Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Fruitvale Junior High School 5

Posted June 20, 2013
- a parent
I think the school is fantastic! My daughter came in as a 7th grader with a 504 plan and the staff was on top of it. If something needed to be adjusted it could be. The principal was eager to help and provided great insight and support. My daughter thrived and was very successful at FJH I have nothing but praise for this school and the staff.

Fruitvale Junior High School 3

Posted August 30, 2011
- a parent
The leadership and administration at this school is terrible! The staff are both unfriendly and uncooperative. The leadership is disorganized and, of all things, ditzy. If your student is even slightly out of the mainstream, there will be nothing but heartache for you here. Getting the school to conduct mandated student evaluations required that I threaten lawsuit. To top it all off, my child was bullied and the discussions with the counselor and vice principal regarding it were asinine. These people are politicians, not educators, and 3rd rate politicians at that. Thank goodness for the bulk of quality teachers who make this school their calling, and also for the other parents who have fought this school and gave me pointers.


Fruitvale Junior High School 0
no rating

Posted May 04, 2010
- a parent
Teachers work hard to get the student engaged. My daughter was new as an 8th grader but was able to quickly fit in with the kids and get recognized by the faculty for her academic skills.

Fruitvale Junior High School 5

Posted November 14, 2009
- a student
It IS a great school. The teachers here and the counselor tries hard in effort to keep your grades up and help in personal conflicts. It's my first year, but my brother (BCHS freshman) had enjoyed it hugely and got valedictorian. Fruitvale went to nationals many times also.

Fruitvale Junior High School 5

Posted August 20, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Fruitvale Junior High School 1

Posted October 01, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Fruitvale Junior High School 1

Posted June 14, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Fruitvale Junior High School 4

Posted April 29, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Fruitvale Junior High School 5

Posted March 27, 2008
- a student
Fruitvale has a high standard school. They have so many activitoes involve in and CJSF(California Jouniar Scholarship Federation) and it is oppertunity to go in the CJSF. They support students and have great teachers. The principal gives us the leadership to never give up. Safetys at the school is great. Whatever it takes for this school, it gets better and better.

Fruitvale Junior High School 5

Posted March 13, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fruitvale Junior High School
2114 Calloway Drive, Bakersfield, CA  93312
(661) 589-3933
Last modified Fruitvale Junior High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fruitvale Junior High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top