Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Bakersfield, CA
Students enrolled: 612

5 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


North Beardsley Elementary School 5

Posted May 17, 2013
- a community member
north beardsley elementary is where my children went to school and now my grandchildren go there i would not have it any other way

North Beardsley Elementary School 5

Posted June 15, 2012
- a community member
I started Beardsley school when I was in the second grade,,my teachers name was Miss Edwards? or Wilson? long time ago,,I graduated 8th grade there in 1953. I was friends with Elma Frost, Patricia Patterson, Sandy Gavin and Dorothy Niedel,,if anyone of you remember I would love to hear from you! My Name is Barbara Northington, I had a brother a couple years behind me named Richard. we would love to hear from any of you!!!


North Beardsley Elementary School 5

Posted September 29, 2011
- a parent
My daughter came from Wingland Elementary (k-3) and she started her fourth grade year here. I wish she would have started here earlier!Wingland did not allow my child to improve in her reading they kept her at a 1st & 2nd grade reading level for 2 years! The Librarian wouldn't allow her to check out books that were at a 3rd grade level at wingland. Ever since coming to North Beardsley they have allowed my daughter to excel in reading and now she is at a 4th grade reading level!IMAGINE THAT! they do not prohibit them from checking out books that are at their grade level like Wingland did. She just got her first progress report the other day and she has A's and B's and last school year at Wingland they were all D's and F's. I also love how the school allows the children to bring snacks and drinks from home to eat at recess. this was unheard of at Wingland you would of got a write up if you got caught doing that!The teachers are wonderful the staff is amazing and all of the kids there seem laid back and content! I am a room mom there and I get to see how things are ran in and out of the class and I am very pleased! they give the kids a chance to thrive and excel in & out of the class.

North Beardsley Elementary School 3

Posted November 09, 2010
- a parent
FIRST I WAS DISSAPOINTED TO HERE THAT THERE WON'T BE ANY FIELD TRIPS THIS YEAR DUE TO "LACK OF FUNDING", NOW I HERE THERE WON'T BE ANY AFTER SCHOOL GATE PROGRAM. REALLY??? OUTSIDE OF GETTING A TEACHER TO VOLUNTEER, HOW EXPENSIVE CAN IT BE FOR TOOTHPICKS, POPCICLE STICKS AND GLUE? I BET YOU COULD TAKE ONE OF THOSE TARGET GIFT CARDS YOU GIVE OUT, OR EVEN SELL THE TEACHER MICROPHONES ON E-BAY AND FUND SOME OF THESE PROGRAMS. I KNOW MY CHILD WOULD RATHER HAVE FIELD TRIPS AND GATE THAN SUMO SUITS, T-SHIRTS AND BOUNCE HOUSES. I FEEL THAT THE KIDS ARE MISSING OUT. NO WONDER THE TEST PERCENTAGE IS SO LOW.

North Beardsley Elementary School 3

Posted June 09, 2006
- a parent
I am transfering my children from Beardsley. I went to Beardsley when I was younger and always thought it was a great school. Then I had kids of my own and realized that Beardsley wasn't all it cracked up to be. They didn't teach a whole lot to my daughter. She had trouble with reading until third grade. They kept on passing her through grades without her being up to standard with her reading. So I guess you can say that I'm not too happy with this school.


North Beardsley Elementary School 5

Posted May 26, 2005
- a parent
The school is awesome with an awesome group of teachers! The teachers care about the students and wether they succeed or not. A+A+A+A+

North Beardsley Elementary School 5

Posted April 01, 2005
- a administrator
The program provides opportunities for all students to succeed.

North Beardsley Elementary School 5

Posted March 31, 2005
- a parent
My child has gone to North Beardsley for 3 years. We think this school is awesome with wonderful teachers that care about their students. The Principal is awesome as well. WONDERFUL SCHOOL!


North Beardsley Elementary School 4

Posted February 19, 2005
- a parent
this school has some good qualities and some not, the reading program there is really good but as for GATE program and GATE teacher are terrable.

North Beardsley Elementary School 5

Posted January 31, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Beardsley Elementary School
900 Sanford Drive, Bakersfield, CA  93308
(661) 392-0878
Last modified North Beardsley Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
North Beardsley Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top