Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public charter
Bayside, CA
Students enrolled: 443

3 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jacoby Creek Charter School 3

Posted October 07, 2014
- a parent
There are many good teachers at this school and a few that are not the least bit motivating and appear to be tired of their jobs. This school could be so amazing with so many wonderful families and a lot of parental involvement. Unfortunately, what the school administration does is often different from what it promises. Many of the things that set the school apart are now gone, either due to administrative choices or budget constraints. Bullying is approached from the point of 'understanding how the bully feels'. If your child is a natural student, they will do well here. But if your child needs any extra support, unless you get one of a few teachers, they will suffer.

Jacoby Creek Charter School 3

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
JCS parents try very hard to impress outsiders by raving about how wonderful and talented and exceptional this school is, but don't believe the hype. I moved my 6th graders out of JCS and into a a different middle school this year because I was sick and tired of hearing all the pretentious and obnoxious parents and administrators brag about how brilliant each other were. Teachers, staff, and the principal motivates kids and parents through intimidation and fear. Indeed, bullying comes in all forms if you don't drink the cool-aid and "adapt". Your kids will not be valued here or nurtured - they will only be programed into high performing test takers or tossed to the side when they don't score well. Think carefully before sending your children to JCS!


Jacoby Creek Charter School 1

Posted June 19, 2014
- a parent
Jacoby Creek School is known to foster a bullying climate that is supported by the administration, teachers and board members. When serious issues are brought forward no one listens. And the teachers are not willing to come forward and speak out against their supervisor who bullies the staff. The teachers have it good. Small class sizes, decent salaries (for Humboldt County), and flexible schedules. It is all silently agreed upon. Teachers and staff allow themselves to be bullied, in exchange for not standing up to the leaders. One teacher told me, "we are used to it by now", and "she is my boss and my kids go here, so I don't want to speak out". Children of parents that speak out are retaliated against in class and on the playground. Children with disabilities or children who do not conform to the norm are bullied and treated poorly by other children. This behavior goes unchecked by administrators and staff. If you have lots of money or your family has social status, you will not notice these problems. Families with money are treated better and accommodated.

Jacoby Creek Charter School 5

Posted April 06, 2014
- a parent
Most Excellent!!!!!!!!!!!! The teachers. The staff. The principal. The academics. The physical education program. The afternoon activities

Jacoby Creek Charter School 1

Posted April 05, 2014
- a parent
I agree the school does well academically; however, is ineffective in terms of the principal's leadership and responsiveness to problems. A handful of teachers are wonderful, but many are rude and too strict. Some can't connect well with the students or are unable to manage their classrooms. Some of the classes are out of control and my students have suffered from bullying as a result. For several issues, I too had to contact the secretary, principal, and teachers numerous times before a serious bullying incident was addressed. Very disappointing . . . Also, my children are very well-mannered and good students. I know others share these concerns too. We will leave this fall.


Jacoby Creek Charter School 5

Posted April 01, 2014
- a parent
Jacoby Creek is of academic excellence. The teachers are available. The principal engaging. The complainers of this school are obviously the parents with the "not my child" attitude, as to where it is everybody Else's fault mentality - so prevalent in our society. Thank God there are only a small handful of parents that live on gossip and hearsay, the rest of us live in the real world of facts and reality. If the school is so bad to that one parent of 3/29 - then leave - your attitude is what is destroying your child, not the school - it all begins at home.

Jacoby Creek Charter School 1

Posted March 29, 2014
- a parent
Jacoby Creek is a mediocre school that does not encourage critical thinking. Liberal and tolerant views of drugs and alcohol are the norm in this neck of the woods. Many children are rude, foul mouthed and do not have the family structure to deal with these issues. My daughter feels unmotivated, unchallenged and yearns to leave the school. In her 7 years here she had one teacher whom she reveres and encouraged her to enjoy learning. This school has potential but the consensus is the new principal just does not care about the students. We regret sending our daughter here due to the lack of caring educators and staff.

Jacoby Creek Charter School 1

Posted September 01, 2013
- a parent
Jacoby Creek School is excellent for it's academics, but completely stifling for any child that does not fit into the designer clicks, of which the school does nothing to correct. As the years gone by the viciousness has increased. I have learned from Jacoby Creek that academics isn't the only thing in life a young girl needs.


Jacoby Creek Charter School 1

Posted February 21, 2013
- a parent
I can only go by the lack of response I have received to my inquiries about the school, its district boundaries, and details regarding admissions. I sent multiple emails to both the principal and her assistant and never received any response. Pretty hard to consider it for my kids with that lack of professionalism and communication.

Jacoby Creek Charter School 0
no rating

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
Jacoby Creek School provides a challenging and supportive environment for my child. The teachers are accessible and informative. There is excellent communication about school activities and events from the teachers and the principal. The school has interesting after school enrichment programs for a small fee. Also, there are after school athletics to keep children fit.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jacoby Creek Charter School
1617 Old Arcata Road, Bayside, CA  95524
(707) 822-4896
Last modified Jacoby Creek Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jacoby Creek Charter School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top