Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-8
Public
Bakersfield, CA

3 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Norris Middle School 2

Posted July 28, 2014
- a community member
I am a student of Norris middle school and between the teachers and students there is more favoritism with some students them others. The teachers at Norris aren't exited about teaching and the kids are not interested so they don't get it. As a former student I would say they don't decrease the population of bulling they increase it and that's why I hate going there. There are better schools in oil dale where I live and the yard aid (staff) try to get you in trouble and I wouldn't recommend this school to anyone who like learning because they will ruin it for you. I know they did for me!!

Norris Middle School 2

Posted November 04, 2012
- a parent
This school is a joke. We recently moved to this area and my child is already falling behind academically, the standards are so low. The teachers are unmotivated and do not follow through with what they say. The office staff are far to busy controlling (borderline bullying) students instead of acting like adults. These people can't even clear an absence correctly! The principal(s) are no better. We are already looking for a new place to live because I have to get my child out of this school. Do your child a favor and avoid this substandard school.


Norris Middle School 1

Posted December 17, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Norris Middle School 1

Posted May 06, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Norris Middle School 3

Posted December 25, 2008
- a parent
NMS is high in academics because of supportive parents that keep on top of their children. The staff is excellent to mediocre. It is a great school, but the safety of your child is coming into question. The school is growing as is the community, and the small-town mentality of the administative staff is not keeping pace with reality - fast enough. The diverse group of students get by with a lot more than the staff cares to know. Parent


Norris Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 30, 2008
- a student
Norris is the greatest! It has the best teachers ever! The office workers are great! Homework club could be better, but its still good! On a scale 1 to 5, its a 5!

Norris Middle School 2

Posted September 29, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Norris Middle School 2

Posted September 29, 2008
- a parent
Parent, teacher and students should work together. I don't see that. The office staff is so controling and they act like middle schoolers, how can a parent be a parent. The curriculum is awsome. If you are a struggling student I don't see any x-tra help. Homework club is not consistant. At this age kids forget things or they had a bad morning with thier parents, why can't we bring it to them. Office staff could cooperate or atleast be nice so we wouldn't feel like the worst person ever. Calling to ask a question %80 of the time they are rude and the district office is bad too. 11,12,13 year old kids are going through alot of changes and need all of us to work together and Norris could really get some better manors. Teacher's 50% very good and the other 50% need a reality check.


Norris Middle School 1

Posted September 02, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Norris Middle School 1

Posted July 19, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Norris Middle School
6940 Calloway Drive, Bakersfield, CA  93312
(661) 387-7060
Last modified Norris Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Norris Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top