Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

712 students|Lakeside Union
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Donald E. Suburu School 1

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
Terrible overall. Teacher forgot my daughter in the computer lab, no programs, and they lack enthusiasm. My daughter is ahead academically and they do not supplement her with anything she needs, even after meeting with the teacher and principle.

Donald E. Suburu School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
Mrs.Whitestone I just want to say thank you for being an amazing teacher you definetly pushed Dalton to be a better student and we thank you for that!!


Donald E. Suburu School 5

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
My son has been at Suburu since kindergarten and now he is a 5th grader the staff is amazing extremely helpful when help is needed the teachers are all Amazing they have all pushed my son all 5 years that he has attended maybe that's why he is a A straight student and exceeds to the highest level!! I strongly recommend this school to everyone who may be in our district or contemplating having their child attend!!!

Donald E. Suburu School 1

Posted July 24, 2014
- a parent
If you are a looking for an academically challenging school for your child, this is definetly not it! If your child is at all ahead of their grade level do not count on this school to take any initiative. They treat every child the same, and the only children that do get recognition, are the children that are lacking. There is no communication between faculty and parents, unless the parent attempts to speak with the teacher. The school does not have assemblies, at all. No awards. No recognition, until maybe the end of the school year, and only then... its for the Kindergartners. The teachers do not communicate with the parents until there is a problem. This school is so bland and boring. And the PTC sucks. The school earns money, but it is hardly seen back into the school. Only 2 schools in this school district, and there is no money for any type of events for families. Other then the fundraising events... meaning you are paying $$$$ for everything. Even after all the donations and fundraising your have already done! -- From a very involved mom

Donald E. Suburu School 1

Posted August 07, 2013
- a parent
Donald E. Suburu is the worst Schooldon't send your kids here if you don't have to. People in office Are rude If I can give the school 0 stars I would


Donald E. Suburu School 3

Posted January 08, 2013
- a parent
I have two children at this school and I have mixed emotions. The academics are good but there are other things that are worrisome. There is a lack of communication between the office/principal and the parents. Parents literally find out about drug/alcohol, bully, and "body parts/function" topic assemblies through their kids mouths. And if your child doesn't talk to you then you wouldn't know. You are not given a choice on if your child will be part of that teaching or not. There is definite lack of communication about up coming events/awards assemblies/PTC activities, etc. It appears as if the principal is either overwhelmed or super controlling on how much information goes out. There were several break-ins at the school which were shown on the news and once the suspects were caught was when word went home. My teachers are great and are doing a good job given the lack of school supplies and aid help (which is the normal situation given the economy). Overall the parent participation is kinda lacking and needs a good beefing up. But the office staff and principal are not happy you are there. It's almost like there is lots of secrets kept from the parents.

Donald E. Suburu School 5

Posted June 23, 2012
- a parent
We moved to this neighborhood a year ago from another Bakersfield district, and Suburu is a vast improvement over where we came from. Both of my children excelled and were challenged. New leadership is moving the school forward in a positive direction. The teachers are very competent and understanding of the needs of individual students. I'm happy to have my kids enrolled here.

Donald E. Suburu School 1

Posted March 12, 2012
- a community member
There are some very caring teachers at this school; however, the school leadership is not competent. It seems like their motto is punish first, ask questions later. An embarassment to the school.


Donald E. Suburu School 2

Posted March 22, 2010
- a parent
I sent my 2 children to this school for a yr. and a half, and the teachers are very nice. However, The lunch is gross, my kids took cold lunch.The craziness to pick up and drop off your kids is insane!!! And when I switched them to another school within the city, they were behind. Not to mention my son went to that school so outgoing and friendly, the kids at that school changed him. They were so mean. I would never put my kids back in this school.

Donald E. Suburu School
no rating

Posted July 09, 2008
- a parent
our daughter completed her kindergarten year there and had the best time ever. Everyday she was ready and prepared for school.

Nearby schools

Donald E. Suburu School
7315 Harris Road, Bakersfield, CA  93313-9326
(661) 665-8190
Last modified Donald E. Suburu School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top