Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Frances Of Rome Elementary School

Private | K-8 | 188 students

Our school is best known for our high standards in student safety & curriculum.
 
 

 

Living in Azusa

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $240,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,490.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 23, 2013

Este es mi primer a o ,,, y estoy muy contenta mis ni os est n muy contentos a sido un gran canbio de escuela p blica a pribada .. Ahora mis hijos est n m s interesados en la escuela. Mi ni o de 11 a os no le gustaba hacer tareas y ahora solito sin que yo le diga la termina .. Y est n muy contentos on sus maestros .. El director y el padre son tan amables y me dieron todas las facilidades para poder ingresar a la escuela .. Estoy muy agradecida con ellos y sobre todo q me pude comunicar en mi idioma con ellos ..asta ahorita estoy m s q satisfecha . A sido un gran canbio para bien con mis hijos gracias ...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2013

St. Frances of Rome is a private school nestled in the foothills of Azusa. St. Frances focuses on faith, curriculum, and safety.


Posted September 8, 2013

St. Frances of Rome is having Back to School Night on Thursday, September 12. Come and witness all of the wonderful things that are happening in every classroom at SFR. We are off to a brilliant start.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 6, 2012

I attended this school between the years of 1990 to 1998 k through12. I enjoyed every year.


Posted May 6, 2012

This is the best catholic school by far I have found. I have found that the teachers as well as the principle are one of the nicest group of people I have met!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2012

My grandson is getting an excellent education at St. Frances of Rome School. The teachers are doing a great job.


Posted April 25, 2012

St. Frances of Rome delivers as it pertains to child safety, a strong anti-bullying stance, and forward-thinking leadership who continue to make improvements every year like: a state-of-the-art computer lab, and newly refurbished auditorium. School fundraiser fund-use is transparent and applied directly into programs that benefit the students, like their online AR reader program that allows parents to monitor the child's progress in reading and their grade link program that allows you to monitor your child's grades and attendance online from any computer. The principal has a Master's Degree and a strong teaching background, and although she runs a tight ship; she continues to makes positive progressive changes to the school like adding a junior k program this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

If you are a parent seeking safety, education and community look no further. St. Frances of Rome has all three and more. All the teachers are enthusiastic about their job and are extremely supportive of one another. It truly is a family environment and welcoming. The new principal has implemented new ideas and runs a tight ship. I am so happy that our daughter is attending SFR!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2011

I love my school and all of the staff.I am a student and very grateful my mother has me placed in this school. Thank you staff , and students .i have had a wonderful year,and for my next year coming. :')


Posted March 17, 2011

My daughter went to public school in Azusa but I moved her to St. Frances of Rome for middle school. She assimilated very well, they take a very strong anti-bullying stance and all of the teachers and parents are friendly and welcoming. She is excelling in all subjects. There is a lot of homework, which I think helps prepare the kids for high school. On the downside there is no band or music program, but she is able to sing in the choir which is nice. I would recommend this school to any parent looking to give their child the best opportunity at a quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2009

This school is clean, organized, and the curriculum taught is standards based. Many of the teachers are credentialed and have their Master's degree. The teachers are constantly working on professional development. This school is a fantastic school and I highly recommend it to others.


Posted January 18, 2009

St. Frances of Rome (SFR) school is a wonderful school. My child receives a great education through qualified and dedicated teachers. The new principal is constructive and, most importantly, very caring of the children and parents. It is a Catholic school, therefore, religion is, and should be, part of it's strong curriculum. I'm confident that my child will excel in various subjects and, at the same time, become a person with storng beliefs and principles by the time she graduates from SFR.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2008

Great School, I attended myself and now I send my children. The teachers are very qualified as well as the principal. A brand new computer lab was just opened, with the help of parents and the community, giving the children the opportunity to learn computer and typing skills. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

Great school with strong catholic principles. Excellent parent support. Strong curriculum, welcoming atmosphere and wonderful students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 12, 2008

The School has been through lots of changes and the new teachers are wonderful. They are certified with credentials. The new Principal is leading the school in a positive direction and the staff supports her 100%. The restrooms are cleaned and mopped daily and the lunch area is cleaned after lunch ends. I am proud that my child attends such a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

the teachers arent qualified enough and the schoo, is very filthy. because it is chathlic they teach religon and have 0 time for the teaching of science. the lunch tables and bathrooms are very filthy.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 99% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 11%
Black 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
White 0% 26%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • WASC Accreditation (2012)
  • WCEA Accreditation (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Brian Wagner
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (626) 815-2760

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated Reader
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Technology
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Recycling club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Saint Frances of Rome's School wide Learning Expectations are implemented to prepare students to be the following: Faithful Catholics Aware Citizens Innovative Students Thinking Persons A person who Honors Life St. Frances of Rome is where F.A.I.T.H. grows.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


7 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
205
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
315

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$3000 - $4000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Damien High School
St. Lucy's Priory High School
Bishop Amat High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

734 North Pasadena Avenue
Azusa, CA 91702
Website: Click here
Phone: (626) 334-2018

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT