Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-8
Public district
Bakersfield, CA
Students enrolled: 630
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Freedom Middle School 5

Posted February 11, 2015
- a parent
My kids and nephews have attended FMS. All I can say is that I applaud the school policy of No Tolerance for misbehavior. Kids go to school to learn and to acquire social and behavioral skills. The professor at this school are excellent and the principal makes sure to maintain a safe place and environment for the students.

Freedom Middle School 4

Posted October 14, 2014
- a parent
New to the area, so we were a little in the dark about the knowledge of district /schools. I am very pleased with this school. From qualified teachers, supportive staff, they really know their stuff. More importantly, the education seems solid (minus the common core junk:)). I feel that they push the kids, educationally, academically; they encourage responsibility, accountability and have high expectations. As a parent, I have no reservations sending my children here.


Freedom Middle School 1

Posted October 08, 2014
- a parent
When you interrupt a girls school day to force her to change clothes or send her home because her shorts are too short or her bra straps are visible, you are telling her that making sure boys have a "distraction free environment" is more important than her education. Freedom middle school has unrealistic dress code policies, and I feel something should be done about it

Freedom Middle School 4

Posted November 08, 2011
- a parent
My son and daughter go to a Freedom Middle School and thus feel really good, this school has had so many principals and I think Mr. Monaco is new to our school district and needs to get a feel for our children and for the our partents! We are a school district with very active parents and good kids, there are some trouble makers but that's every where! I like Mr. Monaco and his staff! The teachers are great and all things considered, they do an awesome job! I think as parents we need to be very involved in the lives of our youth and I think Mr. Monaco will bring great changes to our school! My kids are upset about a possible dress code next year, but unfortunatly some students choose to violate the dress code! Some parents do not monitor how their kids dress and show up dressed up inappropriatly! Excited about the rest of the year

Freedom Middle School 4

Posted October 15, 2010
- a parent
I understand your concern regarding the child being late BUT I must say they have to teach them responsibility and what better way than making them accountable. If they are late for a job later in life they end up losing the job if it continues. With Freedom showing these children it's not acceptable they grow up to be responsible. That is something us parents can be proud of. As for my children, and I have 5 with my freedom child being my youngest, I give them a curfew for even playing outside. If I tell my child to be in by 8 then I mean 8 and not 8:01. If they walk in the door 1 minute late they go nowhere the next weekend. My 3 adult daughters now thank me for being disciplined with them because they are all responsible adults now. So let thank Freedom for helping


Freedom Middle School 5

Posted April 06, 2010
- a parent
My son is a 7th grader at Freedom and has been in Rosedale Union since 3rd grade. Thus far his experience at Freedom has been pretty good. He has only had an issue with one teacher, but when I e-mailed the principal and councilor I received a quick response and the problem was resolved. The school is very strict which is a good thing. Too many children get away with too much these days and never grow up and learn how to be responsible for their actions. When I was in school they used physical punishment and had far less discipline issues than schools do today. When kids know they will be reprimanded for negative behavior they are less likely to misbehave. Keep it up Freedom.

Freedom Middle School 5

Posted September 17, 2008
- a parent
The teachers and staff work very hard for the students and the community. I am very glad that both of my children attended this school. FMS did a great job preparing them for high school. The teachers are tough but fair.

Freedom Middle School 3

Posted March 02, 2008
- a student
This school is a good school, but the teachers focus too much on getting the kids in trouble than focusing on the work. The kids get lunch detention for being late to school without an excuse even if they're 1 minute late, it's rediculous! The VP is awesome! And the student body is great.


Freedom Middle School 5

Posted January 15, 2008
- a student
The Teachers and students are great,and the student body is excellent!

Freedom Middle School 2

Posted August 22, 2007
- a parent
There is another principal this year. Perhaps the school will improve. It hasn't so far. The staff spends entirely too much time on insignificant infractions, wasting the time of the staff, parents and students. This time could be used more productively in the classroom. We will be glad to leave here. Our child's academic performance has greatly decreased

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Freedom Middle School
11445 Noriega Road, Bakersfield, CA  93312
(661) 588-6044
Last modified Freedom Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Freedom Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top