Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wingland Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bakersfield

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $100,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 11, 2014

Great school, very friendly love the enviroment, so glad to have my childen at wingland. Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2014

The standard of education provided is very low. My daughter comes home upset everyday because she didn't understand the math lesson, and when she asks for help her teacher doesn't have time as she has a long list of other responsibilities besides teaching due to a low budget. At the beginning of this school year we attended an open house night. The AC was not functioning, the classrooms were close to 100' and infested with fire ants. We spoke to the principal and he told us it was not a big deal, the kids would be fine. We asked to send water with our children and were told that would not be necessary. Later that week the state of the classrooms made it on the local news. To my disgust the school went on to claim that the classrooms were only about 80' and said they had been providing the children with water all along. No mention was made of the fire ant infestation. The office staff are rude, unorganized, and lack proper training. Communication with the teachers is all but impossible. It has been terrible. If you have a choice, send your child to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2013

This school is great. Last year they started a new teaching program that places each grade into sections based on scores. The school can better explain it than me, but it has worked out great! I love the staff and the Principal. There is very little parent involvement, maybe do to the single parent homes/low income in the area? I've never had any issues with the school, but always remember, a problem will never be solved or corrected if it is not brought to the attention of the school. Communication is always the key and the staff and teachers love that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2011

We recently moved to Bakersfield and I have been sadly disappointed with this school so far. We are only a month and a half into the school year, but I can already tell this school does not measure up to the school my daughter attended last year at our previous town. My daughter was in all-day kindergarten where she learned to read and started beginning math. While she is progressing very well with math in 1st grade at Wingland, I am a little shocked and very disappointed to see that the kids are not expected nor were they prepared in kindergarten, to be reading by first grade. Thankfully, my daughter learned to read in her previous kindergarten class. However, I have another daughter who just started kindergarten at Wingland and they are nowhere close to teaching these kids how to read. THey are learning sight words, but there seems to be no emphasis on sounding words out and beginning grasping the concepts of beginning reading. I will be working on this with her at home, but wish they would focus more on actually reading rather than just memorizing words by SIGHT. Other comments: no many parents involved with the school; but the teachers have been outstanding so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2011

Great school, great staff, They really care about the students, test scores are high, several extra activities are provided for the students for extra enrichment. The PTA is awesome, helping all the students by providing field trips, assemblies, anti-bully programs, good citizens awards, and even art programs! There is a Mile-cat walking club encouraging fitness. This is the best school, you will be happy. The office staff to the principal..thumbs up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2010

Wingland is not grade A or B school, but maybe a D. If it wasn't for a change of teacher it would have been an F. My child's first school year, She didn't like her teacher and didn't want to go to school. She said every day she was mean. So I changed her teacher and then my daughter enjoyed going after that. The office staff does need to be replaced very badly
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

Very few good teachers at this school. The vice principal is a joke. She yells at the children instead of speaking. If you want a good school try Highland elementary instead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

This is my son's first year at Wingland and I was impressed before the school year started. The employees of Wingland are dedicated to the children far beyond any expectations that I had. My son's teacher for example (Ms. Perron) works with each student to bring out the best of their abilities even if it involves after school tutoring on her own time. That kind of dedication and love for their job helps our children learn to succeed in life and should be implemented in all schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2007

This school is the best. The teachers and principal are awesome. Everyone works together for the sake of the child. The teachers go far beyone what is required. The principal has an open-door policy and really listens to parental concerns.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 27, 2007

The teachers here are great for the most part,you will always have a few that just don't seem to care as much as the others.After school sports activities are awsome at wingland as well but what I think we need to focus on is improving our test scores.We need more tutoring programs,maybe some after school groups like the one Ms. Kayne was involved in last year.That helped my son to improve so much I was blown away by his improvements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2006

I have been involved with Wingland for 10 years now as a parent, and I love this school and staff! My kids could not attend a better school anywhere. I like it when I call or come to the office and the staff know me by name, and know who my students are. They are the best! Thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2006

I like Wingland School very much. My son loves it. He likes his teacher and she is great with the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2006

I love Wingland Elemetary. My kids have excellent teachers and are in excelerated classes that compare to the other districts. I also love the office staff. They are knowledgable as well as friendly. They have also implemented and excersise program that the kids adore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2006

This is not a great school. The office staff, teachers and principal are cruel and biased. I can't believe the adults we are allowing to teach our children. No wonder the state of the world is what it is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2005

This is a great school,alot of great staff and parent involvement. New principle ,he's great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2003

This is by far the most impressive staff I have ever seen at a school. Wingland has exceptional teachers that go above and beyond to help the students succeed. The after school sports program provided by NOR parks and recreation focuses on learning and teamwork, rather than being competive. The PTA is exceptional, sponsoring many student activities, including field trips, good citizen awards, and even an Accelerated Reader store where book points received are used to purchase great items! The parents are well informed and often involved with the school, including curriculum decisions. A+ School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I have asked the previous principal about the three entrances to the school grounds that are open all the time. My fiance walked onto the grounds one day to test the theory of how safe the kids are. He was not qeustioned by any of the adults on staff that day. He was wandering among the children, and still no adults said anything... and this was when he was new and therefore a stranger. I hope the new principal will adress this safety issue. As for the teachers, I can honestly say for the most part, it has been a wonderful experience to have these educators working with my children. Keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

My children have been with this school for three years now. We love it. It's a big advancement compared to other schools in this area. Great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2003

I was new to Bakersfield this year and was very weary about the schools in the area, since Oildale has a reputation. I am extremely happy to say that I am over joyed with Wingland Elementary, the staff, and the overall experience. My daughter had the most incredible teacher this year and I am sure that next year we will not be disappointed either. Wonderful, Wonderful school!!!!!!!!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

735

Change from
2012 to 2013

-4

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

735

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-4

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

2 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
31%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students33%
Females40%
Males26%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino32%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)33%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Non-economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disability9%
Students with no reported disability35%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only36%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate29%
Parent education - high school graduate21%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state17%

Math

All Students44%
Females43%
Males44%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino32%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)49%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Non-economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disability18%
Students with no reported disability46%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only46%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate41%
Parent education - high school graduate24%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)60%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students35%
Females33%
Males37%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino35%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)34%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Non-economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability37%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only36%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate6%
Parent education - high school graduate37%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)45%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state43%

Math

All Students53%
Females54%
Males53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)52%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability55%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate38%
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students43%
Females55%
Males29%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)44%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Non-economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability44%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only43%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)44%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state41%

Math

All Students58%
Females62%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students49%
Females40%
Males59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)47%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability49%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate56%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state49%

Math

All Students61%
Females56%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino76%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability62%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate56%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state61%

Science

All Students47%
Females40%
Males54%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)44%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability47%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only48%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate56%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 67%
Hispanic 27%
Two or more races 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2%
Asian 1%
Black 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 82%N/AN/A
English language learners 6%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 3%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15
School end time
  • 2:20 & 2:40
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Robert Sheldon
Fax number
  • (661) 392-2139

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

701 Douglas Street
Bakersfield, CA 93308
Website: Click here
Phone: (661) 392-2125

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT