Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Bakersfield, CA
Students enrolled: 892
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Dr. Juliet Thorner Elementary School 1

Posted May 29, 2014
- a parent
Not a good school!! Cafeteria lady hurt my child & traumatized him, office staff thinks they're better than you but by far they aren't, after school program is useless, only very few teachers are caring and nice. What happened to this school??

Dr. Juliet Thorner Elementary School 5

Posted March 03, 2014
- a parent
I really like Thorner Elementary.They are really good with understanding what the students and parents need.They have alot of staff to educate and help prepare them for each following year that they are there.I highly recommed this school.


Dr. Juliet Thorner Elementary School 1

Posted October 29, 2013
- a parent
A bunch of liars and evil teachers and aides. Principle covers up for inadequate staff and then the children get abused I know several students that have been abused there by the same teacher. Horrible that this is allowed to happen. Parents should go to the school unannounced and see for them selves. Special ed classes are the worst they treat the kids like animals.
1 person found this helpful

Dr. Juliet Thorner Elementary School 1

Posted October 02, 2013
- a community member
Teacher for special education (autistic) and aides are the worst ever, abused kids verbally, mentally, and physically. Get your children out if they go there and attend the special education autistic class. Teacher and aides need to be fired.

Dr. Juliet Thorner Elementary School 5

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
Thorner School is an awesome and great school, the Principal,Vice-Principal, Teachers and Staff are very courteous,helpful and focus on the students academic success,well-being and safety. They make sure that parents are involved in the students educational progress and needs. I'm so happy and thankful that my son is attending this school. Also, it's one of the states distinguished school.


Dr. Juliet Thorner Elementary School 5

Posted December 31, 2010
- a community member
Thorner is such a great school. I used to be a student there, and those were honestly the best years of my life. The teachers there are outstanding. Every teacher i had had an impact on my life, and i know i'll never forget any of them. I also have to recognize there academic program. It was challenging, yet they made it fun. Also they have amazing activites for students. If your participating in the activites or even just watching them, its something enjoyable for children and their familes. All of the activies, teachers, and academics are truely inspiring; Thorner is the perfect school to send your young ones to watch them grow, prosper, and enjoy themselfs and others to the fullest.

Dr. Juliet Thorner Elementary School 4

Posted May 02, 2006
- a parent
Good school. Not all teachers are the best, but you will have that anywhere. This school has a lot of family involvement.

Dr. Juliet Thorner Elementary School 5

Posted April 09, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Dr. Juliet Thorner Elementary School 5

Posted March 21, 2006
- a parent
This is an outstanding school. My daughter is currently in the 5th grade, and every teacher she has had has been just wonderful. The academic programs are challenging and push each child to do their best. Children have the opportunity to get involved in a variety of extracurricular activities depending on their interests. There's the chess club, track team, choir and orchestra to name a few. The magnet program offers even more enrichment for the children in the way of performing arts. There really is something for everyone! In my experience, parent involvement has always been very high. In the classrooms that my daughter has been in, many of the parents have participated in their children's classes in many different ways. Be it assisting the teacher, or reading to the kids, or being room parents. I love Thorner, and would recommend it to any parent.

Dr. Juliet Thorner Elementary School 4

Posted August 03, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dr. Juliet Thorner Elementary School
5501 Thorner Street, Bakersfield, CA  93306
(661) 631-5490
Last modified Dr. Juliet Thorner Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dr. Juliet Thorner Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top