Students enrolled 662
School leader Victoria Velasquez
District Azusa Unified School District
Before school Yes
After school Yes

Contact this school

700 West 11th Street
Azusa, CA 91702

School website
(626) 815-4800
(626) 815-5531
Nearby homes for sale
Map of Victor F. Hodge Elementary School address.

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school

November 22, 2013
This school is nothing short of amazing. The teachers genuinely care about their students and work very hard to see them succeed. They have high expectations for student behavior and for academic progress. If a student is struggling, teachers will work to help them improve. For advanced students, the teachers also try to keep them ahead instead of just sitting back and letting them waste a year. The principal Mrs. Velasquez is very friendly and very approachable. One thing I would like to see is for the school to have the same principle for a while. Too many changes recently and the school could use a vice principal since there are so many students to attend to. But overall, I highly recommend the school

- submitted by a parent
October 25, 2013
Hodge is the best elementary school in the Azusa district. My son was student body president last year(2012-2013). I'm so proud of him! Now I have a kindergartner headed for success too. Go cougars!!!!! :)

- submitted by a parent
April 27, 2013
My daugter is part of the dual Spanish emersion program at this school and it really is amazing. The dual emersion program gives these students such an excellent opportunity to be bilingual at such a young age. The teachers are excellent and give their students valuable and challenging school work. I just love how involved the principle is and everyday I feel like she is among the students as a guide and role model. Im so happy we got to be part of this great school.

- submitted by a parent
March 21, 2013
One has only the read the plethora of comments here by former students to see just how bad this school is. Look at all of their grammatical errors. I am a lifelong resident of Azusa. I have watched as the schools went down the drain from the 1980s on.

- submitted by a community member
December 10, 2012
my first grader is bored in class has a 3 grade reading lvl teacher does not care gave me more stuff for him to do at home gave him avg report but told me he is above avg and has him help other kids in class went to Principal when i could finallly find her a she gave me place on the internet for at home they dont care teacher cares more about art then math and history

- submitted by a parent
February 10, 2012
Victor Hodge is one of the best of best schools in the district.With an API score of 834 the teachers here care and help you prepare for grades above and the most famous test,CST.This school is a champion with several track champhion ships.Making it good in sports and in academic. I know personally. Because, I've been their five years and moving to 6 th. Having some of the best memories there.You meet the best teachers there:Mr.Murphy-4th grade teacher and Mr.Miranda. -my 5 th grade teacher.They are very good people. Also great role models.

- submitted by a community member
February 06, 2012
Great school! Strong academics, great staff, friendly principal! You can't go wrong with this school! You child will get a wonderfully fun education! Great test scores too.

- submitted by a parent
January 24, 2012
Victor Hodge is the #1 elementary school in Azusa! With an API of 834, Hodge school continues to make great academic strides year after year. Under the direction of Principal Christiane Garcia-Ayoub, Hodge has taken a turn for success. But she is not alone. Our students are blessed with extremely dedicated teachers who believe in them and help them take their education seriously. In addition to academic excellence, Hodge is a fun school. Yes, we have fun! Our PTA organizes many special events throughout the year that gives students and their parents opportunities to hang together and get to know each other in a relaxed environment. Last but not least, our school has made history with their cheerleading squad. The Hodge Cheerleaders have represented our school in many community-based events such as Azusa Golden Days Parade, Monrovia Christmas parade, our school family nights, our school funraising eat-out nights and most recently at MLK Jr. celebration at city hall where they received an award for their participation. Did I mention we're the #1 school in Azusa?!

- submitted by a parent
January 14, 2012
I absolutely loved this school!! Many programs to be involved in and they really emphasize getting a higher CST score every year which is very cool!! They have great sports program and after school program!! The principle is very hands on and veryyy friendly !! Love ya mrs.garcia, -2010 prez clarissa

- submitted by a community member
September 08, 2011
im 18 years old and i can proudly say im an ex cougar student. i was the first preschool class with mrs miranda:) and went their my whole elementary years. i have three sisters who have also attended hodge and 1 is still attending. overall i can say its the best school around

- submitted by a community member
March 20, 2011
I LOVE this school, I have lived in the area the majority of my life my children grew up in the city, my eldest child had a hard time with reading and math but the teachers at Hodge all came together and helped her and now she is advancing in both subjects their after school program is awesome the teachers at this school are amazing I couldn't thank them enough for the time they invested in my child, I couldn't be more grateful!!

- submitted by a parent
December 19, 2010
Victor Hodge was my favorite out of all the schools i attended it help me academically and socially. I went there for 1st and 2nd grade and I am now attending West Covina High as a freshman.

- submitted by a community member
March 10, 2010
Eventhough this school is higher than other schools in this district, it still has a way to go. Differentiated instruction is not well done, as most teachers seem to teach to the 'average student' level. That is understandable. More advanced students will likely get bored by the regular curriculum. Updates on my child's progress has not been very frequent. It would be nice to get a progress report once a month at least on how my kid is doing in all the standards. The new principal does not seem to demand a lot from teachers as I see a few teacher running late often. The school does seem safe, but teachers need to be on duty supervising as opposed to just chatting and mingling.

- submitted by a parent
October 10, 2006
I really enjoy all the support the teachers and staff give our children as well as the parents. They make our children's academics apriority the principal has made vitor hodge a school wich now meets all state criteria my child went from below basic to now being proficient she has achieved this in only two years and now is also in honor roll they also have a great preeschool program this teacher was nomminated teacher of the year we also have great parents here we have more pta members than our whole district combined.Go cougars.

- submitted by a parent
April 16, 2006
Wonderful schoool with a hands-on principal. Parents are involved with children's activities and the children benefit from it. Overall, the teachers are dedicated to helping out the children. Abundance of teacher's aid from local Christian university which is a plus.

- submitted by a parent
November 16, 2005
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
August 09, 2005
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
June 18, 2005
I have 2 children who have attended this school and they only had 1 difficult teacher. All the other teachers have been fantastic. The sad thing is that the kids that speak only spanish bring the test scores down and it reflects poorly on the school.

- submitted by a parent
August 19, 2004
This school is very strong in providing opportunities to lower income and ESL students and is very family-oriented. The staff provides a sense of 'Our rules are strictly enforced; we are one big family and we care about the education and development of the students' attitude.

- submitted by a parent
Need help choosing a school? We can help »

Media Gallery

Media missing

Uh oh! No photos. This frame will look much better when you upload photos »

Ratings help families find and compare schools. Families should also use other factors when choosing a school.

815

Facebook


Nearby homes for sale

     

Last modified: October 28, 2014

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Victor F. Hodge Elementary School
700 West 11th Street, Azusa, CA  91702
(626) 815-4800
Last modified Victor F. Hodge Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Victor F. Hodge Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top