Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Bakersfield, CA
Students enrolled: 720

3 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Donald E. Suburu School 1

Posted July 24, 2014
- a parent
If you are a looking for an academically challenging school for your child, this is definetly not it! If your child is at all ahead of their grade level do not count on this school to take any initiative. They treat every child the same, and the only children that do get recognition, are the children that are lacking. There is no communication between faculty and parents, unless the parent attempts to speak with the teacher. The school does not have assemblies, at all. No awards. No recognition, until maybe the end of the school year, and only then... its for the Kindergartners. The teachers do not communicate with the parents until there is a problem. This school is so bland and boring. And the PTC sucks. The school earns money, but it is hardly seen back into the school. Only 2 schools in this school district, and there is no money for any type of events for families. Other then the fundraising events... meaning you are paying $$$$ for everything. Even after all the donations and fundraising your have already done! -- From a very involved mom

Donald E. Suburu School 1

Posted August 07, 2013
- a parent
Donald E. Suburu is the worst Schooldon't send your kids here if you don't have to. People in office Are rude If I can give the school 0 stars I would


Donald E. Suburu School 3

Posted January 08, 2013
- a parent
I have two children at this school and I have mixed emotions. The academics are good but there are other things that are worrisome. There is a lack of communication between the office/principal and the parents. Parents literally find out about drug/alcohol, bully, and "body parts/function" topic assemblies through their kids mouths. And if your child doesn't talk to you then you wouldn't know. You are not given a choice on if your child will be part of that teaching or not. There is definite lack of communication about up coming events/awards assemblies/PTC activities, etc. It appears as if the principal is either overwhelmed or super controlling on how much information goes out. There were several break-ins at the school which were shown on the news and once the suspects were caught was when word went home. My teachers are great and are doing a good job given the lack of school supplies and aid help (which is the normal situation given the economy). Overall the parent participation is kinda lacking and needs a good beefing up. But the office staff and principal are not happy you are there. It's almost like there is lots of secrets kept from the parents.

Donald E. Suburu School 5

Posted June 23, 2012
- a parent
We moved to this neighborhood a year ago from another Bakersfield district, and Suburu is a vast improvement over where we came from. Both of my children excelled and were challenged. New leadership is moving the school forward in a positive direction. The teachers are very competent and understanding of the needs of individual students. I'm happy to have my kids enrolled here.

Donald E. Suburu School 1

Posted March 12, 2012
- a community member
There are some very caring teachers at this school; however, the school leadership is not competent. It seems like their motto is punish first, ask questions later. An embarassment to the school.


Donald E. Suburu School 2

Posted March 22, 2010
- a parent
I sent my 2 children to this school for a yr. and a half, and the teachers are very nice. However, The lunch is gross, my kids took cold lunch.The craziness to pick up and drop off your kids is insane!!! And when I switched them to another school within the city, they were behind. Not to mention my son went to that school so outgoing and friendly, the kids at that school changed him. They were so mean. I would never put my kids back in this school.

Donald E. Suburu School 5

Posted September 13, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Donald E. Suburu School 0
no rating

Posted July 09, 2008
- a parent
our daughter completed her kindergarten year there and had the best time ever. Everyday she was ready and prepared for school.


Donald E. Suburu School 2

Posted December 16, 2007
- a parent
The cafeteria food is insulting. Each entre is individually packed in its own microwavable container sealed in plastic. How would you like to eat microwaved french fries? Or microwaved peas? Does this really save on costs? What about the waste of all the food containers? I hope this school isn't teaching about conservation because they certainly don't practice it. Other schools in the area (such as Panama-Buena Vista) will serve the kids hot food prepared onsite.

Donald E. Suburu School 3

Posted May 16, 2007
- a parent
If you have a child who is a the top of the class, this is not the school for you. This school would rather not help the bright stars shine brighter, instead they will teach your kid at the level of the average children. They have a stick to curriculum ay all costs attitude. Although, the PTC is great and they do have a lot of fun activities for the kids.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Donald E. Suburu School
7315 Harris Road, Bakersfield, CA  93313
(661) 665-8190
Last modified Donald E. Suburu School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Donald E. Suburu School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top