Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Slauson Intermediate School 1

Posted June 12, 2014
- a community member
Slauson Intermediate school allows students to be bullied. My nephew was bullied all year in 2013 through 2014. His parent went to the school to address the bullying and they just swept it under the rug. Some of the teaches talk bad to the children and call the students name. No student entering middle school for the first time, should not have to endure this type of trauma. Safety is not important in this school when the parent rights booklet says they do not tolerate bullying.

Slauson Intermediate School 1

Posted May 21, 2014
- a parent
Instead of finding ways to help students to meet grade level standards (i.e. tutoring programs, Saturday school, parent involvement programs, etc.), the 6th grade teachers lowered the standards and then give A's and B's out. How a 7th grade student reading at 3.0 grade level earns an A in reading is beyond me.


Slauson Intermediate School 3

Posted January 09, 2013
- a parent
this moment my kid is improve her Grades and good athletic dept. need more care full with kids fighting in the restrooms they post that on youtube

Slauson Intermediate School 5

Posted November 17, 2012
- a parent
I LOVE the Zap program. To the parent complaining about this claiming she is going to have a petition to end the program, how about you try this: GET YOUR CHILD TO DO HIS HOMEWORK!!!. Lazy parenting = Lazy kids. What is horrific is that you are not teaching your child responsibility and are teaching him that it is okay to be lazy. No ONE EVER in the real world uses red pen to submit work. EVER. And your petition is a joke. The state of California Education code permits teachers and schools to hold students after school up to one hour. So how about you get to work on checking your child's homework and stop babying him? BTW, my child was zapped ONCE and he NEVER got zapped again. He learned his lesson because on top of the zapping he was grounded for 6 weeks by me. Guess what though? He's got a 4.0 now. Thank you, Slauson for being strict, efficient and MAKING my child responsible.

Slauson Intermediate School 1

Posted October 11, 2012
- a parent
This school has a Zap program but I am unsure if it is the mean homeroom teacher my child has but she is out of control holding more than 60 kids the first couple of weeks until the principal told her to slow it down! Now since I complained about her wanting the children to be totally perfect which is impossible because we are human, she has targeted my child. I will be getting a petition out for the rest of the parents to sign on the cruelty of this program and having the teachers be given too much power. Research says that teaching through punishment is not effective and has bad effects in the long run. My child now hates school and there needs to be a limit to this zapping. One problem wrong or two and also because he used red pen!!! This is horrific!


Slauson Intermediate School 5

Posted January 14, 2012
- a community member
This school is absolutely great !!! I totally looove the teachers they really try to make u the best u can be !!! Its very cool if ur good at math because they take a test when going into sixth grade which could place u into a higher math class which is very challenging!! love it

Slauson Intermediate School 1

Posted March 18, 2010
- a parent
they refused to give my kid the proper help to get ahead

Slauson Intermediate School 4

Posted January 17, 2010
- a student
great school with friendly staff that want to see your kid succesful. It has the best jr high band in the city and also has a good sports program


Slauson Intermediate School 4

Posted June 13, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Slauson Intermediate School 5

Posted June 13, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Slauson Intermediate School
340 West Fifth Street, Azusa, CA  91702
(626) 815-5144
Last modified Slauson Intermediate School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Slauson Intermediate School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top