Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Del Rio Elementary School

Public | K-6

 
 

Living in Bakersfield

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $253,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 5, 2012

My daughter is new to this school she is in the 1st grade and I have to say I am VERY please with the communication between the teacher and myself. I was able to find her teachers email through there website on the 1st day of school. Unlike some of the recent reviews on here I found the website to be very up to date and informative. I check her bag pack daily and saw the flyer for the back to school meet and greet in there. It was also posted online along with the book fair info & other current events... I would definitely recommend this school small classroom sizes and great staff!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2012

Most teachers try to do the bare minimum. The ones that don't, however, tend to ignore parental input and do not communicate well. The campus has black widow nests that have been growing for well over five years. After fifteen years of children and experience at this school, I am glad to say that I will never have to deal with it again and some of the more arrogant teachers.


Posted September 1, 2011

My 2 children have only recently started attending this school and I am very displeased to say the least. Our daughter attended for a little over a month at the end of last year due to our move here from out of state. Our daughter started 4th grade this year and our son kindergarten. Our children say they like their teachers and they appear to be nice as does the principal, however the communication at this school is terrible. As a newer member of the community I have no idea what is going on. No notices or emails for open house or meet the teacher (which we missed due to not knowing). No monthly calendars to see what events or days off they might have. Their website has been down for days so no information there as well. The woman in the office seems to have forgotten what manners are. In the 2 weeks since school has started I have had to speak with the principal and the distract office more than once. I have not only been a member but a chair on the PTA at their old school, however this makes me want to not be involved and that's sad. Looking for houses out of this district already. If you are looking for a great school for your children keep looking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2010

Del Rio is a fantastic school with some of the finest teachers I have seen. Our kidlet is a 5th grader right now and a GATE student. As a professional, I have been quite impressed and pleased with the engagement and ingenuity of the teaching staff, along with, the principal (who is also a very fine man). I highly recommend this school.


Posted June 3, 2009

Del Rio School is a great school. I have two children whom attend, and both have excelled at this school. The teachers go above and beyond to make sure each child is learning. Way to go Del Rio!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2009

Del Rio is one of the best hidden secrets of the Bakersfield school system. Parents, teacher, and the administration make it a great atmosphere to learn!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 14, 2009

I am shocked at all the positive reviews of this school, especially the teaching staff. I am a teacher in another district and my own children attend Del Rio. I have found continually over the years that the teachers are unmotivated and do not want to think out of the box. I was excited for my children to attend Del Rio and expected a quality education. Well, boy was I wrong. Luckily my children are self motivated and already above grade level or I would be tremendously worried. Many teachers need to retire or change their attitude towards teaching. Students thrive from caring, creative, hard working teachers. The Del Rio staff in general is a copy machines best friend. They submit the same worksheets that they have been doing for the last twenty years and complete the same writing topics as well. Can you imagine completing 4th grade without California history??????
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2009

My children at Del Rio have very good teachers and I am very pleased with their warmhearted instruction. Regretfully, there are areas of improvement that should not be over sighted. My personal experience with other teaching staff is that they disguise their limitations, instead of looking forward to learn more and improve their skills; they also stall services as long as they can, in order to keep their own ways as long as possible. While dealing with the Principal, I have realized that he is more interested in his good image and relationship with the parents, than taking the responsibility of leading his staff to their better performance. When times call for his duty as a Principal, he relies in the Rosedale Union School District to avoid the responsibility, wasting the children precious instructional time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2009

I am a parent of two boys at Del Rio Elementary School. It is a GREAT school. Our principal is great. He is out playing with the kids on the playground and is continuously striving to make our school even better. All the teachers are great, but our current teachers have made our kids excel...Thanks Del Rio!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2009

My kid is in her 3rd year at Del Rio. So far, I have not had any problems with the actual school. I feel the staff has always been nice and I feel the principal seems to be really in touch with the children. My daughter always comments about how she had a nice conversation with him or some of the other teachers. The only thing I feel that can be improved is to maybe have the teachers try a little harder to push the children to reach for their goals. They seem to easily back off when it comes to pushing the kids harder. But overall, I am satisfied with the school. Plus, my daughter also goes to the after school program and I've NEVER had a problem with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

I love this school. The teachers are awesome! My kids have had 9 different teachers and they have all been great. They are warm, nuturing, and go out of their way to ensure that the kids have all the tools thay need to succeed. The pricipal will take the time to listen to parent concerns and he has a natural rapport with the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2008

The best Principal I have ever encountered. Staff also care about the children,.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2007

I love Del Rio, except for one thing. The lunches are quite expensive. All the parents that I talk to with children in other schools tell me they pay no more than $1.60 for lunches. On top of being expensive, they are not at all nutritious. So, I have to brown bag my children's lunches every single day. This is a bit inconvenient for the working parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2005

Great school with teachers who go the extra mile. Kindergarten teachers are excellent and the school still uses competitive learning strategies such as Mickey Math and Ready Reader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2005

Having moved tyo Del Rio very late in the year, we were happy with many things it offered. However, we did feel that not much was done to make our child feel welcome.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 11, 2005

My child has gone to Del Rio for almost 3 years now. Overall it is a good school. The leadership could be better. Hopefully my child will remember the positive things and not the negative things when he looks back on his years at Del Rio Elementry. I only hope his spirit isn't broken by then.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Overall, this school has wonderful teachers and staff, but we had one unfortunate year with a teacher that my child really struggled with (along with numerous other parents, past/present). But have several other pleasant years with 2 children finishing up there. The afterschool daycare program could definitely be improved.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

805

Change from
2012 to 2013

+8

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

805

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+8

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students47%
Females50%
Males43%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)48%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability51%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only48%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students72%
Females82%
Males57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students46%
Females46%
Males45%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)46%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Non-economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability44%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only47%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)48%
Parent education - college graduate59%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students74%
Females66%
Males86%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students56%
Females63%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Non-economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students58%
Females56%
Males61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability55%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students51%
Females65%
Males43%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino33%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Non-economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability55%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only53%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)43%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate69%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students74%
Females80%
Males71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino72%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate77%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students67%
Females80%
Males59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Non-economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate77%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students44%
Females52%
Males38%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino26%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)47%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Non-economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability44%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only45%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)39%
Parent education - college graduate54%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students47%
Females50%
Males45%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino26%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Non-economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability48%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only48%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)42%
Parent education - college graduate57%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 59%
Hispanic 28%
Black 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2%
Asian 1%
Two or more races 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/AN/A
English language learners 4%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 6%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

600 Hidalgo Drive
Bakersfield, CA 93314
Website: Click here
Phone: (661) 588-6050

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Legacy Christian School
Bakersfield, CA




J. C. Worthy Institute
Bakersfield, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT