Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Francis

Private | K-8 | 482 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bakersfield

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $70,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 31, 2010

What an awesome school... It's a place that you feel safe leaving your kids everyday. You know that they really do care about them in every way. They truely do love their students. I have a child that is ADHD and they have went out of their way big time to work with us to help him get a handle on things. Everyone works together for the good of all the students from the administration to the custodians. I was not raised Catholic, My wife was. And we are most certainly on the low end as far as income goes compared to most of the other parents but we are treated as family at St. Francis Parish School. It's a great place to grow into life as a wonderful person with actual Morals and respect for all people. My kids are completly "Color Blind" how cool is that?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

l like this school my kid spent most of her schoolyears here,the thing i don't appreciate is that they give more value and recognition to those students who they entitled "St.Francis Court" but hey did not give recognition to those students who worked very hard and won the Academic Decathlon over all the Diocese of Fresno.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2009

My son has attended this school for 2 years now and he is the exact opposite of a 'cookie cutter' child. He was actually the 'bad' kid at his old school. I have seen such a change for the better in my child the teachers and principal have made him feel loved nad wanted. I as a single parent would make all the sacrifices I do all over again to see this change in my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2009

This school does not have room for children who have different learning styles. If your child does not fit into their cookie-cutter expectations, then he or she will not do well. We are deeply disappointed and no longer have our children enrolled there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

We have been a St. Francis Parish School family for twelve years. My oldest son and daughter now attend Garces Memorial High School and we feel they were well prepared at SF. I'm sure that some teachers are better than others, but our overall experience has absolutely been positive. Our youngest is 4th grade and we're committed to this school. I am pleased with the educational, religious, and moral lessons. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2009

I itend this school and personally think that not all situations are handeled correctly and professionaly. I have attended this school for almost 12 years now and do not recomend it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 14, 2008

I have been pleased with the educational standards at St. Francis. Both my children have been challenged in all subjects. I have seen that they put more effort in earning a good grade and as a result they have also mastered great study habits. St Francis not only has great academics but has an excellent way of teaching morals and ethics through their religious education as well. This is something that many children in society lack. St. Francis has helped my children to be disciplined, responsible, and productive citizens at a young age. I am confident of their education at St. Francis I would recommend this school to anyone that wants to see their children demonstrate their potential and more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2007

What an awesome experience! The students, staff and Pastor make this school #1 in our book! We are blessed to have found such a wonderful school. I would recommend this school to any parent seeking a sound Catholic (Christian) education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2007

Well as I am reading the reviews on file I wonder if the parents are talking about the same school my child use to attend. Weekly reports difficult to obtain and teacher encouragement far and few between. This school is good for overachieving parents who expect this of their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2005

The staff at St Francis are phenomenal.They truly believe in the education of the child as a whole.They are very understanding and really try to help people who would otherwise not be able to attend this private school.I would encourage anyone considering a private education to come and tour St Francis and talk to the staff and current families
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2005

This is a terrific school. The staff are all wonderful. The curriculum is challenging for the kids but not so that it is impossible. The goals set for the kids are great and the students feel a sense of accomplishment when the goals are set. As a parent I am well informed of the activities and curriculum of my kids. Parents are given weekly updates of activities taking place in the classroom as well as the lessons taking place during the week. Furthermore, the opportunity to go to the school to share in my kids eduction and activities is priceless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2004

I am very pleased with the school. They not only learn academics, but they learn morals and get a religous and ethical education as well. Something you don't learn in public school. I am vey happy my children are attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2004

St. Francis is a wonderful environment for children to learn and grow within a Catholic environment. The school offers not only the ussual subjects but art, music & PE are still standards as well. The kids have computers, library resources, sports activities, chess club...lots of great things. Things like science fair are mandatory and make sure that the kids are really using what they are learning. Parents are encouraged to be involved and it really creates a welcoming environment for everyone at the school. The after school care is very affordable as well. We have loved our experience and would recommend the school to anyone who wants a great education in a religious environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 26%
Hispanic 21% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 11%
Black 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sr. Cristina Caballero
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Fresno
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2516 Palm Street
Bakersfield, CA 93304
Phone: (661) 326-7955

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT