Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
482 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Francis 1

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
I would not recommend this school at all. There is so much political turmoil at the school and have at least 4 "leaders" leading the school. LOW teacher moral---teachers are depressed and just run down. The priest is no where to be seen on campus, lies, and treats the employees horribly, and does not know students and parents, except the ones who have money. What I have personally witnessed: parents in the droves have pulled their children out, and so have I. The school needs to have an overhaul: a major overhaul.

St. Francis
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
They are somewhat effective--only because the management at the school and church. The teachers love the students, but their moral is low, because of the verbal abuse, and the lack of compassion.


St. Francis
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
How can you develop honesty, integrity, and fairness at the school when the administration does not follow the same. The priest only knows the parents and students WITH MONEY. The teachers are treated badly--suffering from verbal abuse. The principal is a nun and is wonderful, but literally cannot do A THING because of the priest. :-(

St. Francis 5

Posted July 31, 2010
- a parent
What an awesome school... It's a place that you feel safe leaving your kids everyday. You know that they really do care about them in every way. They truely do love their students. I have a child that is ADHD and they have went out of their way big time to work with us to help him get a handle on things. Everyone works together for the good of all the students from the administration to the custodians. I was not raised Catholic, My wife was. And we are most certainly on the low end as far as income goes compared to most of the other parents but we are treated as family at St. Francis Parish School. It's a great place to grow into life as a wonderful person with actual Morals and respect for all people. My kids are completly "Color Blind" how cool is that?

St. Francis 3

Posted May 18, 2010
- a parent
l like this school my kid spent most of her schoolyears here,the thing i don't appreciate is that they give more value and recognition to those students who they entitled "St.Francis Court" but hey did not give recognition to those students who worked very hard and won the Academic Decathlon over all the Diocese of Fresno.


St. Francis
no rating

Posted November 30, 2009
- a parent
My son has attended this school for 2 years now and he is the exact opposite of a 'cookie cutter' child. He was actually the 'bad' kid at his old school. I have seen such a change for the better in my child the teachers and principal have made him feel loved nad wanted. I as a single parent would make all the sacrifices I do all over again to see this change in my child.

St. Francis 2

Posted November 13, 2009
- a parent
This school does not have room for children who have different learning styles. If your child does not fit into their cookie-cutter expectations, then he or she will not do well. We are deeply disappointed and no longer have our children enrolled there.

St. Francis 5

Posted May 21, 2009
- a parent
We have been a St. Francis Parish School family for twelve years. My oldest son and daughter now attend Garces Memorial High School and we feel they were well prepared at SF. I'm sure that some teachers are better than others, but our overall experience has absolutely been positive. Our youngest is 4th grade and we're committed to this school. I am pleased with the educational, religious, and moral lessons. I would highly recommend this school.


St. Francis 2

Posted February 14, 2009
- a student
I itend this school and personally think that not all situations are handeled correctly and professionaly. I have attended this school for almost 12 years now and do not recomend it.

St. Francis 5

Posted July 14, 2008
- a parent
I have been pleased with the educational standards at St. Francis. Both my children have been challenged in all subjects. I have seen that they put more effort in earning a good grade and as a result they have also mastered great study habits. St Francis not only has great academics but has an excellent way of teaching morals and ethics through their religious education as well. This is something that many children in society lack. St. Francis has helped my children to be disciplined, responsible, and productive citizens at a young age. I am confident of their education at St. Francis I would recommend this school to anyone that wants to see their children demonstrate their potential and more.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Francis
2516 Palm Street, Bakersfield, CA  93304
(661) 326-7955
Last modified St. Francis is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. Francis Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top