Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-8
Public district
Bakersfield, CA
Students enrolled: 759
 

3 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

10 reviews of this school


Fruitvale Junior High School 1

Posted January 05, 2015
- a community member
This school choose to oppress their students creativity instead of raising them up for their accomplishments. This school uses a system that teaches children to hide what displease authorities, they are forced to hid their personalities to avoid trouble, this school overlooks children passions and requests just to satisfy other children's parents and the school board. This school is NOT a healthy growing environment for our children and I fear the lives and future they are being molded into.

Fruitvale Junior High School 5

Posted June 20, 2013
- a parent
I think the school is fantastic! My daughter came in as a 7th grader with a 504 plan and the staff was on top of it. If something needed to be adjusted it could be. The principal was eager to help and provided great insight and support. My daughter thrived and was very successful at FJH I have nothing but praise for this school and the staff.


Fruitvale Junior High School 3

Posted August 30, 2011
- a parent
The leadership and administration at this school is terrible! The staff are both unfriendly and uncooperative. The leadership is disorganized and, of all things, ditzy. If your student is even slightly out of the mainstream, there will be nothing but heartache for you here. Getting the school to conduct mandated student evaluations required that I threaten lawsuit. To top it all off, my child was bullied and the discussions with the counselor and vice principal regarding it were asinine. These people are politicians, not educators, and 3rd rate politicians at that. Thank goodness for the bulk of quality teachers who make this school their calling, and also for the other parents who have fought this school and gave me pointers.

Fruitvale Junior High School
no rating

Posted May 04, 2010
- a parent
Teachers work hard to get the student engaged. My daughter was new as an 8th grader but was able to quickly fit in with the kids and get recognized by the faculty for her academic skills.

Fruitvale Junior High School 5

Posted November 14, 2009
- a student
It IS a great school. The teachers here and the counselor tries hard in effort to keep your grades up and help in personal conflicts. It's my first year, but my brother (BCHS freshman) had enjoyed it hugely and got valedictorian. Fruitvale went to nationals many times also.


Fruitvale Junior High School 5

Posted March 27, 2008
- a student
Fruitvale has a high standard school. They have so many activitoes involve in and CJSF(California Jouniar Scholarship Federation) and it is oppertunity to go in the CJSF. They support students and have great teachers. The principal gives us the leadership to never give up. Safetys at the school is great. Whatever it takes for this school, it gets better and better.

Fruitvale Junior High School
no rating

Posted September 15, 2007
- a student
This school is amazing! There is opportunity for everyone to excel, and the teachers and administration really facilitate the growth of the students. And to CarrieAnn, the parent who gave Fruitvale a low rating, Fruitvale offers a wide range of activities, and the faculty really encourages the students and definitely supports the students.

Fruitvale Junior High School 4

Posted October 01, 2005
- a parent
Fruitvale really tries to meet individual student needs. They have a great and growing band/music program, an active art program and many extra-curricular activities. Their after-school sports program includes a program for the non-athelete...those that just want to play a game. The principal is active, knows his students and sets high standards. Parents are becoming more involved, starting a PTA, helping fund a new computer lab, etc.. Overall a strong school with staff striving for a good learning environment


Fruitvale Junior High School 2

Posted July 13, 2005
- a parent
I was not impressed with this school the 2 years that our son was there. For us parents that tried to be involved, it was a constant battle. They are a great school 'IF' your child is a student that gets wonderful grades, participates in some sort of club, or if the parents do not confront anything that happens at this school.

Fruitvale Junior High School 5

Posted October 28, 2004
- a student
This is a wonderful school. The teachers and principal are so nice. I'm a very proud eighth grade student just trying to show my appreciation!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fruitvale Junior High School
2114 Calloway Drive, Bakersfield, CA  93312
(661) 589-3933
Last modified Fruitvale Junior High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fruitvale Junior High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top