Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Calvary Christian School

Private | K-12 | 153 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Banning

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $112,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,000.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 7, 2014

Be careful graduates here are told in some cases their degree is bogus. Transfers to the Public school system end up re-taking classes because of a lack of proper accreditation. The teachers graduate from unaccredited schools. Be aware of the staff and do background check on the folks involved.


Posted April 22, 2013

The school was clean, but the academics were substandard. Teachers wasted class time and there was no college prep. Counselors did not advise on academic opportunities, scholarships, or college assistance. Okay for young children, but not suitable for college-bound graduates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2012

I would just like to say that this is a small school that houses around 200 students from the age of 4 thru the age of 18. This a small building and they have the best staff. I have never been to any school that the staff has demonstrated the love, and the will. This is a very small staff and for a private school you have to expect that their will be differences from public or even larger private schools. This school not only demonstrate strong leadership, respect, and authority, but the students learn these things. I have three girls who went to this school. The oldest already out of school. She attended for 3 years and never had a better attitude and grades. I still have 2 their, they are doing so well. The oldest made the honor roll and both of them have excelled in their studies this year. I can not wait to see what is in store for them next. The $5 fines that were talked about are to teach responsability and if you were working in the real world your boss would not out up with tardiness or any other issues. They are not accredited but are the best choice to send your children. You wont find a more dedicated and respectful school, I highly reccomend it. christine clark
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2012

This school is a joke. They have no student involvement my child basically taught himself. There's no parent conference they let 8 th graders and other grades watch kid movies instead of teaching the kids what they need to learn and the teachers aren't any good my son would ask for help on his math and the teacher would respond with " go figure it out yourself" and they charge the parents five dollars for everything if your child is late even a minute you are charged and if your child is late walking in class during the mid day you get charged five dollars. This school is a waste of money your child will not learn anything when it comes to education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2010

This school does not offer the CA standards for high school graduates. Students have to go to junior college to get some requirements prior to attending a four-year college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

The rooms are clean, but the academics and testing are not acceptable. There are not any regular electives and no ap classes are available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2009

Well I'm not a perfect child and Calvary Christian School did put up with me and did make time for me. I have attended this school for fourteen years (from K-4 to 12th grade). I did get in trouble, but I was in the wrong and I did realize that. I appreciate this school and recommend it to everyone, but I do believe that not every child can make it in this school. Calvary Christian School has taught me to respect those who are in authority, and taught me to work hard and do my best.____ Christian Estrada Marquez
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2009

I have had two children attend Calvary Christian School. Neither was perfect but both were loved, cared for, and well educated by the staff. My older son graduated last year after attending the school from K-4-12th grade. He is now attending college in Pensacola, Florida. He just completed his first year with A's and B's and is on the Dean's list. My younger son is finishing 8th grade this year and is looking forward to high school. For the last two years he has been on the football and basketball teams. He is actively involved in our local church (he is a leader in our bus ministry, the visitation ministry and the church choir). He is a fun-loving young man who is still respectful and obedient to those in authority. Calvary Christian School has taught him not only stellar academics but compassion for others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2009

I started going here in sixth grade and everyone here was so nice, inviting, and friendly. The school teaches me all the things I need to know about the Bible and very important subjects. I am so thankful I get to come to this school with the great teachers and staff that work here. - Blake Spencer, 9th I started out in this school in 5th grade and I made so many amazing life-time friends here. It really challenged me to get into the Word of God and learn more about Him. The teachers are amazing and treat you like a 'person' and speak to you and encourage you in everything. They all are supportive and they will sit down and listen and mentor you. I have enjoyed my time here and am so thankful for a school like this one. - Makenna Sones, 8th grade
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 3, 2009

Great school if you have a perfect child! If you have a child that is less than perfect though,.. you may have to pick up your child from school early because they have no time to deal with a less than perfect child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 26%
Hispanic 20% 52%
Black 5% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Rev. Richard Szydlowski
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • AACS
Fax number
  • (951) 849-9847

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1325 Mountain Avenue
Banning, CA 92220
Website: Click here
Phone: (951) 849-1877

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Banning Prek
Banning, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT