Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Atwater, CA
Students enrolled: 519
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Elmer Wood Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2014
- a parent
My two children have attended Elmerwood. My eldest went for kinder-6th and my daughter has been there since k-1 and now in 2nd grade. I have no complains about the school. Love the principal, teachers and staff (after school program helpers) I notice a great difference between my kids and my nephews who attend other schools in the area like Aileen Colburn, Mitchell k-6 and Bellevue school. My kids are by far so much more advanced and in lower grades.

Elmer Wood Elementary School 5

Posted June 15, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is in K1 and she loves school, teacher, and friends. Mrs. L does a great job of teaching and encouraging all her students. She is kind The principal is awesome. Mrs. Nelson is very interactive with her students. Overall, when I drop off my child I know she is safe, learning, and being treated fairly.


Elmer Wood Elementary School 2

Posted May 21, 2014
- a parent
This school does not support parents. The Principal is overly focused on teachers/staff rights and opposed to parental concerns. The Principal does not take parental concerns seriously. I would definitely think twice about letting your child go to this school. There are other schools to choose from in this district that far outweigh the level of support at this one.

Elmer Wood Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2012
- a parent
Elmer Wood is a great school. My son loves this school. The teachers are really very helpful and they care about their students. The principal is very nice. My son Paul is in K-1. He likes his teacher. Miss Livinal works hard to help her students to achieve their academic goals. Keep it up! God bless this school.

Elmer Wood Elementary School 3

Posted April 24, 2012
- a parent
learning would be easier if the school wasnt broke like the rest of ca schools. no textbooks to bring home?? wth? kids HAVE to memorize the entire days lessons to do the homework. No parents in the class to help troulbed students? WTH?? Need to change teachers or the leadership.


Elmer Wood Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2012
- a parent
Great school! The kids are given agendas at the beginning of the year to write their homework in. I believe if you ask the principal you as a parent could help out in the classroom. I know first hand this school does not take bullying lightly. My daughter was bullied by 2 students & I emailed the principal in the morning & it was taken care of & the other parents were notified by that afternoon. The more parents that would get involved the better the school would be. We can't parents to help on the parent club board or volunteer a limitless time. Just like every other thing that's volunteer, you have 20% of the people doing 80% of the work. If you want things to improve then volunteer & help implement changes. I have one child that went K-6th there & one child that has gone K-4th & will be there the next 2 years. Love this school!!!

Elmer Wood Elementary School 5

Posted December 10, 2011
- a parent
Great school with great teachers who actually get excited for their school and their students. I'm not sure about the previous comment, sounds like perhaps an isolated incident, but Elmer Wood is routinely rated the best school in Atwater.

Elmer Wood Elementary School 1

Posted November 01, 2011
- a community member
worst school ever. i know people who've never had problems till they get to that school they have lots of problems. the teachers pick on the students and if bullying is going on the teacher don't do anything about it


Elmer Wood Elementary School 5

Posted January 13, 2009
- a parent
I have a son who graduated high school in june who went thru elmerwood K thru 6 he said all thru school teachers always commented that they could tell which kids came from elmerwood because they were always so smart & ready to learn .My youngest is in 5th grade now & is doing wonderful!!Thank you elmerwood staff

Elmer Wood Elementary School 4

Posted August 20, 2008
- a parent
great school and the kids love the short schedule on thursdays

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Elmer Wood Elementary School
1271 West Bellevue Road, Atwater, CA  95301
(209) 357-6143
Last modified Elmer Wood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Elmer Wood Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top