Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sing Lum Elementary School 2

Posted May 03, 2016
- a parent
Just moved from up north and had my oldest son overflowed to this school. I would have to agree with the previous comments about the front office. One of the secretaries in the front office was not the friendliest person and was even a little condescending towards me. I also feel like staff in general isn't very friendly or welcoming. My son's teacher is great though. However, too bad my first impression was the front office and my day to day experiences with other staff members aren't very good.

Sing Lum Elementary School 1

Posted August 22, 2014
- a teacher
I absolutely agree with previous reviews. This school is disorganized and teachers are rude to students. There is a culture of apathy, a lack of supervision, and a chaotic environment due to constant lack of communication among school teachers, administration, and school workers. Everyone I pose a question to, has another new and incorrect answer and no one seems to care how their lack of information, organization, and their attitudes affect the poor students who must attend this school. To be honest I would of gave this school a "0" & they're finally remodeling the campus, but instead of making sure the children have new bathrooms or cafeteria. .they instead focus on the offices etc Really? What about the children?


Sing Lum Elementary School 3

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
Front office is horrible! The two secretaries upfront shouldn't be working in a school environment. Both of their personalities are very rough and tough. Diana can come across as nice sometimes, but only once she is put in her place, but Kathy lacks social skills and compassion.They are not considerate of parent or children's needs from what I've personally witnessed. It's very heartbreaking to walk through the office and hear the tone in which they communicate with the children. I assume many parents are aware of this, but feel like nothing will be done about this problem. Maybe if more parents post their thoughts on this subject, changes can be made. My intention is not to have these women fired, but rather have them work on their social skills, it's important for them to realize that they have a profound effect on everyone they come in contact with, both parents and children. I want my children to enjoy every aspect of their school and feel comfortable in their environment at all times.

Sing Lum Elementary School 2

Posted November 15, 2013
- a parent
This school has a horrible rotation schedule for students starting as young as the second grade. This is not developmentally appropriate, and is not beneficial for students or teachers. The staff either lack training or are lacking knowledge in developmentally appropriate strategies for learning. Also, the paraprofessionals are less than professional, to say the least. The parent involvement is high, and the families in the area really do care for the students.

Sing Lum Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2011
- a community member
This school really benefited me into the 7th grade. The unique styles used by teachers, the principal, and the extra-curricular activities make this small school truly unforgettable!! I hope you had as good as an experience as I had.


Sing Lum Elementary School 3

Posted November 06, 2008
- a parent
My two children attend this school and they love it. The teachers do their best, but it appears my kids get unfairly punished sometimes. I'm strongly considering relocating.

Sing Lum Elementary School 3

Posted September 09, 2006
- a parent
I moved from the SF Bay area and had my house built near this school. My child was taught so much. I do not believe they service the whole child.

Sing Lum Elementary School 5

Posted February 04, 2004
- a parent
This has been a great school for our two children. Their teachers are caring, supportive and very enthusiastic. The academic program is high quality.


Sing Lum Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2003
- a parent
I currently have 2 children attending Sing Lum and 1 that previously attended and is now in Jr. High. Sing Lum Eleentary has provided and continues to provide its student with the best possibly environment condusive to learning. My children are very happy with the atmosphere and our experience with the staff and Mr. Boles, the Principal have been excellent. This school provides a very caring environment and Mr. Boles continues to prove his caring concern to the children and parents by ensuring that he knows all the students and makes it a point to know all the parents. To the Sing Lum Lions, parents, and school staff and adminitrators...you're the best!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sing Lum Elementary School
4600 Chaney Lane, Bakersfield, CA  93311-1848
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (661) 664-1611
Last modified Sing Lum Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top