Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Christa Mcauliffe Elementary School 5

Posted May 03, 2015
- a parent
This school is excellent. I transferred my son from Loudon. My son is on second grade was put in a combo class with third grade. At the beginning he was not happy, he missed his friends from Loudon. Combo class was very hard fro him. However; he learned to work hard and I am so impressed how much my son has learned in this school with Ms Robertson, he is now very happy, he loves Ms Robertson, his teacher, he requested to have the same teacher on third grade. I told him but you said before that there is so much work to do everyday in this school. Are you sure you want Ms Robertson to teach you again?, and he said yes. He told me that he learned to do hard homework everyday and he is fine with that. My son use his own laptop. I had helped in the class and I had seen how hard all the kids work in their class. I am very happy with Ms Robertson she is an excellent teacher, she is also very fun. She always take the kids on field trips. My son is very happy in this school, and he is learning a lot of things of third grade too. I am glad that I changed my son to Mcauliffe.

Christa Mcauliffe Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2013
- a community member
My grandson started his third year at Christa McAuliffe yesterday. Staff was welcoming and friendly. The principle was out and about being helpful and kids saying "Hello Mr. Pokett, as if they missed him. Really sounded like they did. Great to see how organized Staff was on the first day of school. Linda


Christa Mcauliffe Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
McAuliffe school is one of great school in Bakersfield. My son is 5 and 7years old and both loves the school and teacher.

Christa Mcauliffe Elementary School 4

Posted April 30, 2013
- a parent
This school has a lovely campus, a diverse student population, and a generally warm and open atmosphere. Parent involvement is welcomed and encouraged, especially in the lower grades. There are many excellent, motivated teachers and, as with most schools, a couple who are less so. As a parent, I wish there were more differentiation in instruction for kids at different academic levels, but from my kids' perspectives, the school has been great. They are really happy there. Students especially seems to enjoy the music, choir, and intramural sports that are offered in 4th-6th grades.

Christa Mcauliffe Elementary School 5

Posted October 10, 2012
- a community member
i dont go to this school but my bff is going to move to this school and im so sad


Christa Mcauliffe Elementary School 2

Posted March 30, 2012
- a parent
Well Mcauliffe elementary has yet to teach 1-3 graders science , social studies , . The teachers are simply there and do not care if a child is bullied.Infact they will tell the victim to go deal with the problem . It is very sad.

Christa Mcauliffe Elementary School 4

Posted March 05, 2012
- a parent
This is a great school in a great location. My son continues to learn something new every day and receives many rewards for good behavior. My only "gripe" would be about the after school daycare teachers. The morning teacher is often late and grumpy and the afternoon teacher tends to be biased towards the girls and not very understanding.

Christa Mcauliffe Elementary School 5

Posted December 03, 2008
- a parent
McAuliffe school just gets better and better over the year..I am a member of the School Site Council, Parent Club and a room parent for my child class. I just love all of the activities that the school offers to the children and parents.. My 10 year old currently attend there and in 4 years i plan on putting my other child in there as well.. thank you McAuliffe staff and families.


Christa Mcauliffe Elementary School 4

Posted February 02, 2007
- a parent
I have a first-grader in attendance. The on-site before/after school daycare, run by the District and not a parks department, is quite an asset because my dtr goes from school straight to the daycare building and I pick her up at 5:30. We are so pleased with the arrangements and curriculum, little brother will be starting kindergarten next year. We are not even considering a private school!

Christa Mcauliffe Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2006
- a parent
Absolutely awesome school! My daughter has attended for 4 years and I couldn't be happier. Academics wise, they are right up there as one of the top in Bakersfield. I am very involved as a parent, and every teacher welcomes parents to help out in whatever way they can....whether it is working directly with the kids or as simple as making copies. We would like to move, but this school is so amazing that we are willing to wait until our daughter graduates 6th grade. I highly recommend this school to anyone even considering it!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Christa Mcauliffe Elementary School
8900 Westwold Drive, Bakersfield, CA  93311-2153
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (661) 665-9471
Last modified Christa Mcauliffe Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top