Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Roy W. Loudon Elementary School 2

Posted July 19, 2014
- a parent
Loudon was great my daughters first year going there (1st grade) but every grade there after I've had nothing but problems with her teachers. My daughter has a very strong personality and of course the teachers don't know how to handle this so they give her referrals or detention. They can't talk to their friends when they are in the cafeteria eating lunch. The drop off/pick up for the students is horrible. The only thing good about this school is it is literally a block away from where we live.

Roy W. Loudon Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2012
- a community member
i went there and so did my children and i think its a great school. i love all the teachers there! all of them are really nice!


Roy W. Loudon Elementary School 3

Posted February 01, 2012
- a parent
I attended Loudon, and both my children have gone there. My daughter currently is a 5th grader in an advanced class, my son is a straight A 8th grade G.A.T.E.. student. I have a job and a degree. You must make the most out of your situation, for a lot of us can't afford to live in Rosedale, or we may not want too. Take a look at your children, if education is important to you and they are supported, they will succeed no matter what school they attend or side of town they live on!

Roy W. Loudon Elementary School 1

Posted October 12, 2011
- a parent
This school is not in the best area. Alot of the kids are low but it isn't their fault because there is alot of unemployment in the area and parents without good educations. My daughter got a letter from the school that said she could leave Loudon and go to a better school in the district because Loudon test scores are so low and the kids aren't doing well. Maybe some kids are doing well but a lot off them aren't. The extra help my kids got was not that great and I didn't see any improvemnt. I want to send my daughter to another school as soon as I can work it out...but maybe next year God willing. If anyone asked me if they should send their kid to the school I'd say NO WAY. There are better schools around. Get a transfer to another school if you can. Ask then in the district office and see if they can be moved out.

Roy W. Loudon Elementary School 5

Posted December 10, 2010
- a parent
My child' s teacher Mrs.McBride is a very hard working nice teacher. I give this teacher and Loudon Leopards 5 stars and 2 thumbs up.


Roy W. Loudon Elementary School 2

Posted April 09, 2010
- a parent
My daughter goes to this school and ever since she started attending this school its been nothing but hassles since day one. Her teacher is one bad apple out of the whole bunch. I cannot wait to move her to a better school.

Roy W. Loudon Elementary School 5

Posted January 30, 2007
- a parent
I have to agree with the parent review that this is a great school but the K-5 teachers are great. Great music program!

Roy W. Loudon Elementary School 4

Posted September 28, 2005
- a parent
The academic programs are fairly good here. Although it seems the teachers have to stuff an awful lot into the kids, and sometimes kids can get lost in the shuffle. The music and physical education programs are lacking. Most teacher are open to parents in the classroom.


Roy W. Loudon Elementary School 4

Posted August 23, 2004
- a parent
Loudon School is an excellent example of a school that puts kids first. The teachers are up to date on the most effective teaching techniques and work hard to implement them. The students are challenged to work hard and to self evaluate their progress. There are many opportunities for extra help as in homework club, books and breakfast program in the morning, an opportunity to be involved in the battle of the books program, an afterschool computer tutoring program, and extra tutoring throughout the day in the Capable program. Parents are encouraged to be an integral part of the school environment by taking part in the Site council, parent club tutoring in the Capable program or helping in the classroom. Loudon is well maintained and also provides regular P.E. instruction for 4-6 graders and music and vocal instruction K-12.

Roy W. Loudon Elementary School 4

Posted June 08, 2004
- a parent
I have had three children attend Loudon Elementary. The quality of teaching from K-5 is high. The sixth grade teachers are a great disappointment. There is little feed back to parents and little guidance and motivation. I am a school volunteer and have always strived to have open communication. It seems as though these teachers are there physically but have left their joy of teaching at home. It is quite a shame for a campus that has such wonderful K-5 teachers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Roy W. Loudon Elementary School
4000 Loudon Street, Bakersfield, CA  93313-3573
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (661) 398-3210
Last modified Roy W. Loudon Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top