Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Washington Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted November 11, 2015
- a community member
No compassion, no caring, no empathy is shown by administration. It is evident she is not in it for the kids.

Washington Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted November 10, 2015
- a community member
There has been too many changes in staff. It is difficult to offer stability and structure to kids if they are always changing teachers.


Washington Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted November 10, 2015
- a community member
Respect starts from the top. Administration does not practice respect for students, or parents. She has a lot to learn in reference to respect.

Washington Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 10, 2015
- a community member
Too many teacher's and staff members have "left" or transferred. Too many great teachers are now gone. Integrity is not something that is practiced at this school.

Washington Elementary School 1

Posted November 10, 2015
- a community member
This school's bad reputation only continues to grow. The principal's unavailability is ridiculous and alarming. Many parents and caretakers have expressed their concerns to district only to have their concerns disregarded and ignored. A great principal should be able to retain faculty and staff and clearly that is not the case for this school. Loosing great teachers and employees of many years during the time since changes of administration. We are able to sense a lack of contentment when visiting the school when picking up my nephew. One day I attended a school event which are limited anyhow and realized that the principal would say "in regards to" with every other word and that is alarming to us.


Washington Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 05, 2015
- a community member
The child that currently goes there said he can do whatever wants during school hours and claims he won't get in trouble.

Washington Elementary School 1

Posted November 05, 2015
- a community member
This school has a very poor reputation in the community. My neighbors child goes there and she has mentioned to me numerous times about the school's problem with incompetent administration hindering the children's education. Parents complain to the city's school district but their complaints go unheard. Education should be this school's main priority.

Washington Elementary School 1

Posted November 03, 2012
- a parent
For the 2012-2013 BUSD made some changes with their principals. Washington for many years had an outstanding one. But the new one is not parent or family friendly.Its is difficult for parents to be on campus. They can not attend flag ceremony which takes place every Monday. And its by invite only if you wish to attend student of the month. We are talking about parents wanting to be part of their child's school.Parents have spoken to this principal but she has turned away from their concerns. A great school need to have parents involvement working with teachers and administrations. Washington has outstanding teachers and parents that would like to help in the classroom. And that is a big part that is missing at Washington. There is no longer any parents that wish to help out. This is a sad situation happening now. BUSD need to take a close look at how this school is being ran.If Washington wishes to raise its API score which is one of the lowest in the district it will require everyone working together.


Washington Elementary School 3

Posted May 09, 2012
- a community member
Re: May Thompson Elementary School, I also attended in the mid to late '50s. Finding information about the school is what led me here. Mr. Bellamy was the principal. There is a yahoo map that shows an address of 15143 Ryon Ave. as the location of the now defunct school. That looks about right, based on where I used to live on Maplewood, just off Bellflower Blvd. I remember walking the route. The info I found shows the school as having opened in1980 and closed in 1989. That is certainly not true, perhaps a typo on the opening date. But in the '70s I remember driving by the old location and not finding the school there. A web site I just found lists May Thompson as originating in the '40s. That seems to fit with how old it looked when I went there. The school grounds are now a housing tract. You can see how oddly it sits in the midst of older surrounding structures. I'm surprised there is not a site for some history of the school.

Washington Elementary School 3

Posted February 29, 2012
- a community member
I have a non-related question out of my curiosity. Does anyone here remember an elementary school in Bellflower called May Thompson School? I went there for a couple years back in the late 50's and was curious if it still existed or not? What street it was/is on, etc. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks Much!

Nearby schools

Washington Elementary School
9725 East Jefferson Street, Bellflower, CA  90706-3615
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (562) 804-6535
Last modified Washington Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top