Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Victor F. Hodge Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 15 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Azusa

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $240,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,490.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 22, 2013

This school is nothing short of amazing. The teachers genuinely care about their students and work very hard to see them succeed. They have high expectations for student behavior and for academic progress. If a student is struggling, teachers will work to help them improve. For advanced students, the teachers also try to keep them ahead instead of just sitting back and letting them waste a year. The principal Mrs. Velasquez is very friendly and very approachable. One thing I would like to see is for the school to have the same principle for a while. Too many changes recently and the school could use a vice principal since there are so many students to attend to. But overall, I highly recommend the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

Hodge is the best elementary school in the Azusa district. My son was student body president last year(2012-2013). I'm so proud of him! Now I have a kindergartner headed for success too. Go cougars!!!!! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2013

My daugter is part of the dual Spanish emersion program at this school and it really is amazing. The dual emersion program gives these students such an excellent opportunity to be bilingual at such a young age. The teachers are excellent and give their students valuable and challenging school work. I just love how involved the principle is and everyday I feel like she is among the students as a guide and role model. Im so happy we got to be part of this great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2013

One has only the read the plethora of comments here by former students to see just how bad this school is. Look at all of their grammatical errors. I am a lifelong resident of Azusa. I have watched as the schools went down the drain from the 1980s on.


Posted December 10, 2012

my first grader is bored in class has a 3 grade reading lvl teacher does not care gave me more stuff for him to do at home gave him avg report but told me he is above avg and has him help other kids in class went to Principal when i could finallly find her a she gave me place on the internet for at home they dont care teacher cares more about art then math and history
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2012

Victor Hodge is one of the best of best schools in the district.With an API score of 834 the teachers here care and help you prepare for grades above and the most famous test,CST.This school is a champion with several track champhion ships.Making it good in sports and in academic. I know personally. Because, I've been their five years and moving to 6 th. Having some of the best memories there.You meet the best teachers there:Mr.Murphy-4th grade teacher and Mr.Miranda. -my 5 th grade teacher.They are very good people. Also great role models.


Posted February 6, 2012

Great school! Strong academics, great staff, friendly principal! You can't go wrong with this school! You child will get a wonderfully fun education! Great test scores too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2012

Victor Hodge is the #1 elementary school in Azusa! With an API of 834, Hodge school continues to make great academic strides year after year. Under the direction of Principal Christiane Garcia-Ayoub, Hodge has taken a turn for success. But she is not alone. Our students are blessed with extremely dedicated teachers who believe in them and help them take their education seriously. In addition to academic excellence, Hodge is a fun school. Yes, we have fun! Our PTA organizes many special events throughout the year that gives students and their parents opportunities to hang together and get to know each other in a relaxed environment. Last but not least, our school has made history with their cheerleading squad. The Hodge Cheerleaders have represented our school in many community-based events such as Azusa Golden Days Parade, Monrovia Christmas parade, our school family nights, our school funraising eat-out nights and most recently at MLK Jr. celebration at city hall where they received an award for their participation. Did I mention we're the #1 school in Azusa?!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2012

I absolutely loved this school!! Many programs to be involved in and they really emphasize getting a higher CST score every year which is very cool!! They have great sports program and after school program!! The principle is very hands on and veryyy friendly !! Love ya mrs.garcia, -2010 prez clarissa


Posted September 8, 2011

im 18 years old and i can proudly say im an ex cougar student. i was the first preschool class with mrs miranda:) and went their my whole elementary years. i have three sisters who have also attended hodge and 1 is still attending. overall i can say its the best school around


Posted March 20, 2011

I LOVE this school, I have lived in the area the majority of my life my children grew up in the city, my eldest child had a hard time with reading and math but the teachers at Hodge all came together and helped her and now she is advancing in both subjects their after school program is awesome the teachers at this school are amazing I couldn't thank them enough for the time they invested in my child, I couldn't be more grateful!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2010

Victor Hodge was my favorite out of all the schools i attended it help me academically and socially. I went there for 1st and 2nd grade and I am now attending West Covina High as a freshman.


Posted March 10, 2010

Eventhough this school is higher than other schools in this district, it still has a way to go. Differentiated instruction is not well done, as most teachers seem to teach to the 'average student' level. That is understandable. More advanced students will likely get bored by the regular curriculum. Updates on my child's progress has not been very frequent. It would be nice to get a progress report once a month at least on how my kid is doing in all the standards. The new principal does not seem to demand a lot from teachers as I see a few teacher running late often. The school does seem safe, but teachers need to be on duty supervising as opposed to just chatting and mingling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2006

I really enjoy all the support the teachers and staff give our children as well as the parents. They make our children's academics apriority the principal has made vitor hodge a school wich now meets all state criteria my child went from below basic to now being proficient she has achieved this in only two years and now is also in honor roll they also have a great preeschool program this teacher was nomminated teacher of the year we also have great parents here we have more pta members than our whole district combined.Go cougars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2006

Wonderful schoool with a hands-on principal. Parents are involved with children's activities and the children benefit from it. Overall, the teachers are dedicated to helping out the children. Abundance of teacher's aid from local Christian university which is a plus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2005

I have 2 children who have attended this school and they only had 1 difficult teacher. All the other teachers have been fantastic. The sad thing is that the kids that speak only spanish bring the test scores down and it reflects poorly on the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2004

This school is very strong in providing opportunities to lower income and ESL students and is very family-oriented. The staff provides a sense of 'Our rules are strictly enforced; we are one big family and we care about the education and development of the students' attitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

815

Change from
2012 to 2013

-39

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

815

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-39

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students45%
Females53%
Males36%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged40%
Non-economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disability21%
Students with no reported disability49%
English learner36%
Fluent-English proficient and English only48%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate21%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students46%
Females49%
Males44%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disability32%
Students with no reported disability50%
English learner46%
Fluent-English proficient and English only47%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)44%
Parent education - college graduate63%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students48%
Females56%
Males41%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged40%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability50%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate33%
Parent education - high school graduate32%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate71%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students67%
Females71%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learner42%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate54%
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students67%
Females66%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate65%
Parent education - high school graduate70%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students70%
Females72%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner62%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate71%
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Females69%
Males58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students74%
Females75%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged72%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner47%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate68%
Parent education - high school graduate68%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students58%
Females60%
Males53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate39%
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 89%
White 5%
Black 3%
Two or more races 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Asian 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/AN/A
English language learners 30%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Victoria Velasquez
Fax number
  • (626) 815-5531

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

700 West 11th Street
Azusa, CA 91702
Website: Click here
Phone: (626) 815-4800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT