Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Bakersfield, CA
Students enrolled: 2,481

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Frontier High School 5

Posted April 26, 2014
- a community member
I am a senior graduating from this school with the class of 2014 and all I can say is that if you cannot seem to appreciate what this school has to offer, you better start looking for $20,000 to pay for private school because for a public school in California dealing with the education cuts, this school does not give you a better high school experience that you could get anywhere else. The school has so many clubs and sports to offer, and there is ALWAYS a big event coming up to look forward to year round! The teachers love and care for all the students, if a teacher truly didn't care they wouldn't be teaching. Coming from a current student, I don't think you should hesitate in coming here. Every high school has it's pros and cons, there's no time to be picky.

Frontier High School 5

Posted February 19, 2013
- a student
The school is great and the comment on the bottom is hogwash. The school is great and i have been here for two years, and i continue to believe that Frontier has lived up to its standards. They may have even surpassed those standards. Even today we had a school event that showed fair animals, brought to us by the FFA. It has created new memories for the students here as well as myself.


Frontier High School 2

Posted January 11, 2013
- a parent
All 3 of my children have attended high school here. I thought that being in the local that it is, my children would be treated with respect and learn with positive reinforcement. Not so. Not only does this school have very few teachers that care about what and how the students learn, the whole staff of employess treat all students with dissrespect. They treat all the students as tho they are all drug users and the drug users get away with breaking all the rules. The dress code is never enforced therefore girls attend school in very proacative clothes. The year book will not allow enough pages for all the students to been seen clearly that work hard and achieve in extracurricular activities unless it is sports, yet they have full pages and lots of them to promote tattoos and other insignificant issues that quite frankly have nothing to do with achievement or add to the encouragement of success when they graduate. Very dissapointed in how this school is run. I feel that Frontier high school has missed a great opportunity to be a leader in education here in bakersfield.

Frontier High School 5

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
We have been very fortunate to have our sons attend Frontier. The teachers and coaches are very positive and inspiring. Their standards of discipline are higher than the other schools in the area, which is a good thing. Sports and band programs are excellent!

Frontier High School 4

Posted December 14, 2009
- a student
this school is pretty good.i am a freshman and i have enjoyed this school so far. the sports are great and the choir and band are outstanding. a flaw that i would fix in this school is the strictness. students should have more oppoutuity to enjoy their high school years and not looked upon by the security every day.


Frontier High School 5

Posted September 28, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Frontier High School 5

Posted August 23, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Frontier High School 5

Posted February 19, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Frontier High School 4

Posted January 18, 2009
- a parent
The teachers at the school for the most part are good, of course you have the few who don't keep you up to date on the progress of your child until you get the F on a grade card. The sports are excellent, a lot of parent involvement and support. The administration needs to loosen up some and let the kids be kids and enjoy their high school years though. For the most part the students have a lot of school spirit and ten to get along fairly decently. I would recommend this school.

Frontier High School 1

Posted September 28, 2008
- a student
academically this school is horrible! But the kids there are friendly and open to new people. There are no cliques or big groups.The teachers are not very challenging and they are very boring!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Frontier High School
6401 Allen Road, Bakersfield, CA  93314
(661) 829-1107
Last modified Frontier High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Frontier High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top