Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Elwin Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
For being a public school its got a small amount of students which is good because my daughter can have a more closer relationship with her teacher and in learning or getting the individule help she needs. They also have great teachers.

Elwin Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
very good school. Principle is great and will work hard for your kids. The teachers will also listen to you and do their best for you kids.


Elwin Elementary School 4

Posted September 21, 2013
- a parent
I like the schools direction and emphasis on preparing for college. These are good students who need direction. The more positive influence and guidance they receive, the more better decisions they will make. The school has given them resources and materials to learn. Despite the budget issues, the school does care about their students and want each and everyone to succeed in life.

Elwin Elementary School 2

Posted March 12, 2012
- a parent
The teachers are doing their best with what they are given, but the school programs have been cut back severely and the test scores are below that of others in our state. This school needs more after-school programs and an overhaul. The staff cares, but the budget just isn't cutting it. Also, look at the meaghan's law website for how many registered sex offenders live in the area. I think there was a gang-related shooting 1-2 years ago

Elwin Elementary School 1

Posted March 12, 2012
- a parent
No school website. I've seen other schools put up the $10 a month for a website, and the teachers can provide information online for the parents. Why not do this? Come on - school is in the DARK AGES. Zero bully policy in place. My daughter admitted that the bullying started as early as the 3rd grade.


Elwin Elementary School 4

Posted October 11, 2005
- a parent
My wife went, and now our kids go to this school. The plus of the school is that there are alot of young & newer teachers who have the energy to educate. Unlike alot of other schools with old teachers who are washed up and sick of teaching kids that they feel dont want to learn. Parent involvement is low, typical of hispanic neighborhoods, but at elwin there is a bit more than nearby DeAnza School. Still low by my eyes. The principal is new and very energetic and involved with the school. We are active parents and this has helped our kids academically along with good teachers. If we werent involved then it would make a difference, but not as bad as other elementaries in this type of community, such as Pomona, South El Monte, L.A.

Elwin Elementary School 4

Posted August 26, 2003
- a community member
As a retired teacher, who just retired in June after 41 years of service to the BPUSD, I must say that the teaching staff is as dedicated as any that I have worked with in all the years that I taught.

Nearby schools

Elwin Elementary School
13010 East Waco Street, Baldwin Park, CA  91706-3798
(626) 962-8015
Last modified Elwin Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top