Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Creative Planet School Of The Arts

Private | K-8 | 85 students

We are best known for accelerated academics and Arts.

 
 

Living in Baldwin Park

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $230,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,420.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

162 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 2, 2014

My daughters love this school, and I love how open the teachers are in contacting the parents when there is an issue. I strongly believe in open lines of communication between parents and teachers. I have been wanting to pull my kids to a school closer to our home, but when I read the other school's negative reviews, I change my mind. What is some self-sacrifice on my part for the sake of my children obtaining a better education. The school is worth it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2012

Every time I leave that place, I feel soooo good! I'm very happy and proud that my daughter goes to this school. This is like a big family. Everyone knows everyone. All kids interact well with each other, I mean older kids interacting with the younger kids. The students look happy, the teacher look happy. They really want to be there and they are 100% committed to the students. The principal empowers the students and does not hold them small. I am looking forward to another school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2011

Great school this school saved my daughter's life and put her on the path to greater things
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2010

freedom of expression and acceptance for all


Posted November 12, 2010

Passionate Performers. Unique Programs. Genuine People.


Posted November 12, 2010

a school like no other, a great academic program along with the arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2010

This school provides children with a strong liberal arts background--help this institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2010

I LOVE THE ATMOSPHERE AT THE SCHOOL EVERYBODY IS SO HAPPY AND ENJOYS BEING THERE. MY DAUGHTER IS LEARNING A LOT SINCE SHE STARTED GOING TO CREATIVE PLANET AND SHE LOVES IT THERE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2010

Great environment for the kids and promotes the ARTS in the community! Thank you!


Posted November 9, 2010

I love this school because it has helped nurture my daughter into a smart, talented, and well-rounded young lady. She is supported by an amazing staff and we are all like a family. I LOVE CREATIVE PLANET and so does my daughter, after 4 years.....and that is what means the most to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

I love this school simply because my daughter absolutely loves to go to school everyday! She is learning, growing and smiling! What more could I ask for :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

My children went there for summer camp and they loved it! They offer such a great program and the children have an opportunity to grow creatively.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

This school allows the inner talents in kids to flourish and establish confidence that will make them excel in their quest for higher education.


Posted November 8, 2010

This is a GREAT school. Each student gets individual attention from wonderful teachers who are dedicated to the students' success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2010

it is important to keep the arts active and part of everyday life.


Posted November 7, 2010

This school is a blessing for the children and the parents. Arts and academics......with budget cuts in our public systems, this is AMAZING. It has raised my nieces confidence. She is bright and this school has fostered her talents and gifts.


Posted November 6, 2010

Because the schoot help kids to be themselves and at the same time to be respectful towards other people and the world. Creative Planet offers an opportunity to to see how kids can excel in different academic and artistic areas. The teachers are awesome and they provide all the possible tools for the students to succeed and they put their extra time to help them and make sure they are fierce in life. students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

Great kids with extreme talent and a lot of heart.


Posted November 5, 2010

Extremely compassionate towards their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2010

Nice kids, great talent. 'Nuf said.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 84% 52%
Black 7% 6%
White 4% 26%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Swahili
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Monrovia Holiday Parade - 1st Place - Creative Planet School of the Arts (2009)
  • David Chow Humanitarian Award - awarded to Mr. Billy Rugh (2008)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
  • Swahili

Health & athletics

Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Michelle Benton
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
  • Swahili
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Los Angeles County High School for the Arts
Orange County High School for the Arts
International Polytechnic High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4428 Stewart Avenue
Baldwin Park, CA 91706
Website: Click here
Phone: (626) 856-1710

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Walnut Elementary School
Baldwin Park, CA



St. John The Baptist
Baldwin Park, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT