they ever had and they really like their teachers and the principal.

Aileen Colburn Elementary School 2

Posted August 16, 2004
- a parent
Understanding how teachers and Administration struggle with inside politics is extremely over whelming for parents. Alleen Collberg is just one of the schools in the Atwater Elementary School District that is subject to neglect when it comes to administering quality education to our children. It is a disgrace and an overwhelming disappointment to have knowledge of the substandard education my children will be offered along with unacceptable attitudes about our communities children is offending. It is apparent that this district needs to acknowledge, as well as, accept today s diverse children in order to build successful citizens for the future.

Aileen Colburn Elementary School 2

Posted February 23, 2004
- a parent
Aileen Colburn is a school in need of great improvement. The staff at this school are not sensitive to childrens needs. The children in this school are extremely out of hand and need strict disipline which is not provided by this school. The teachers try hard to teach these children but the test scores are always below state average. I believe this school needs to look into a new principle and office staff. A person does not get the feeling of a caring school invironment when you talk with the office staff or the principle. If the children felt like they meant something to this school then they would want to do better.

Nearby schools

Aileen Colburn Elementary School
2201 Heller Street, Atwater, CA  95301-3438
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (209) 357-6136
Last modified Aileen Colburn Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top