Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Centennial Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted December 07, 2015
- a parent
This teachers behavior taught the other students to have no regard for sick people. That is not a lesson they needed to learn.

Centennial Elementary School 1

Posted December 07, 2015
- a parent
My child has a 504 accommodation for a serious medical condition. The teacher refused to follow and made her run although she was excused from exercise by her physician. This caused her to become faint and have chest pain and palpitations. My child asked for me and to go to the office. The teacher sent her alone. The teacher said (despite a letter from UCLA hematology and her pediatrician) that my daughter was "lying" about her condition. The principal also would not make the teacher follow the 504 plan.


Centennial Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted December 07, 2015
- a parent
If a child feels threatened, scared, unsupported and like she is being singled out they learn nothing.

Centennial Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 07, 2015
- a parent
Homework was not an issue in this case. The teacher had my child so frightened that she was very careful to not draw attention to herself by not doing her homework.

Centennial Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted December 07, 2015
- a parent
Although there are other wonderful teachers we met at this school there are also several who break the self esteem of children without regard.


Centennial Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted December 07, 2015
- a parent
The over all standard at the school is ruined by the principal allowing such reprehensible behavior by teachers.

Centennial Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted December 07, 2015
- a parent
Completely unacceptable to treat anyone the way my daughter was treated. Especially a child. Unfortunately it also has a weak principal who will not support students.

Centennial Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2015
- a parent
This is our first year and we have four children attending, grades K, 2, 4, and 6. Each of them love their teachers. The teachers are like their cheerleaders. My children feel supported and encouraged to do well in their work and in doing the right thing. As a bonus, the principal knows them by name and is always friendly with the students as he walks around campus. He is not one to sit and watch or stay locked away in his office (we've dealt with one of those kind at another elementary school, not fun). The teachers constantly communicate with their students' parents so that we know what is being covered and what is coming up. We are so grateful to be at such a caring school.


Centennial Elementary School 5

Posted January 29, 2012
- a parent
My son has attended Centennial Elementary from Kindergarten through 6th grade. He has had excellent teachers and an excellent front office staff. The current principal seems involved and concerned, though in honesty we have had/needed little contact with her. We moved from the Panorama area of Bakersfield to the NW specifically to find better schools for our son. We feel completely satisfied that we have achieved our goals.

Centennial Elementary School 5

Posted February 16, 2010
- a parent
Centennial Elementary is a wonderful school for our children. The staff cares about our children and the administration is excellent! We moved into this area just so our children could attend Centennial. Thank you Centennial!!

Nearby schools

Centennial Elementary School
15200 Westdale Drive, Bakersfield, CA  93314-9154
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (661) 588-6020
Last modified Centennial Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top