Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Skyridge Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 25, 2014

My children went to this school for 6 years. Horrible teaching, bad attitudes, wasted years was the norm. I ended up "home schooling" every evening to get them through their homework. Finally left after severe bullying to one child, and a teacher so horrible my youngest would often be shaking and crying after school. As for the PTC, they very publicly fired their president one year, no crime or anything committed. I truly do not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2013

My children have been at this school since 2006. I think the current leadership is the best a parent could hope for. Imagine trying to run a business and not being able to fire your worst employees. Imagine. Bill and Melinda Gates couldn't imagine it and thats why they no longer support public (union ) schools. I only wish Jenn Lewandowski had been the principle when my children started. I tell everyone I know in my community that they should take another look at Skyridge. My guess is the unhappy teachers were miserable to begin with. To bad we couldn't clone The Maxwells.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2013

We moved to Auburn 4 years ago and Skyridge had a 9 rating, now a 6. We loved the modern campus and it is kept pretty clean. The problem is that there has been three principals in 4 years which has lead to too many changes. Every teacher has to implement the same field trips for each grade level- poor decision. Seems like the teachers are very unhappy with the changes too. Lunch program is awful with no healthy changes in site. Since all the other schools in the area score so high, I would definitely take a look at other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2012

We are very happy to have both of our girls attend this school. We choose to travel across town in order for our kids to attend this fantastic school and community. The PTC is incredible and, and parent involvement is awesome. The principle is very engaging and also demonstrates strong leadership and vision. The entire staff is committed and dedicated to enriching the life of every student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2012

I've had children at Skyridge since 2004 and I've continually been impressed at the dedication of the teachers, parents, and principals (there have been three over the years my kids have been there). The teachers do an excellent job of teaching the required state standards, while also incorporating art, music, and physical education. Considering the current economic climate, the school is making the best of a difficult situation: handling cuts in funding in a way that impacts the kids as minimally as possible. It's too bad there are no regular education aides, but that's not any fault of the school or the teachers: there just isn't money for them. The Skyridge parents are making a huge effort to offset the budget cuts by fundraising and volunteering in the classroom and in the PTC. Because of the parents, Skyridge can offer many enrichment activities and programs including educational assemblies, the Running School fitness program, and the beautiful Life Lab (school garden). My kids have received an excellent education at Skyridge and have enjoyed its positive climate. I'm grateful to all at Skyridge for their hard work and dedication to kids and learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2011

The new principal is horribly disengaged and dismisses any parental concerns. There continues to be a void of leadership. You may get lucky and get a good teacher or not...they do whatever they want without recourse. I can't wait to pull my child out of this school when a better option becomes available. They are so concerned with getting their numbers for funding-maybe focus on attending to the students you already have first. Another example of why public schools are failing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2011

Starting off another excellent year with a new principal and so far I am quite impressed. I am thrilled with my daughter's new teacher and so is she. I still see a lot of parents giving their time in the classroom and it's great to partner with everyone at Skyridge. I really feel like my daughter is getting a well rounded education - she has excelled in all her subjects and looks forward to learning. Keep up the great work Skyridge teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2011

My daughter has been at this school for 2 years, this will be her last. I was so happy to be in the Skyridge zoning when she started K, but then they dropped the K-8 and went back to K-5. We do not want our children going to EV Cain so a K-8 was very important to us. We did love Skyridge last year....this year not so much. I feel that Skyridge is perceived as something it is not. There is no money in this school. The library is only open 1 day a week for the entire school and there are NO aides to help these teachers with anything. I am aware that the other 2 elementary schools in this district have aides and open libraries. The class size is too big this year and I fear what it will look like in the future. I feel the PTC will get better in the coming year now that the HORRIBLE president has been dethroned. All in all I believe this school needs so much help. Not just with parents helping. These teachers wont make it through much longer at the rate it is going. The principal's main concern this year was the parking lot!!!!! I know in CA there isnt much to work with, but something has to happen. I am excited to join a charter school next year out of district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2011

Although I loved the teacher that my child had, there wasn't much else I liked about this school. My biggest problem was that there were no aids in the classroom. The layout is confusing for small children, the parking lot is horrendous and the parents tend to be a little on the trashy side. I was happy to pull my child out of this school and enroll him in a local charter school that is light-years ahead of Skyridge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2008

Skyridge is an excellent school. Unfortunately They are closing Alta Vista, another Auburn school, and Skyridge will be changing a lot next year. More kids, more grades. We'll see what happens. It might make the school even better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

Skyridge elementary is a very good school. The level of parent involvement is high and the PTC(even with the tight budget constraints) helps to provide many activities for the kids and parents to participate in. There are also quite a few after school classes to sign up for including art, choir, and physical ed. There's a reader's program called Passport to reading that rewards children with prizes for reading a lot of books. There's a noontime activity called Trekkers where kids get credit for running laps around the field and, in additon to some small prizes, they are rewarded with staying in good physical shape. The teachers are all wonderful as well and encourage the children to work hard and learn while making school fun. Our principal is always available and is seen around the school frequently talking to the kids. My kids are very happy here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2005

Its a bit early in the school year, but my first grader is excited to go to school everday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

My older son went to Skyridge K-5 and my younger son started in K and now is in 3rd grade. The entire staff from teachers to janitors are wonderful. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

848

Change from
2012 to 2013

+14

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

848

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+14

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students58%
Females59%
Males57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learner45%
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate33%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)60%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students56%
Females56%
Males57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino31%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner36%
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate25%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students50%
Females43%
Males54%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino19%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only53%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented79%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate36%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)46%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate58%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students69%
Females62%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate64%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate63%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Females77%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students74%
Females77%
Males71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students69%
Females72%
Males67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate83%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate68%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students75%
Females75%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate75%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)60%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students68%
Females64%
Males71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate75%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate81%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 74%
Hispanic 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2%
Asian 2%
Black 2%
Two or more races 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/AN/A
English language learners 11%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

800 Perkins Way
Auburn, CA 95603
Phone: (530) 885-7019

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT