Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Bakersfield, CA
Students enrolled: 156

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Olive Knolls Christian 4

Posted November 21, 2014
- a parent
I absolutely love this preschool! The staff is amazing! My daughter is aways singing cute educational songs and bringing home the cutest art projects.

Olive Knolls Christian 1

Posted October 08, 2014
- a parent
After attending Olive Knolls preschool for 3 years and over $20,000 in tuition later, my son received very little education. His teachers were careless, and more concerned about lunch breaks and pay raises than the quality of education they were providing. In my son's last year at OKCS, he had three teachers during the day and none of them bothered to give parents feedback concerning preparation for kindergarten. I had various issues with security, sleeping teachers and a lack of supervision because teachers consistently had their noses in their cell phones. I would NOT recommend OKCS to anyone.


Olive Knolls Christian 1

Posted September 24, 2014
- a parent
NOPE NOPE NOPE! All the GOOD teachers keep getting fired, while the principal keeps hiring all her buddies (some with NO EXPERIENCE) to teach the kids. I have a friend who just got a job there, who has absolutely NO experience or schooling to deal with children. They will paint on the smiles and great attitudes to get you in the door, but once they have your money, they could care less about you. I had SO many issues and the director constantly blamed my child for every little thing. He got sent to the office (a FOUR year old) for throwing dirt on a FENCE. Not on a child, on a FENCE. I was NEVER so happy to get out of there and once we did, i had a whole new child on my hands. This place is rotten to the core and they will hire anyone who is in need of a "babysitting job".

Olive Knolls Christian 5

Posted May 17, 2013
- a parent
Our children have attended both the elementary and preschool classes. We have LOVED Olive Knolls! We have felt welcomed at all events and welcomed on campus at any time. We are both public school educators and we have been extremely impressed with the curriculum. I feel my children are not only learning the basics, but they are also receiving enrichment opportunities that are far greater than those offered in our neighborhood school. We also feel that the staff is like a family. I feel my children are safe and truly cared for while at school. Olive Knolls is a blessing!
1 person found this helpful

Olive Knolls Christian 3

Posted April 01, 2013
- a parent
I am basing this review on our experience with OLCS and our two children who attended preschool through grade 2. This poor school needs a serious leadership change. The adminstration is rude, unhelpful and condescending to parents. They immediately establish an adversarial relationship (AFTER you register). Given the high, HIGH cost of tuition, this was unaccceptable. The teachers seemed demoralized and a little over their heads. The ciriculum was a good one at those grade levels. However, we noticed marked favortism to children whose families attended the church. The parental "involvement" was based around a few cliques making us feel (as well as other families) like outsiders. After a few years, this was too much. We moved on.


Olive Knolls Christian 2

Posted March 27, 2013
- a parent
There's a few good teachers, but most of the staff are rude and the office never seems to know whats going on. It seemed like my kids were getting office trips for minor things, while I witnessed other children doing major things like kicking and slapping other students and they were just given a time out.....not very fair to me.

Olive Knolls Christian 1

Posted March 13, 2013
- a parent
The teachers are rude and there to collect a paycheck. My daughter was there for only 4 months before I switched schools. No one helps you in the office either.

Olive Knolls Christian 0
no rating

Posted May 15, 2010
- a teacher
OKCS is family. I have worked here for 13 years now and have had the opportunity to work with a wonderful group of people over the years. More importantly I have been able to be a part of so many wonderful students lives. Whne are students graduate they know they always have a place to come back to and that there is always someone waiting with a smile to welcome them and someone always has them in their prayers.


Olive Knolls Christian 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
OKCS is a great Christian school with awesome teachers and staff.

Olive Knolls Christian 5

Posted July 28, 2007
- a parent
My son has attended since pre-school, awesome school! The curriculum is very advanced. The teaching staff is great! A very caring environment.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Olive Knolls Christian
6201 Fruitvale Avenue, Bakersfield, CA  93308
(661) 393-3566
Last modified Olive Knolls Christian is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Olive Knolls Christian Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top